SCHUECK STEEL Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent supervisor, fair and understanding
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Cofield, NCFebruary 4, 2016
I enjoyed working for Schueck Steel and would still be working for them had they not had company layoffs. I was hired without any real experience and they took a chance. It was a good company to work for, although Schueck worked contract work for Nucor Steel who made the decision to do layoffs. I was able to work overtime often, and worked shutdowns out of town frequently. It was a great job and I miss working for them.
Pros
a lot of overtime
Cons
expensive health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing personal just business
Welder (Former Employee) –  Cofield, NCJanuary 22, 2016
a typical day at work would be grinding cleaning cutting measuring an welding. I learned everything i know there, the mangers an coworkers are ok. I just hated some of the places the we had to work in but the job had to get done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Certified Welder (Former Employee) –  Columbia City, INFebruary 19, 2016
unorganized place to work with very poor management. had to work over-time with little or no notice. never had the tools to complete the job.
Pros
was close to home
Cons
unorganized management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sheeter/Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INFebruary 9, 2016
The management is excellent and you get to travel to other steel plants on outages and work. The pay is great and the environment is one of the best I've worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous conditions and supervisors who throw you under the bus when they make mistakes!!
millwright (Former Employee) –  everywhereJuly 5, 2012
Schueck is the biggest joke of a company ive ever worked for.... i was almost killed because of my foremans errors.... and he then blamed it on the whole crew like he told all of us otherwise.... and they covered him and he was never urine tested or hair sampled like all of us were.... this company is a joke!
Pros
none.... worked for four days when i traveled there for a seven day job.
Cons
was laid off after an incident that was caused by my boss and nucor employees!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Sheeting Hand (Former Employee) –  Blytheville, ARJanuary 17, 2015
Long hours and little pay. Most times you will work seven days a week and only have little pay. Not the best job and i do not recommend working here if you have a family that you intend on seeing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work lost of moving
Maintenance/welder (Former Employee) –  Butler, INDecember 31, 2013
hot smokey
lost of safety and machine maintenance skills
good ppl to work for and learn from
good guys to work with and learn from
making sure every one is safe at all times
getting the job done in a fast and safe way
Pros
good money and health care
Cons
traveling all over the usa
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working for them, learn alot. Laid off due 2 lack of work
Operator,fitter, millwright, folklift operator (Former Employee) –  Ahoskie, NCJanuary 9, 2013
enjoyed the work surrounding, work greet with others. The boss was down to earth, besides having his picks he was great to work for. Overall, I'm miss working there...
Pros
2 breaks, & a half hour lunch
Cons
no problems at all
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level Craftsman Only
welder/MILLWRIGHT (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 4, 2013
If your not a entry level craftsman don't waste your time. management is terrible
Pros
experience for entry level craftsman
Cons
work all day with only a 30 min lunch, good ole system if your not family or favored, management its horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unsafe and poorly ran crew.
welder (Former Employee) –  MemphisSeptember 1, 2012
worked with them in Memphis, poor leadership, The pay is very bad for this type of work. Team work does not apply in this company. I will never take a job with that company again. Old tools and bad boss's!
Cons
boss's are eggo maniac's
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interesting
iron worker (Former Employee) –  Trinity AlabamaApril 11, 2014
I really enjoyed the fast paced work environment. Although the hours just wasn't enough. I would have loved to stay with this company but I wasn't earning enough to provide for my family.
Pros
great pay
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok money. not a family oriented business
welder (Current Employee) –  little rock arFebruary 5, 2012
Ypur on the road a lot with little notice of where your going or when your leving before they drop the ball on you and day I need you in two days to be at a job 1200 miles from here for I don't know how,long.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding work environment.
Helpers (Former Employee) –  Darlington,scMay 14, 2013
Worked 500+ miles from home with no time off. Always had work if willing to travel.
Pros
job security and good wages
Cons
never home, demanding hrs and work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have poor Field management / safety.
Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Hannibal,MoFebruary 28, 2012
not only are they not a good company to work for...they are not a very safe company either..overall..
Pros
it's a job...
Cons
poor management / safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structural welding and fabrication.
Structural welder (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALSeptember 27, 2012
Job was enjoyable, learned a lot, but too much travel required.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Astmosphere
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Armorel, ARMarch 3, 2013
I love working there. The people were friendly. It is also a family oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture