Find companies:
School District of Philadelphia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

School District of Philadelphia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Classroom Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 23, 2014
I love my kids. The best part is seeing the progress and know you played a part in that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of paperwork !
Family Service Field Rep (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits package
Cons: finding a place to work in the schools, no stability.
We meet with families of pre-k children, mostly single parents and grandparents, to help them to become self sufficient by identifying their goals and basic needs.
I have learned to seek out the resources that people need and to facilitate parent meetings and workshops with the community agencies.
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping someone – more... to accomplish their goals or to help them receive the help they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Held many positions with the School District
Computer lab management (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 3, 2014
Pros: supportive, summers and most holidays off.
Cons: lay offs, program cuts, finacial instability.
Its a great place to work, each site has great people with whom you will respect and love working with them. Family and team oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest job I ever had, yet the most rewarding
Chief Talent & Development Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2014
Pros: people cared about the children
Cons: there were too many chiefs and not enough workers.
I want to assist the city of Philadelphia by hiring highly qualified teachers and administrators for the school system. Everyday there was a crisis. Putting out fires was a daily day at the district. Most of my co-workers had long tenure with the district, but were willing to try new processes to enhance their day-today operations. The hardest part – more... was not having state of the art equipment, Working as a team was enjoyable, although we worked many overtime hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Supportive Service Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 28, 2014
The lack of funding has caused me to look for new employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Bilingual Counselor Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 23, 2014
I love working for the School District of Philadelphia, and especially, working with children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My workplace was a happy and fast pacing company
Supportive Service Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 15, 2014
Pros: free trips
Cons: more hours and healthcare
A typical day at work with my students consist in reading, writing, and one-on-one assistance.
I learned a lot about child development.
My co-workers were good to be around. I even learned myself from my co-workers.
There was no hard part with this job.
The most enjoyable part about this job is recess, seeing a smile on a child's face from their accomplishes – more... they made, and trip time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive and productive work environment
Special Education Service Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 13, 2014
Pros: the experince and interaction with student and co-workers.
Cons: the abiltity to secure appropiate information and require assistance as an employee, along with the acurate salary.
Although this was a failing financial educational system working at the locations I worked at was a rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
North Philadelphia School
Food Service Worker I (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 9, 2014
If you enjoy working with others and in a service type role, then you will love working here. The pace is extremely fast. At first it seems there is a lot to learn, but it won't be long before you become acclimated. The pay is a little above minimum wage after insurance and union dues are deducted. But, you can't find a better schedule, if you can afford – more... the time off in the summer, weekends, holidays, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse students
Tenured Instructor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 8, 2014
Pros: scheduled vacation days
Always have an efficient system of managing the required documentations you are accountable for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable calm atmosphere
Staff Nurse- School Nurse (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 29, 2014
Pros: free food from pharm. reps
Cons: comp time when needed
typical day in the lab is with the patients. Was fast paced, yet quiet room. Patients were appreciative of the care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to grow as an Instructional Leader
Assistant Principal (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 13, 2014
As a co-leader of the schools where I served as an Assistant Principal, in the oversight of the entire school operation instructionally, operationally, and from an overall school culture and climate perspective. I learned how to apply my intrinsic leadership style within a variety of responsibilities that I managed. We worked collaboratively through – more... a Distributive Leadership Model. The hardest part of the job was being laid off. The most enjoyable part of the job was the work that we did with our students on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking Early Childhood Department
Intern (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 5, 2014
I was an Intern at the School District of Philadelphia for almost a year. The environment was healthy and friendly everyday I walked into work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused team of individuals working toward the goal of educating Phliadelphia students
College Readiness Coordinator (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 3, 2014
The School District of Philadelphia has continue to guide my efforts to work for a strong student body in various schools within our city. The School District thrives on promoting a safe and nurturing atmosphere for all of the students attending our schools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what's there to say?
School Counselor K-12 (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 2, 2014
Cons: layed off 3 times in 4 years- no security
It's difficult to provide an accurate review when I have been shuffled to four schools in four years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work,with variety locations and assignments
Carpenter (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: limited state funding
The school system provided a wealth of variety to work and social exposure and travel around the city
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring workplace environment
Teacher (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: the autonomy to incorporate literature/novels into my teaching to support the skills i teach.
Cons: struggle to cover material prior to state testing.
As a 5th grade teacher I teach all core subjects. I am also a teacher leader among staff and participate in several committees within the building. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing a child's face light up when they feel pride in their accomplishments and enjoyment in the curriculum that I have provided.

I have my principal certification – more... and would like to pursue an administration position where I can have an impact on a larger number of students and staff members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Driver (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: swangs shift
Cons: health care benifits
NEED MORE HOURS. COWORKERS ARE GREAT, MANANGEMENT IS OKAY THE JOB IS REALLY EASY SOME THIS NUT VERY HARD MOST OF THE TIME, BUT I LOVE IT!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job, career and family rolled into one
Dean of Students (Current Employee), Phila, PAMarch 8, 2014
There are several types of schools in this district but the leadership determines how things work and run. My current school has made a complete turn around and is now running like a well oiled machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Building Engineer Custodial Supervisor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 6, 2014
Advancement is based off of seniority and not hard work and effort. Resources are limited regarding job completion and supplies.

1 2 3 4 5