Schiff Hardin LLP Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,professional and great management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2017
I worked there part-time my Senior year of High School, It was a great place to work in, this was a great job, The people there really made me feel comfortable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International law firm
Litigation Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 18, 2017
Schiff is a large, international firm that does a good job at operating a tight ship and helping all of its lawyers (including those in smaller satellite offices) feel invested in the firm as a whole.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Legal Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 19, 2016
Wonderful law firm. Have much gratitude for the years I worked there. Unfortunately, the U.S. 2008 recession put an end to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Seasonal Docket Clerk Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 9, 2015
• Managed significant docketing work supporting the asbestos litigation department.
• Delegated with the task of making two court runs a day to the Daley Center after organizing, filing, and coordinating service of pleadings, complaints, motions, and discovery.
• Assisted with basic legal statute and foreign docket research, and with online document retrieval using PACER.
• Identified a new process for document retrieval that saved the firm approx. $26,000 annually.
• Collaborated with staff and other interns to coordinate dockets, hearing dates, and execution of documents.
• Attended hearings and compiled written reports for the General Litigation Docket staff based on what I had observed.
• Performed clerical duties such as word processing tasks and data entry.
• Reviewed drafted memoranda’s involving various lawsuits and appeals, including real estate, tax, litigation and intellectual property.
Pros
Worked directly with the key executives.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady and growing, large law firm.
Senior Asbestos Docket Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 3, 2014
The common day consists of going through electronic and u.s. mail to docket to the asbestos litigation docket system.

I have learned to be flexible and expect the unexpected,

The management is easily accessible and hellpful in solving work problems.

My co-workers were very team oriented and not hesitant in giving support.

The amount of mail and the lack of time to input it,

The autonomy given to me to resolve problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 13, 2014
This is Big Law at it's best. I enjoyed the culture and the people. The partners were easy to talk to and always had their doors open.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my years at Schiff Hardin
Project Controls Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 19, 2014
Schiff Hardin is a great place to work. Management treats staff like family and for a 150 year old law firm, that's incredible. Great benefits. Smart people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to advance without clients
Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2013
Typical large law firm issues.
Advancement requires client base.
Typically not a place where people work longterm.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Billable Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice firm, nice people
Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 15, 2012
Make sure you choose your practice group wisely. Compared to other big firms in Chicago, this firm is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2012
wonderful law firm
great managing partner
they care about their people
Pros
good benefits, pay, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schiff Hardin LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.2
Culture
4.5

Schiff Hardin LLP Reviews by Location