Schneider Employee Reviews

Found 804 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over the Road Truck Drive
Truck Driver & Driver Service (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAApril 29, 2017
A typical day included conducting an inspection of the truck and trailer prior to departure, driving to and from multiple locations, loading and unloading the trailer.

Learned how to drive an 18 wheeler.

The management team was very involved in our day to day operations. They were only a phone call away if we ran into issues and would resolve issues as quickly as possible.

Months away from home.

Driving an 18 wheeler.
Pros
Driving an 18 wheeler
Cons
Months away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Driver Business Leader (Current Employee) –  Inland Empire, CAApril 29, 2017
The organization has good core values, and really is a good company to work for. The organization as a whole, is very welcoming, and are great at providing resources to make your job easier. They want you to be happy at work. As far as down to the level of specific accounts, the management and their methods vary. Depending on the account and the demands, the work load can be very stressful and overwhelming.
Pros
very friendly, good compensation, benefits
Cons
long hours, some bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized
Transportation Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXApril 28, 2017
confusion throughout the whole company. one boss would tell you to do one thing while another boss is giving you a contradicting fast to do so when the bosses come together its all "he say, she say"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
OTR DRIVER ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 28, 2017
The training for new drivers at schneider was excellent. My boss was great but overall management was disorganized. Contact info for customers was not great
Pros
STEADY WORK
Cons
LOW PAY
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that is evolving in their work-life balance
Loaned Executive (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 25, 2017
A very fast paced environment that can lead to long days/evenings. The leadership continues to evolve and the organization continues to look for ways to improve efficiency and associate engagement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed this job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Elwood, ILApril 23, 2017
enjoyed working with the employees and supervisors, liked the hours I worked 6:60 am to 6:30 pm drove forklift and picked orders to be shipped to different Wal-Mart stores also helped to load and unload the semi's I also would stay for over time when needed
Pros
best paying
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Miles at first...
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 21, 2017
The mandatory per diem was awful.
Had great miles at first, then got to the point I could discontinue the per diem and the miles dropped.
Gave me a semi-new truck that was great, but had no choice about the transmission.
Hardest part of job was not knowing when i would actually be home.
Enjoyable part was going home!
Pros
great training
Cons
communication after inital DBL was sub par with assigned dispatcher.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive; supportive team
General Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 19, 2017
Typical day at work: busy, fast-paced.
Learned to understand Driver concerns, coordinate with supervisors for best outcome, complete job within SRT; document work performed.
Management supportive of family and work balance.
Workplace culture of multi-ethnic OTR drivers, Canadian drivers, multi-ethnic co-workers.
Hardest Part of Job: Diagnose and repair units under a load and needing fast return to the road.
Most enjoyable part: co-workers and the type of work performed.
Pros
Work schedule
Cons
2 short breaks each work day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 17, 2017
Provided exceptional customer service to internal and external customers. Provided quick solutions to problems or customer concerns, Managed customer bases and developed new contracts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice dispatch. Easy people to work with
Company Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 13, 2017
Decent company to work for. Benefits arn't that great. They are slow to get maintainer done on their tricks. Dispatchers are friendly and try to work with you as much as possible. Good home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start with.
Intermodal Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 10, 2017
Schneider has plenty of work, however, their intermodal equipment was poorly maintained which caused a great deal of down time which was unpaid for the first 3 or so hours.
Pros
Plenty of work.
Cons
poorly maintained equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job and benefits
Class 8 Truck and Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Seville, OHApril 8, 2017
Perform maintenance and repairs to company equipment and owner operator equipment. Maintain vehicle DOT paperwork and history.
Communicate with drivers and create work orders for repairs and break downs. Clean and maintain shop and facility equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see the states
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNApril 7, 2017
pick up and deliver freight.
how to drive truck cdl class a.
help you stay moving.
help you when need it.
driving in snow.
good pay good trucks and getting loads there on time.
Pros
free showers
Cons
some time what long for loads
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable compant to work for
Account Specialist (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 6, 2017
I felt it was a good working environment. Everyone was friendly and understanding. I left because I relocated to another state where there was no office.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Was fine
Forklift Operator/ unloader (Former Employee) –  Elwood, ILApril 6, 2017
My experience here was fine, made a few friends and Better my skills. Wished I could've came back and showed more work ethic, lack of transportation made me lose my job.
Pros
Hour break
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not productive, the criteria for the job was different depending on what manager you where working with.
Guide and assist drivers (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 5, 2017
Very little job security, they constantly are changing job requirements and hours. No stability, in the 4 years that I was there I had 5 different desk locations, job expectations where constantly changing and so where your days that you worked and the shift that you worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Sumner, WAApril 5, 2017
With Schneider National you really do have the freedom to work your hours the way you see fit. The DBL's will keep you as busy as you want to be; there is always going to be more than enough freight to move.
Pros
Lots of freight, consistent miles
Cons
Home time is not guaranteed, pay chart is complicated
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very caring company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TX 75241April 5, 2017
It was easy work mostly drop and hook, sometimes you had to bump a dock. They are very caring they saw me through my recovery after my heart attack. Worked with me through rehab to my D.O.T. physical. Wasn't able to maintain a positive result on my physical. Over all they are a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work, the people
Vendor Payment Assistant (Former Employee) –  Green Bay WIApril 5, 2017
I opened and sorted mail. Computer work. Scanning documents. data entry. phone calls. I enjoyed everything about the job. The people I worked with.
Pros
breaks, they helped the community.
Cons
not being able to retire from here.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to drive for
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  West MemApril 4, 2017
This is a wonderful company to drive for. If there was a way I could drive for this company again, I would gladly do so and will appreciate doing so. The only reason I'm not with this company is because I don't like over the road jobs but I love what I do when I'm behind the wheel of an 18 wheeler!!!
Pros
Company as a whole
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schneider. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 863 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4