Find companies:
SCO Family of Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

SCO Family of Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning tool
Social Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Jamaica, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: llimited growth
unorganized management, no compensations, poor leadership. good team members and residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, overlooked, overloaded
Administrator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: they will use you and get all they can out of you
Cons: they will toss you like last weeks left overs
SCO has no regard for staff on any level- they do not practice what they preach- extraordinary reach is what is expected of staff- no training or supervision provided- they combine multiple jobs to cut their overhead costs and blame the staff when last minute deadlines and demands aren't met- unconditional care is just a cover- upper management couldn't – more... care less about your needs- and staff is constantly expected to sacrifice their own families to meet the unreasonable demands being made- life changing results? Well the major life change you can expect from SCO is stress and the health issues that follow- vacation is usually denied if you ask for time especially if you dare say no to unfairly added responsibilities that are in no way part of your job description- if you are looking for a job just to get your feet wet in the workforce- the the abuse of SCO will prepare you for anything – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Group Leader (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 14, 2014
A day of work at SCO varies some days are good and others are are not. I always ensure that the kids i'm responsible for are doing there homework and understanding what they are doing. I've learned to have patients because all these kids want is to be heard and understood. So with that come an open ear at all times. My co workers are supportive and – more... they help out a lot in difficult situations. We get along very well with just keeping it professional at all times. The hardest part of the job has to be keeping it clean during lunch time. The younger kids tend to drop food on the floor no matter what. I say that because they eat 3 times a day. The most enjoyable part has to be seeing the kids play, laugh, and smile. It brightens up my day with just that. making sure that they are having fun and enjoying themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Child Care Worker (Current Employee), Queens, NYOctober 5, 2014
Fast paced and very interactive with youth.
Monthly trainings and weekly meetings.
Constant follow ups on youths progression and goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeing the children smile... makes this job such a reward
Health Care Integrator (Former Employee), BrooklynSeptember 25, 2014
Awesome experience, rewarding. Protecting the children was the most important part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
workers (Former Employee), NYSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: pool
Cons: food
A day in this company is totally, People are kindly, every body is soft
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best experience.
Foster Care Caseworker (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: comfortable work enviorment. decent compensation for entry level
Cons: lack of support.
I felt that the work was challenging. I enjoyed working with the foster care population. However, my supervisor was unreasonable and there was little support from management. Not enough training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Place to work.
Former Employee (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 6, 2014
Great co-workers, no support from management when sought.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers. horribly managed
residential supervisor (Current Employee), WestburyAugust 31, 2014
Pros: good residential staff
Cons: terrible administration. lots of infighting.
Benefits and salary okay....co workers great. Inexperienced clinical staff and administration with egos make for a drama filled and tense work environment that trickles to the kids. The place is falling apart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In It For the Children
Visual Arts Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 20, 2014
The most enjoyable and rewarding part of this job was the children. Sowing positive elements into their lives was very worthwhile, even though the overall experience wasn't the most ideal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCO Family of Services
Human Resources Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sea Cliff, NYAugust 15, 2014
Working as an HR Administrative Assistant at SCO was a productive and growing experience. My supervisor, team and environment has taught me a variety of aspects that go into a growing successful organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on why you are here
Caseworker (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 9, 2014
If you are looking for experience then it's great. The benefits package is not that great and there is a disconnect from the administration and the people who actually do the job. Co-workers make it worth going to work if you have the right team but you will get burned out very quickly if you are not careful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment and productive
Program Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 1, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: per diem
It provided vast opportunity to grow and learn more about populations that I had not previously worked with
Supervisors were very endearing and provided the adequate and supportive structure needed to complete tasks,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Position to Impact Urban Youth
Youth Specialist (Current Employee), Far Rockaway, NYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: acting as a guide and mentor to youth in need
Cons: unorganized
The position has been unique and rewarding in the great impact that the job has on the young adults on a regular basis. Due to the various threads of management however, the job can become very unorganized with different messages being sent from different governing groups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ehh
Home Visitor (Current Employee), QueensJuly 19, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: salary
SALARY IS NOT VERY HELPFUL AND THEY NEVER WANT TO INCREASE IT...LIKE NEVER!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do no work here if you want to remain a happy person
Foster care caseworker (Current Employee), BrooklynJuly 2, 2014
Pros: fantastic and loving coworkers who support you 24/7, and i wish i could work with them for the rest of my life. they are lovely people.
Cons: lowest pay among nyc caseworkers, very stressful, zero support from upper management, paperwork is enormous
I made a very big mistake taking this job. The case loads can be very demanding, especially if you have cases in different boroughs. Management does not give a single dam about the stress levels of their caseworkers, and flat out ignore legitimate concerns/complaints. The turnover rate is very high, but I have been told from the older workers that it – more... recently got very unorganized and bad only this year. Do not work here. Work anywhere else. Stay far away from this place. "It is a place of shrieks. It is not happy." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is not a good one in the least bit.
Caseworker (Current Employee), Brooklyn, New YorkJune 21, 2014
Cons: unorganized, zero support from supervisors, long hours and no extra pay, just horrible!!
I just started working at SCO and I hate it already. I already started working and have yet received an email from HR explaining salary and benefits in order to get paid!! But they waste no time giving you a caseload WITHOUT TRAINING YOU in the least bit. So you're literally figuring out everything on your own. Its long hours and they don't pay you – more... extra for them. If you don't have a car please don't do this to yourself and start this position. You will always have to travel in order to do home visits and supervised visits and travel back and forth between their agencies This place is HIGHLY unorganized on all levels. Let's just say I will be looking for another job really soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for SCO is challenging at times. No room for advancement, no overtime pay.
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 29, 2014
Management is very cold, uncaring, Co-workers are great, very nice. Pay is lousy and there is no overtime pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanagement starts at the very top.
Finance (Former Employee), Glen Cove, NYMay 14, 2014
Pros: after working there, it can only get better elsewhere.
Cons: unethical place to work
Horrible place to work and there is no advancement unless you are a friend of management. Poor people skills and they treat employees like trash unless you belong to their clique.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
theraputic environment
Medical Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: no breaks
I enjoy working for the company I believe the company has great intentions. Needs more employees and better management

1 2 3 4 5