Scientific Drilling Employee Reviews in United States

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Directional Driller (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 7, 2016
Great company to work for. Excellent pay and Benefits. Excellent retirement and great people to work for. Over all the pay is the best thing for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging and rewarding job environment.
Manager of MRP Inventory (Former Employee) –  Houston Tx, 77477August 31, 2015
Scientific Drilling is an independently owned company that has great benefits and is a major player in the oil and gas industry. It has a great family environment with a challenging atmosphere.
Pros
Profit share
Cons
New management culture change
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job but oil prices are going down and work is getting slow.
Lead MWD Operator (Current Employee) –  Central OklahomaJanuary 20, 2016
My current job requires a lot of time away from home working on an Oil Rig. I work for a directional drilling company that steers the well in the direction that the well plan and company desires. I usually work at least 12 hours a day and have 1 other person rotate shifts with me working the other 12 hours. I live on location during drilling procedures and I am responsible for the entire job including the tools that we use and the end of well files.
Pros
The Pay.
Cons
Time away from my family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay bad hours
MWD/LWD Operator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 4, 2015
Great company with good benefits. Too much time away from home. work life balance did not exist. Good pay and good potential to make money.
Pros
pay
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
MWD Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXMay 8, 2015
Scientific Drilling is a good place to work, there are some great employees there and they will help you learn the job. Management is lacking, the Office Manager especially is hard to get along with and is all about just looking out for himself. You are required to spend long periods away from home while working.
Pros
Pay, benifits
Cons
Management, long periods away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
driectional driller (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJanuary 4, 2016
Long days I learned the newest technology in drilling, management was great to work with as well as most coworkers. The hardest part of the job was the stress that sometimes come with it. Nothing like drilling a well to perfection and everyone is safe at the end.
Pros
Great pay, fule payed
Cons
away from home alot and high stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment and coworkers, no stress, very flexible.
Front Office/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COMay 1, 2016
Great company to work for. Very flexible when needed. Not a lot of room for advancement. Job was dependent on the economy and need basis.
Pros
great work environment and coworkers
Cons
not may opportunities for advancement or raises. Dependent of corporate profits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mwd operator
MWD Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAFebruary 8, 2016
Great place to work and the pay was decent. Work/life balance is on par with other oil services. Laid off due to economic downturn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Lead Directional Driller (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYJune 11, 2015
Scientific drilling was an outstanding company to work for, with great employees. Due to the oil price drop I was unfortunately laid off. Overall an outstanding company.
Pros
great pay, and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and career opportunity
Motor Technician (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAOctober 19, 2013
most days were busy and productive
i learned a lot of mechanical oriented skills , forklift operations, shipping and receiving.
management was very kind in letting me work part time when i was taking college classes, and went thru a law enforcement academy , they provided a lot of support to better myself in any career i wanted .
hardest part about the job would be long hours some days reaching up to 14 hour days .
best part was friendly atmosphere , team work ethic, benefits, and salary .
Pros
healthcare, flexible schedule
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promise you the world
Lead MWD/Directional Driller (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMarch 3, 2015
Then you walk in and they close the door. The company offers no advancement for its employees your basically told once youve been hired that there are no raises or advancement other then titles that include more work and no extra benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
District HSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 15, 2015
Great company but too much favoritism and not enough pay increases. Co workers were friendly and supportive, but direct management showed to much favoritism for certain people and was not available or supportive when needed.
Pros
Freedom of work hours, innovative, friendly
Cons
Not enough support, too much favoritism, not enough pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enivorment was great
MWD Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXMarch 10, 2015
Enjoyed working for SD. Co-workers were great and I enjoyed learning the oil field industry. Benefits and pay was the best they had to offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tought times
Electro Mechanical Technician II (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2015
I feel there has been a wise response to reorganize and refocus during the down market. Management has been proactive and not reactive, which is assuring althought many tough decicions have had to be made.
Pros
interesting work
Cons
communication, clarity
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Curve
Directional Driller, (Former Employee) –  PAOctober 13, 2015
They have nice tools but if your more into manual labor then this job isnt for you. Its alot of computer work and sitting around. Over all good company but just wasnt for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be a good company
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 26, 2015
Short and sweet.
was a good company but downturn in combination with new ceo has destroyed the value that was there. Company will probably be parted out in the next year.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company switching from engineering focus to cost cutting management and out sourcing of product.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Paso Robles, CAMay 25, 2015
SDI is privately owned but the management has been give over to those that have no time invested in the company. Staff that have invested years in the production and improvement of product have been let go. The goal now seems to be to on company image by upgrading facilities.
Pros
Good benefit package that includes profit sharing.
Cons
Salaries benefit upper management only.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowest paid in the industry
MWD Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COSeptember 20, 2015
Great place to learn, but they pay the lowest compared to all the competition.
They have great tools, but they need to value their employees better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Paso RoblesSeptember 3, 2015
I think SDI could use more qualified managers and they could also use training on development of their employees. I work at SDI as an HR Coordinator.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its easy to work for if you have no family
Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 2, 2015
Run in hole with survey tool then rig down,
you can only hope that the lazy hands reheaded the truck and that the truck was not going to die while you were in the hole.
The co-workers are what they are hands.
Pros
Don't have to be at the shop if you don' have a job
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture