Find companies:
SCAN Health Plan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

SCAN Health Plan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incentive programs and diverse environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJune 6, 2014
Pros: incentive programs
Cons: benefits
Great place to work and employee friendly. Employee who trains their employees and keep everyone informed by having straight talks. In addition SCAN Health Plan give employee opportunity to advance within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 31, 2014
Very Informative. Gave me my knowledge in Administrative field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Member Services representative (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 6, 2014
i love working in the call center setting meeting new people and helping the clients solve problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Worker
Eligibility Coordinator (Current Employee), Long BeachJanuary 6, 2014
Great work atmosphere. Have no complaints thus far. Typical work day consist of data entry work, filing, organizing, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company Truly Cares About its Members
Sr. Project Manager-Quality and Compliance (Current Employee), Long Beach, CANovember 16, 2013
I have worked at SCAN Health Plan for almost 3 years and have been proud of being part of such a caring, compassionate company. I interact with people from all parts of the company and everyone of them seems to truly want to do what's right and best for those seniors who have chosen SCAN to be their insurance company. The most difficult part is that – more... the company has been around for about 35 years, but the management is fairly immature. The culture is fluctuating which can be hard for employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scan provides HMO healthcare services to Medi-care beneficiaries
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Long Beach, CANovember 6, 2013
Pros: happy, patient clients.
Cons: only temporary positions
Scan was a great employer to work for, because they provided their employees with competitive compensation, a clean safe work environment, and well furnished facilities. The average day at Scan is fast paced and energetic. The co-worker's are friendly, as well as management. I really enjoyed working with the clients the most- they were always happy – more... when you could help them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that focuses on the mission
Pharmacy Relations Coordinator (Current Employee), Long Beach, CASeptember 3, 2013
Pros: benefits are excellent
Cons: no advancement within
Daily routine is repetitive, consist of generating CMS/PBM reports, daily quality checks of time sensitive cases (CTM,IRE,CD,DMR), follow ups to mbrs, providers and other internal departments on escalated issues and concerns. Learned to handle escalated issues and communicate/listen effectively to our customers concerns and issues. Overall, the work – more... environment is neutral and the co-workers are awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were great, management needs direction
Medical Management Analyst (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 28, 2013
Pros: flexibility in work environment, good benefits
Cons: major gap between employees and management
moved up quickly, but company executives did not know where they were going
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss working here, great benefits and great people
Lead File Clerk (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 30, 2013
Pros: great benefits and people
Cons: company layoff
I started here as a temp through Kelly Services and it was the best job I really enjoyed. I learned so much working with the different departments and employees within the company to help me to navigate and use my clerical skills. My supervisor has me and some other temporary employees working on a project that was to be completed in six months and – more... I was the lead file clerk. We got the job done in three months, before the state auditors came. It made me feel good and confident in my abilities as an office worker when my supervisor told us we did a great job in finishing the project. It was sad when I and the other employees were laid off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really, an excellent organization to work for.
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: providing a valuable service in an honorable manner
Cons: not too much opportunity for advancement
Busy, but not chaotic. The Project Management Office has enough standardization that we can support one another and take over each other's projects if necessary, but not so much that we are causing ourselves busy work just to follow our "ideal paradigm". The Project Managers are tactful, but truthful, and interested not only in the success of SCAN but – more... also in project management as a professional skill. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temps with no benefits
Analyst (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJanuary 7, 2013
SCAN hires a large number of temporary employees which allows the company to get away with not providing benefits to a large percent of its workforce...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Scan gave me a sense of purpose!
Account Executive (Former Employee), Long Beach, CASeptember 18, 2012
Pros: rewarding job. weekends & holidays off. good commission plan
Cons: a lot of driving up up to 75 miles a day.
I was an Account Executive for the Scan Health Plan. A social hmo for seniors. I would go out to seniors homes and explain our health plan and sign them up to a social hmo that would care for them in their homes in the event of an accident or illness. Putting them and their family at ease. My leads were generated thru Scan. I learned how important it – more... is to have this type of program in place for seniors. At times I would work closely with other reps. Where we would go out to the homes together. My job would become challenging when I would talk with some of the seniors family members. I would need to convince them we can care for their family member at home if necessary. And provide what they need. What I loved most about my job is following up with the seniors at home, and seeing how happy they were to be living at home and being cared for by us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCAN Healtplan
Long Term Care Case Management Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 15, 2012
Pros: great place to work
Cons: arizona long term care contract from ahcccs was not renewed causing a mass layoff!!
SCAN was a wonderful place to work! Great people, great benefits, great wages, great members and able to work from home. I was treated like an adult there (which I am) and not micro managed as I have been other places. It was my responsibility to perform my job and do it in a timely manner. I took a lot of pride in my work and was always on time with – more... the results. The environment was very supportive from management to coworkers, all willing to lend a hand and help out if needed.

I would have retired from SCAN if AHCCCS had renewed our contract...it was a great place to work!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with that appreciates its employees
Member Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Long Beach, CASeptember 14, 2012
I focus on premium billing; resolving member issues. Since being here, I attended weekly meetings to address the premium issues. I have learned how to address the and resolve issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovating Company with new counties being accumlated
Department Assistant/Office Clerk (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAAugust 22, 2012
Pros: workshops, weightloss support groups, scan univeristy
Cons: na
My assestment from being a previous employer was that the company offered great benefits for the elderly and disabled to remain independent. The days were consitued on the core values of team work meeting deadlines and customer sercive. I will admit not being bi-lingual was a tough part of the job but to the indivial they were always assisted and assured – more... that we could rectify their situation. The most enjoyable time I shared was that my work and duties being performed in accuracy and detailed percision which led me to a promtion – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and Reconciliation
Reconciliation Specialist (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAAugust 15, 2012
I discover discrepancies between membership records and Medicare system. I have learned to develop my analytical skills,as well as my ability to train co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my job is reconciling discrepancies so that members can receive benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Long Term Care Case Manager (Former Employee), Arizona/CaliforniaJuly 1, 2012
I loved my time with SCAN Health Plan, Very supportive and caring management, Unfortunately due to State funding and contracts, Positions are not secure. although I would again work for SCAN in a heartbeat and I would put any family member or friend in their care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Long Beach, CaliforniaMarch 23, 2012
SCAN is a great company to work for. They care about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company for professional growth
Member Services Representative (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 21, 2012
SCAN is very focused in providing excellent customer service to its members, thus, SCAN provides employees all the necessary tools and trainings for further development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Customer CAre Agent (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 6, 2012
Pros: talk to your boss o, the manager about anything.
Cons: i left that job.
nice people for a call center
Scan is concerned about the Seniors and How they are treated.
They make sure the customers are with the correct plan that works for their life.

About SCAN Health Plan

SCAN Health Plan helps seniors see long-term horizons. With a goal of allowing seniors to live independently in their own homes – Read more