Find companies:
Scotiabank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
506 reviews

Scotiabank United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 4, 2015
Pros: great location
Cons: n/a
Generally a pleasant work environment with good morale.
I worked on a remediation project from the bank with regards to new banking regulation. The small team had trouble understanding US protocol. The most difficult aspect of the job was poor communication among employees, however the general environment was pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of information to learn.
Banking Officer (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJanuary 29, 2015
From teller to auditor to insurance, here I learned a lot and loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Fraud Prevention Officer and Analyst (Current Employee), Santo Domingo, PRDecember 9, 2014
Pros: great community
Scotiabank its one of the most international banks and great financial institution all that Ive learned in the banking industry I owe to Scotiabank.

An enriching institution that teaches their employees to be better every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy and productive environment
Internal Adjustor (Former Employee), San Juan, PROctober 30, 2014
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, 401 (k)
We met in the morning to give us encouragement.
I learned to work as a team and resolve customer situations.
My co workers were excellent and the managers.
The most enjoyable part was being at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace!!!
Personal Banker officer (Former Employee), Santo Domingo, PROctober 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great benefits, health care, paid vacations
Cons: long hours, the approval process isn't as efficient as in other countries.
I must say my experience at Scotiabank was excellent, my coworkers were amazing with a great leader as a manager, I worked at Scotiabank in Dominican republic for more than 3 years and it was amazing,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Sales Officer
Outside Sales Officer (Former Employee), San Juan, PRSeptember 24, 2014
• Responsible for handling branch marketing, external sales and activities.
• In charge of acquiring new customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance, not a place for mid career aspirations
Director (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: good life style balance
Cons: no growth in us, low pay, lack of upward mobility, old guard remains
9-5 job
limited products to cross sell
mostly tip business, not a lead
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work life balance
AD (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: pay
Its a good place to start your career but has very limited long term career opportunities. Its not a meritocracy, management tends to promote who they like not based on your brag sheet. It probably has the best work life balance on wall st. but pay suffers as it is well below market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
International Department Agent (Former Employee), canadaMay 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short break
its good and fun to work for
managers are very friendly
I recommend this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and caring people (Canadians in general)
Loan Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2014
Pros: discount lunch
Everybody is very nice and felt very close. Learned a lot from co-workers and had an over all great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid international bank.
Vice President/Director - Business Banking (Former Employee), San Juan, PRFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: well capitalized bank.
Cons: excesive manual operations. mis below average.
A Canadian-based bank with a strong credit risk culture. It provides opportunities to develop leadership and career goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Sr. Java/J2EE Developer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2014
Management was excellent
Most enjoyable workplace
Did my 1st finance job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costomer service
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJanuary 19, 2014
In this job we take calls of the customers about the bank account they have. The hardest part is the non stop call and in my personal opinion that's the best part to .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had worked in tree differents departments and the company is focus to develop employees and respectful managers
Retail Lending Product Manager (Current Employee), San Juan, PRJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: offer training, internal job posting for profesional advancement
Cons: salaries can be more competitive
A typical day at work consists working together with the marketing and operational department to support their projects. We also work in the pricing offering, marketing intelligence, analyzing competitors pricing and operational procedures. We investigate them and develop new offers and implemented our strategies. This department is small (4 employees) and we are flexible to work different tasks with constant changing priorities.
In this department we have competitive manager with superior experience that we can learn from their knowledge.

The hardest part of the job is that we work in a separate office or building from our collages, it is slower or difficult to communicate to finish projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Team oriented and customer focused
Customer Support Representative (Former Employee), North Bay, ONSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: it brought out my profectionist quality and excellent customer service
Cons: working alone
I dealt with clients on a daily basis whether it was over the phone or assisting them with their banking needs inside the branch. We were a team to help each and that is what I enjoyed the most. Knowing there was always someone to help you if you weren't sure of something or to pitch in and help if it got busy.
I was in charge of the files and accounts behind the scenes. I set up client's accounts, loans and investments and I was the only one in charge of this so I had to manage my time and priorities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International bank with opportunities for professional growth
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Juan, PRAugust 21, 2013
Pros: international bank, good employee benefits
Learned new banking products, co-workers work as a team. Hardest part of the job was their computer systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and compensation are good.
Operational Manager (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJuly 22, 2013
Pros: good compensation / great place to work.
Cons: excessive extended hours under pression
Work conditions are variable, but interesting.
I learned manage 28 employees with different characters and moods.
I am very proud on what I did with the information given to the management team and all of the problem that was successfully resolved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very stressful work place
Senior Program Analyst (Former Employee), Bayamon, Puerto RicoJuly 10, 2013
Pros: all as usual in private companies.
Cons: health care plan and 401k benefits
Working from 8 to 5:30, doing analysis of bank customers accounts. Extracting data from the transactions to report to the FDIC, and doing some specific request from the management. I learned to share information with other co-workers inside the institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Senior Manager Special Accounts Management (Former Employee), San Juan, PRMarch 31, 2013
Part of the Integration Team after the acquisition of RG Premier Bank, a competing financial institution.
Develop client relationships by providing adequate services without affecting bank and regulatory policies, procedures, and impact risk structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good envaromental place
Inside Sales Officer (Current Employee), san juan, prJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: flexibility
great plece to work I like to help people to make their dreams came true

About Scotiabank

Scotiabank is a leading financial services provider in over 55 countries and Canada's most international bank. Since welcoming – Read more

Scotiabank Salaries

Senior Manager
$97,000 per year
Teller
$7.25 per hour