Find companies:
School Specialty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

School Specialty Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have a walking trail and excercise room
Building Services-mailroom (Current Employee), Greenville, WIApril 7, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: punching in and out on your phone for breaks and lunch
I go in early on Mondays and and do mail right away and then do
scan the orders in to the system. sort the mail and then deliver the mail and do the out going mail . the management keeps changing because the company keeps changing. the only hard thing about the job is that you have to log in and out on your phone for your breaks and lunch. that is hard – more... to remember sometime. the co-workers are great,never a dull minute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall for a summer warehouse job, I have no major complaints.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Appleton, WIMarch 17, 2014
Pros: set hours. (2nd shift all summer)
Cons: worked many weekends
A typical day for me was driving my order picker to fill customer orders. This included a lot of heavy lifting as I was in charge of the bulk orders. After picking up these orders I was also in charge of sorting/organizing them. I was also involved in the shipping process as well. I learned a lot working this job. First, I learned to how to drive and – more... operate types of machinery similar to a fork lift. I also learned how to use a lot of software on School Specialty's RF guns which is what I used to fill orders. Lastly, I learned a lot about the process of shipping products which was interesting to me because I was always on the other end of that cycle, ordering products. Management at School Specialty seemed pretty normal. The only complaint that I would have is not knowing if I was working Saturdays/Sundays until Friday night. That made it difficult to plan some weekends but overall if you didn't create any problems for management, they treated you very fairly. I loved my co-workers at School Specialty. We all got along very well. The way I look at it, if I am going to be spending the majority of my summer with people, I am going to try very hard to get along with them. I am still currently friends with two of my co-workers today, as we attend the same university. The hardest part of the job was probably working overtime. Some weeks we would work 60 hours a week including weekends. I enjoyed getting paid overtime, but it was very tiring. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my co-workers because we tried our best to make it an enjoyable time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good.
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee), Mount Joy, PADecember 10, 2013
long and slow work days. managment was okay. my co workers were good. the hardest part of my job was reaching for the paper to pack in the boxes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Southaven, MSNovember 9, 2013
Pros: hour break and good pay
This job included picking and packing school supplies, the co-workers were easy to work with. Every part of this job was easy so there wasn't a hard part included in this job. I enjoyed running the assembly line and working with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Lyons, NYJuly 30, 2013
Friendly customers. Friendly co-workers. Have to be fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Mount Joy, PAJuly 7, 2013
Pros: friendly
Cons: pay, temp. position
Had no problems working here, friendly co-workers, wish there was more hours and had been hired on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Appleton, WIMay 16, 2013
Pros: special events
Cons: constant change in management
A typical day consisted of answering incoming calls, taking orders over the phone, entering orders from faxes and mail orders, resolving issues for the customers and sales reps. The co-workers were great. My direct supervisor was very knowledgeable and helpful and had a great rapport with her people. My customers are always the most enjoyable part of – more... my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a contractor for IT
IT Contractor (Former Employee), Nashua, NHMay 8, 2013
People were fantastic to work with. But The company does not hire full time IT support. so no room for advancement and no benefits for IT staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple day to day responsibilities.
Seasonal Customer Service/Data entry (Former Employee), Greenville, WIMarch 7, 2013
• Responsible for obtaining and entering customer orders while simultaneously managed answering phones, navigating the company catalog, and day-to-day transactions of a customer service representative.
• Worked directly to solve customers’ needs and meet their expectations. Acquired excellent communication skills allowing for conveying of information – more... in a concise, friendly manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run...
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, WIMarch 6, 2013
Pros: mid-management and below are some of the greatest people!
Cons: furloughs, no communication from upper management, fear driven tactics, no leadership
I endured SSI for a short period of time. A few weeks after they hired me I wondered why they were hiring, with furloughs and cut backs it seemed ironic that I was offered a job and then told I needed to take 5 weeks unpaid! I started looking shortly after I was hired for another position; the writing was on the wall with this company. No corporate – more... communication, no strategic planning, even other company’s CEOs from the area were chatting…everyone saw this one coming. Lucky for me I landed a great opportunity and I didn't have to explain my reason for looking. The VP of my currently employer already knew of SSI’s situation.

If you want to be a part of real results and watch the fruits of your labor flourish than this is not the company for you. If you have any expectations at all, this is not the company for you. Upper management lacks the skills it takes to lead anyone. There simply are no leaders at this company. They have gone through several restructures but always cut of the wrong people. They need to stop cutting the Indians and start cutting the chiefs.

When their new CEO came on board people were excited. Then came the nothingness that he has become known for. This CEO will walk away with one more failure under his belt. He should have laid out his strategic plan and then cleaned house, literally and immediately. When your company’s finances luster like a toilet bowl the CFO and most of the finance team should have been the first walked out the door. Then when your VPs and directors have no departmental strategic plans for measurable success they too need to go. Their senior VPs and VPs literally don’t know how to run their business units effectively. Their operations are a mess and none of the Indians trust the Generals.

I have never seen a fear driven management style be effective, and it isn't. You don’t promote what doesn't work. The smart and talented employees have filtered out and accepted better positions. The upper management is mostly made up of other company's rejects and they will likely go down with the ship as no one is lined up to make them an offer. Future companies looking to hire SSI employees should stay away from all upper management director level or above. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stocker (Former Employee), Mansfield, OHFebruary 22, 2013
Great summer job if your in school or just want a job during the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place for a seasonal job
Warehouse Associate/Picker (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: half hour lunch, good coworkers
Cons: "seasonal" associates, no real benefits, terrible management
A typical day of work - School Specialty is usually a 7am-3pm job, and the work isn't terrible. I was a picker, which meant retrieving product from the shelves, and putting it in boxes. One of the biggest issues with this was the fact that other pickers would all contribute to the same box, and there was a lot of cleaning up the messes of lazy workers.

Management – more... was often infuriating, forcing ridiculous rules and regulations on everybody. None of the lower level employees ever earned positive feedback, and management is generally unfriendly.

My co workers were awesome. They were mainly college kids, as few adults would stay around for this job. Great, friendly environment there.

The hardest part of the job was putting in my all, and getting $8/hour for it. There were never any raises, advancements, and encouragements from the School Specialty team. Additionally, the company would have "seasonal" employees working year round, for several years without ever hiring them as full time employees with benefits. Overall, not the greatest company to make a career in, but okay for college kids just needing the extra cash. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work out area
Order Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Greenville, WIDecember 29, 2012
It was a very nice company to work for. Unfortunatley the buisness needs slowed down and they had to let alot of team members go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary job
Packer (Former Employee), nashua, nhDecember 19, 2012
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: temp job
well its a warehouse and you learn packing methods for school supplies, but at the same time you deal with sand and soil, by the end you lood like coming from a playground, but they were really fun co-workers that make easier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job worked and went to school.
Order Puller (Former Employee), Southaven,MSNovember 2, 2012
Pros: got discount on stuff for school
Cons: short breaks and lunches
get there at 5pm work till 12;00 how to pull orders.good managment good co-workers.Just working till late and getting up and going to school. In the summer had money to go and do what I want and buy nice things learned how to save and invest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthy profession to persue
Material Associate (Former Employee), Mansfield, OhioSeptember 19, 2012
Seasonal position - I looked forward to going back each year while on summer break from teaching school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Mount Joy, PASeptember 6, 2012
I didnt work there long, because it was a seasonal job but id go in and unload trucks and receive the product and put it away using a cherry picker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
Packing & Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Fresno, CAAugust 29, 2012
Cons: seasonal work
Excellent company to work for great management and work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were the best part of the job
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Greenville, WIAugust 11, 2012
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management and their attendance policy
entered orders using oracle and dual computer monitors
contacted customers with missing information or questions on their orders.
followed up daily with orders on hold and worked to resolve each one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
production (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAJuly 25, 2012
Pros: fulltime hours
Cons: had to work extra hard for that position
was quiet place to work everyone was there to get the job done
i learned how to seal and and edge items as well as know the technique to making certain types of wood
being able to lift certain weights of wood without dropping them
there wasnt much to enjoy about the job everyone was mostly serious

About School Specialty

School Specialty won't carry your books to school, but it will deliver nearly everything else. A leading distributor of school – Read more