Find companies:
Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fair Oaks Ranch, TXSeptember 3, 2014
This is a great company. However if you do not fit in the crowd you are left on your own. The location I worked at was a small city and small personel population and they were a tight bunch before I even started. They are very strict. So mistakes are not allowed. Make sure you are sharp and perfect at what you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile unprotected workplace.
Engineer I (Former Employee), Pullman, WAJuly 30, 2014
Cons: avoid at all costs
No union, family owned company which translates to they can do whatever they want to you without recourse. There is no Maternity leave. They try to indoctrinate you in the first week of employment with how awesome it is to work there. If it was so great to work there why would they need to put you through so many classes to instill that into you? Sure – more... they feed you every Friday for lunch but if you get food poisoning you can't tell anyone. You get reprimanded for working during lunches and if your behind schedule. Very low pay and all credit for any patents goes to the top not to you. Assemblers are given the bottom pay scale for what they do, very high turn over, not a good sign. Supervisor are so afraid to lose their jobs that no one will go to bat for you when the time comes, and it will come when you are called into HR. Do not talk about unions or pay scale or you will get fired. I have lost so many colleagues this way. DO NOT let them claim your patents. It's worth every cent to fight tooth and nail to keep them yours. good luck... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So amazing
Assembler (Former Employee), Pullman, WAJuly 3, 2014
It was a great place to work they were nice to there employees and advancement seemed very easy to do if u stayed there long enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Customer Service/operator - Current Employer (Current Employee), Pullman, WAMay 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great people
Cons: pay could be better
Treats employees well, good work environment. Promotes from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Engineering Lab
Test Operator (Former Employee), Pullman, WAApril 23, 2014
Great people to work with
Helped to develop Quality Products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse, hardworking and yet social environment
PROJECT ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee), Fairview Heights, ILJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: casual environment with flexible core hours, free friday lunch meetings, gym membership and education benefits.
Cons: no field offices in connecticut and that's where i need to be!
Everyone works well autonomously and yet we're very much a team!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Assembler (Former Employee), Lewiston, IDNovember 9, 2013
Pros: great benefits, free lunch on fridays
Cons: could work tons of ot constantly
I liked some of the people there, but it seemed as if some management were incompetent and needed reviewed because half of them didn't know what was going on for the most part. Learned a lot of stuff though being a part of the team such as reading wire diagrams, re-work if needed, inspection and assembly of a quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, pay is a little low but benefits are good
Executive Assistant to V.P. International Sales (Current Employee), Trinity, FLAugust 8, 2013
Pros: free friday lunch every friday and get corp updates, you are an employee owner
Cons: pay starts on the low side, supposed to balance out with benefits and esop but benefits don't pay bills
Great company culture, you are encouraged to own your work as an employee owner and improve processes. I enjoy my job everyday and have the best life / work balance I've ever had in a job. Would I give a little of that up for better pay? Perhaps, but happiness and fulfillment is priceless and the grass is not always greener...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Pullman, WAJuly 26, 2013
Pros: great benefits, company lunches, dynamic team of people to work with.
While working at SEL I enjoyed my time there, it is a great place to work. Great culture and values, amazing dynamic of people. While I worked there I was able to attend classes that helped me become a better writer and truly understand writing in a business setting. I truly enjoyed the Friday Lunches that the company would put on for the employees – more... to sit down and learn about updates in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable work and enjoyable company
Assembler (Former Employee), Pullman, WAMay 28, 2013
Pros: weekly company wide meetings, esop, great benefits
Cons: ot hours
SEL is a great company that leads the industry in making power safer, more reliable and more economical. The typical work is challenging but simple and there is always something new and interesting to work on and learn. The management is interactive with their departments and your co-workers are friendly and honestly interested in each other. The company – more... values are easy to understand and the culture is wonderful to be a part of. The hardest part of working with SEL is the overtime hours. However it was a fun experience and I enjoyed working for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace where much is learned!
Marketing Research Intern (Current Employee), Pullman, WashingtonMay 7, 2012
Pros: complimentary friday lunch and presentations
Cons: quiet and serious work environment
Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories mission is to make electrical power safer, more reliable, and more economical. They create safe electrical products such as relays and smart grid application solutions for utility and power generation companies. My position is to aid other departments with research regarding potential product line or market extensions, – more... competitor pricing and product information, and customer service analysis. – less

July 1, 2013

SEL is not actually a fun place to work, its like joining a cult. You will need to agree to follow their obsessive policies on security and confidentiality to protect their image, while you slave away your weekends and sit silently in your tiny cubicle. Don't plan on staying too long or your soul will disappear.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique company with American values
Lead Software Engineer (Current Employee), Pullman, WAApril 27, 2012
Pros: free friday lunch
How many companies:
* have a human answer every phone call on the main switchboard?
* treat employees to lunch every Friday?
* offer a lifetime warranty on their products?
* give you 15% of your salary in your retirement account?

SEL does all this!

July 23, 2012

A Company that I would love to work with. I walked my resume in, I'm a hard worker and they would be proud to have me.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Automation Senior Lead (Current Employee), San Luis Potosí, SLPJanuary 23, 2014
SEL is a Great place to work, Training programs are great and all the activities has new chalenges.
Most of the peaple is friendly and provide help if you request it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A multicultural environment with a good work life balance
Automation / Integration Application Engineer (Current Employee), Perth, western australiaMarch 14, 2013
SEL has allowed me to learn about automation as well as protection relays which is the core business of the company. The best part of working at SEL is the different cultures of the employees working at SEL allowing you to learn a little bit more of how other people live and work. The management has been very understanding and promote a good work life – more... balance in ensuring that any one employee doesn't end up doing too much site work for example. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Es una empresa que se preocupa por el crecimiento de su personal
Supervisor de Producción (Former Employee), San Luis Potosí, SLPJune 25, 2013
Pros: preocupación por el personal
Cons: ninguna
Juntas diarias de producción. Revisión de entregas a clientes.
Mis colegas trabajan en equipo, buena comunicación.

About Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories

Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories (SEL) designs, manufactures, and supports a full line of products that keep electric power – Read more