Find companies:
Schlumberger
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
987 reviews

Schlumberger United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great career experince
Operations (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 3, 2015
Pros: Benifits
Cons: The politics
Great career experience, great benefits, depending on where you live and what segment you work for you can move up and around as long as you have aspiration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAMay 1, 2015
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours
Worked 7 12's with 2 days off a week. Enjoyed the people i worked with and had a good time learning the job, very safe work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work productive and enjoyable
Shop Hand (Former Employee), Alice, TXApril 30, 2015
Pros: Opportunity for growth
Cons: co-workers did not respect others and caused a harsh enviroment
I was a shop hand and a typical day consisted of basis shop hand duites. Ensuring all my duties were completed to the best of my ability. Management was helpful and leadership a plus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Solutions Engineer (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TXApril 30, 2015
One of the best run companies in the world with a lot of professional development and personal development opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work when the hours are there
Logistics Coordinator - West Region (Current Employee), Commerce City, COApril 30, 2015
I received valuable incite into company Metrics, I was hoping to retire from here, however; the all mighty dollar does rule all decisions, and paying bills is very important to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not family friendly
Operator (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAApril 29, 2015
Pros: experience builder
Cons: needs better management
pay not as good as other oil companies, benefits are just average
a lot of travel and limited home time.
job is ideal for a single person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very large oil and gas company
Engineering Designer (Former Employee), Sugarland, TXApril 28, 2015
Working for a French based oil and gas company was a challenge in an unstable environment, no stability, no guarantee, no loyalty to employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For
Distribution Coordinator (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAApril 28, 2015
Great Company! Nice Coworkers! Great Work Environment! Long Hours but flexible. Management can use work. Great Benefits. Great work Environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schlumberger was AWESOME
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Signal Hill, CAApril 27, 2015
I do not have one bad thing to say about Schlumberger. It truly was a game changer. The typical work week in wireline was 6 days on call 24 hours a day and off for 3 days on a rotating schedule. Typically you would work between 80-100 hours in those 6 days. The people at SLB are outstanding, the hardest part of the job was getting used to the hours, and the most enjoyable part of the job was the compensation and always learning something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but unpredictable schedule
Field Engineer (Former Employee), Midland, TXApril 23, 2015
Pros: Great pay, lots of down time, typically laid back shifts
Cons: No set schedule, unprecictable time off, months at a time away from home
When the oil field is doing well this is a great place to work if you are single and want to make a lot of money, or have an understanding family. As an MWD hand, some days I would work a shift from my trailer and never get out of my pajamas. It can be very laid back. Other days I could spend 18 hrs in ice rain troubleshooting a tool failure. Typically I would be on a job 28-40 days straight, come home for 6-10 and have to leave again. When the oil field is doing well you can make a lot of money but now that the price of crude oil has dropped off, the company has let over 11000 ppl go, myself included.

I would not recommend this position at this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As as Maintenance Assistant, you will process many different types of tools that go into the oil wells.
Maintenance Assistant (Current Employee), Midland, TexasApril 23, 2015
Pros: Lots of training, very safety conscious, good safety gear provided as well as training provided, 401k; medical; dental; vision; after being employed for an certain amount of time, you get stock options.
Cons: Cost of rent is a little higher than most expect, affordable housing can be a little difficult to locate.
At Schlumberger, working at the Midland, TX Wireline facility, the area is very easy to get to, good co-workers (operators and engineers and technicians). A typical day consists of a morning safety meeting (Monday through Friday) with "Warm-up to Work" consisting of stretches followed by getting various tools that need maintenance performed upon them into the shop, reviewing the required and performing maintenance according to the various publications and maintenance manuals. Once the maintenance is done, move the tools to their allocated location(s) to await the next job. Training is part OTJ (on the job) and some of it is classroom with hands on and safety gear is provided and / or available as needed or required. There isn't any really hard things to the job if you know how to follow directions, read manuals and schematics as well as use various electrical meters for measurements. It is enjoyable to see lots of tools waiting to get processed and at the end of the day when the 'lots' has become little or none to be processed. There are no set time for breaks. You take a break as you need as long as you get the job(s) done in a timely manner. Lunch is typically a one hour break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like to be busy!!
Training Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 23, 2015
I currently coordinate 90 classes per year for the PTS Training Center in Schlumberger. Most of the students are international students. I handle all logistics for each students (hotel, transportation to/from hotel and office, per diem and any additional travel within the US). I have really enjoyed learning from each person who has travelled through the training center and hope to travel to many of their countries soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need stronger management
eClaims Processor-Head of MI Accounts (Current Employee), College Station, TXApril 22, 2015
The office that I work in has WAY too much office politics, and the manager does absolutely nothing about people not showing up for work and stealing company time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, works you to death, but fun to be there.
Senior Financial Controller (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 22, 2015
Overall, I would say that Schlumberger is truly one of the greats, how ever misguided but it is fun to work there, and the people are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 22, 2015
Pros: Meeting people from all over the world
Cons: The oil field downturn
This was a good work place, I would love to still be there but the oil downturn has affected everyone. This was a very diversified company to work for. We had trainees come from all over the world and this was great to help others be acclimated to cultures from all over the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environement both physically and mentally.
South Rockies HSE Manager (Former Employee), Grand Junction, CO/Cheyenne, WYApril 22, 2015
Pros: People
Cons: Ups and downs of the the industry
Being able to adapt to changing business and physical work environments is essential.

Working with a diverse population of employees from all over the world is a wonderful opportunity for exposure to different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best technology service firm
Manager and Principal (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 22, 2015
Significant expansion of career skills in management and R&D, plus overall knowledge of global oilfield business landscape.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Awesome place to learn different skills in the oil field
Laboratory Technician III (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAApril 20, 2015
Pros: 1 hour long lunch break and great people to work with
Cons: Work is up and down
A typical day at work would be 12hours full of hard work and dedication. You will learn how to QC chemicals and etc. The mangment is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging and progressive work place
Electronic Technician (Current Employee), Williston, NDApril 17, 2015
Pros: Pay, Training, Ability to progress, Travel
Cons: Job security
Usually 14 hour shifts monitoring, troubleshooting and repairing/replacing electronic/electrical equipment. Very cold working environment. A good place to hone your skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment, 24 hour turn around
Quality Engineer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 17, 2015
Pros: Satisfaction of getting the job done with little time.
Cons: Long days
On a daily basis you would receive an order around 4 PM with a delivery of 7 AM the following day to be on location. This would make very challenging opportunities on a day to day planing.

1 2 3 4 5

About Schlumberger

Schlumberger has the know-how to get oil and gas drillers out of a slump. One of the world's largest oilfield services companies, – Read more

Schlumberger Salaries

Heavy Equipment Operator
$70,000 per year
Field Engineer
$77,000 per year
Heavy Equipment Operator
$16.50 per hour
Operator
$65,000 per year
Electronic Technician
$80,000 per year