SBM Offshore Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Company
Supervising Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 11, 2017
I worked for SBM as a Contractor. I enjoyed working there as I had many friends in the industry that worked there also.
The work was fast paced but enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Training & Competency Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 19, 2017
Atmosphere is laid back and you work a 9/80 schedule so you get off half a day every Friday.

The people are great to work with & they provide free lunches. Team building events are a regular occurrence.
Pros
9/80 work scy
Cons
No raises & minimal bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligent group, good culture, challenging/rewarding projects
Senior Cost Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 8, 2017
Flexible schedule allows you to set your work day. Building and leasing FPSOs has proved a successful model. Diverse group of employees with undertones of european work culture.
Pros
Great Benefits, flexible work schedule, relocation opportunities
Cons
limited career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 3, 2017
I worked with a group of awesome people. I learned a lot them especially as a team. Overall, my team was supportive. There was team building, and training class as well.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work, excellent people and good atmosphere
Construction/Commissioning Telecom Superintendent (Former Employee) –  China/BrazilOctober 10, 2016
Worked on 3 last generation FPSO projects, in Brazil and China.
Met many excellent professionals and very good working environment , job was very demanding and time schedules tight, still we followed all the safety procedure and manage to do all the training s to keep people safe.I had a team of more than 60 people and can proudly say that during the work we had 0 incidents.
SBMOffshore is great company to work with.
Pros
traveling
Cons
difficult to become permanent staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out sourcing
Senior Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2016
I Learned about FPSO's
some of the work was outsourced which made it hard to keep a positive attitude.
My co-workers were great.
Pros
challenging work, great atmosphere
Cons
outsourcing the work, kept the moral down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 28, 2016
Very Great Place to Work. With many amazing people capable of helping and pushing towards a common goal. Able to have many training's to help develop my career, throughout my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 24, 2016
An excellent company to work for, team oriented. Amazing benefits, great advancement opportunities, good balance of duties for it's various crews. good salaries and yearly bonus package
Pros
health oriented. Daily 15' walk encourage by management
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, with social conscience
Project Manager, Fleet Support (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2016
long hours
opportunity to learn
overall good and fair management
great co-workers

Some new toxic managers taking advantage of the downturn

though overall a very good comapny
Pros
reasonable and fair
Cons
Long hours, some new toxic managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Structural Engineer III (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 15, 2016
Provides oppurtunities for growth faster than usual companies. Good mentorship at all levels. Very friendly workplace. Good benefits and flexible timings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Challenging Oil /Gas for Offshore Floating Facilities Projects
Engineering Project Manager (EPM) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 1, 2016
At SBM I managed and designed very interesting and challenging EPCI projects for Oil /Gas Deep-water Offshore Floating Facilities Projects.
Pros
Well rewarded and respected. Free gym, subsidized lunches
Cons
No new projects currently because of very low prices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Lead naval architect (Current Employee) –  Montecarlo - FranceFebruary 16, 2016
The Company is good even though the times are difficult. Within operations never the less the amount of work is exceptional!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2016
SBM is a great place to work,but if you are looking for a more technical job to have job security look some where else. Not much training offered if you are a hands on person to advance in your skills.
Pros
Lunch card for the in house cafeteria
Cons
Sitting in the office when there isn't any work for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Welding Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2016
One of the best companies I have worked for in my 39 year career. The only reason I left was that I was retiring, (2014). I would work for SBM offshore again if the opportunity was ever available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unstable place to work at, company ongoing through critical situation projects wise
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 22, 2015
Very unstable place to work at, company ongoing through critical situation projects wise. Plenty of very interesting training provided to employees in general. Not a company to work as a contractor, but as full time employee in order to be fully considered for career advancement.
Pros
Training, opportunity for networking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Department Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Enclave parkwaySeptember 30, 2015
fun place to work with sometimes supportative management There is really nothing else to tell. I worked my butt off for the company and I got nothing in return.
Pros
the hours
Cons
the insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
Accounting assistant (Former Employee) –  Monaco Monte carloSeptember 15, 2015
We had good working condition. I learn a lot of new software's and how to manage between suppliers and customers.
We used to manage our time as we wanted. We just have to stay 9h each day and be there between 9am and 5pm.
The environment was excellent.
Pros
Every fridays, someone bring the breakfast for everybody
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Process Safety Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 5, 2015
Its very competitive environment and nice place to improve onself. Preparation to execute a job is key fundamental priniciple that can be taken one of the company's cultural aspect.
Pros
Expert Team
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Document Control Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 4, 2015
SBM has great benefits and takes good care of their employees. They offer number of family-oriented events and flexible work schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and well experienced co-workers
Senior Structural Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TxNovember 21, 2014
It is a great company, good daily environment for work, I felt comfortable working there and became one of my best professional experiences ever.

Unfortunately, in the last months, SBM was not awarded with any new projects. SBM started laying off people in waves. I hope sincerely that something good come soon for the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SBM Offshore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8

SBM Offshore Reviews by Location