School District of Palm Beach County Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 40 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
fence teh (Former Employee) –  fence techJune 14, 2016
Don't waste your life like I did. The climate is very political, you're in or you're not. Medical insurance is pricey and covers very little.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to motivate and inspire today's youth
Paraprofessional/Teacher's Aide (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 5, 2016
My colleagues are wonderful, especially the administration. Working with special needs students is like nothing in the world. They are unique and inspiring.
Pros
The hours, vacations and special days
Cons
better pay is needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great District
SCHOOL SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLJune 2, 2016
Great for kids, parents, and teachers. Great benefits, departments, opportunities to grow and change with the district.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, and still a very upbeat and cheery place to work
AVID Tutor (Current Employee) –  Delray Beach, FLApril 27, 2016
The typical day at work is very stress-free, with a few reviews of principles gone over in class that the student may have forgotten, and some copies and organization of graded work to be done.
The staff is very friendly and close-knit, and the students are (usually) receptive to what you are trying to say. The job may become a bit tedious when a student or two attempts to waste everyone else's time by not taking the tutorial sessions seriously, but there are ways to respond in this situation.
Pros
Relaxed schedule, positive work environment
Cons
schedule is inconsistent, especially near the end of the school term
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School District
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLApril 6, 2016
Great opportunity of preparation for the goal of becoming a certified teacher. Great opportunity to meet people with career suggestions. Offers are up to par for you if you want it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice to work here
Food Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pahokee, FLJanuary 26, 2016
I learn how to work around different culture I enjoy the years I have work there. The staff is great the student is very friendly it's was like a family there,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training Ground
Grant Compliance Specialist II (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJanuary 25, 2016
I learned so much about leadership at the Palm Beach County School District. My co-workers were wonderful and will be my life time friends. The most enjoyable part of my job was assisting principals with their plan for underpriviledged students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, supportive, team work, focused on the student's success!
Para Professional II (Current Employee) –  Jupiter, FLDecember 30, 2015
A great day at work!
Great STAFF! Fun to be around! Always positive and willing to help!
Great students!!
A+ great safe environment.
I look forward to going to school again.
A+ food served in the cafeteria too!
Pros
Independence! A great "School" culture. Fun to go to school again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Secondary Mathematics Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 26, 2015
Teachers and administrators work closely to help students achieve success. Student-centered learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 9 to 5
Substitute/Teacher (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 11, 2015
Being a customer service representative has a lot of daily duties and responsibilities. It was steady work and very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hrs. low hrly wage
food asst 1 (Current Employee) –  palm beach countyJuly 27, 2015
the hours are good but feel the pay should be more at least 10$ an hour . the work is physical and i feel for what we do the pay should match
Pros
work hours great for if you have kids
Cons
hourly pay low
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer camp program really dysfunctional.
Afterschool Counselor (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 30, 2015
No set schedule. Schedule is changed daily even with counselors not knowing. Field trips are also not set. One day scheduled to go to water park then end up going to a regular park. No help from the director.
Pros
none
Cons
Director and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Afterschool counselor (Former Employee) –  H.L JohnsonJune 1, 2015
The staff is very supportive and the students are wonderful. The schools environment is very laid back and the administration is amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 8, 2015
*follow lesson plans that primary teacher has left for class to do
*Planning time to take a break for students
*Some schools in certain counties are rated the worst and you don't know it's a bad school till you sub there
Pros
Flexible schedule. work when you want
Cons
no Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with kids
Afterschool Counselor (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMarch 25, 2015
Fun, but only if you like children. These children were your responsibility and if something happened you were in trouble.
Pros
Always a different day
Cons
Kids became tiresome
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and great overall workplace
First grade teacher (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMarch 22, 2015
Fun and easy going workplace. Typically very challenging but worth the hard work to see students succeed on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment is cordial and friendly
Audit Manager (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMarch 21, 2015
mostly auditing work

learned to take on add'l responsibilities

co-workers are professional and friendly

enjoyable part is very good working atmosphere
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
time line crunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching was not for me!
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 24, 2015
I taught for 8 and a half years and the work environment progressively worsened as I learned more about the management at the district level. I found some practices that were required in our classrooms to be unethical and not conducive to student learning. Most reasons that caused me to become a teacher were slowly taken away to the point where I found very little joy and satisfaction in the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for if you have children in school
Attendance Clerk (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 13, 2015
I really enjoy working for the District because i'm out of school when my daughter is also out. Also summer vacations are the best!!!
Pros
vacations
Cons
no summer pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job summary
Substitute teacher (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 5, 2015
I enjoy my work at the lab. Everyone works well as a team. I am only leaving because the lab will be closing in May 2015.

Experience in an academic setting with IR, UV/Vis and Mass Spectrometry; and H1 NMR Industrial experience with Spectrophotometry and GC/MS
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at School District of Palm Beach County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

School District of Palm Beach County Reviews by Job Title

School District of Palm Beach County Reviews by Location