Find companies:
Scott and White Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Scott and White Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it until last position
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Temple, TexasAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discounts at cafeteria
Cons: responsibility roll off
I really enjoyed working at this hospital. I worked in multiple roles. Most of management was nice and approachable. Some of the positions I worked in lacked team work but once we weeded through the thick and thin everything ran smoothly. Pay was pretty competitive as well. In m last position though I was branded the 'assistant manager' without the – more... compensation. It was a difficult task and also beyond my credentials. Overall though I love the experience I was able to gain from working at the institution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
occurance!
A/R Billing and Follow-up Technician (Current Employee), Temple, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: a lot to learn if you play dumb
Cons: not good if you have an education and occurances
I have nightmares about 1 minute over occurances and never leaving the building, just sitting at my computer waiting for my kronos to pop up in order to time stamp. wake up 3 times a night screaming "I'm going to get an occurance"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Service Specialist (Current Employee), Round Rock, TXJune 5, 2014
Aweomse work environment. Always room to grow within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience does not count towards pay
PSS & BILLING (Former Employee), Hill Country RegionJune 3, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch
Cons: 1 minute late & you are warned & written up.
S&W does not value their employees. The pay is terrible. We are all on poverty level. It is really sad that the biggest healthcare facility in the state of Texas doesn't give raises. I have been here 6 yrs with 1 raise & 1 cut in pay. I can't wait to move out of this area & work for a company that values their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A teaching facility
Manager, Hospital Access Integrated Services (Current Employee), Temple, TXApril 30, 2014
SW is truly a teaching facility for all positions. If you are eager to learn the opportunities will present themselves. A great place to advance in any field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I know being a TEMP wasn't the best but,
Billing and Follow up clerk (Former Employee), Temple, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: birthday calendar, great team environment
Cons: small monitors for working with numbers. backstabbers.
the boss in the Billing and Follow up area fired me three weeks before I had to be out for a MUCH NEEDED ankle surgery, I was thinking I needed a week after then I could be at my desk with my foot propped up, unfortunately they saw it differently. I am curious why train me to do five different jobs then just let me go? So now I have a surgery this week – more... and I am still trying to find a job for afterwards. It's hard enough trying to find a place to live, money to feed my son, and other headaches... But to find out I am not allowed to return to my place of employment because I was honest and told them about my surgery is insane. My boss' boss wanted a letter from the VA (in Temple) saying how long I would be out following my surgery- I can't make the VA doctor stop what he/she was doing and type out a letter for me. And since I was only given a week, originally these two people were only going to give me three days. I have a broken ankle people. Its not easy for me to RUN anywhere to hop, skip and jump to get you a note from someone who is his/her own secretary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Backstabbing and two faced.
Doctor (Former Employee), Waco, TxJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: good people. rewarding jobs.
Cons: ego driven backstabbers.
Now that this facility is S&W, it will only get worse. The Trauma team here is full of great people who bust the tails off everyday. The job is very demanding and rewarding at the same time but do not count on any pats on the back from the Director. The Director here will take credit for everything someone here does and goes running to lets everyone – more... know "they did it" when they had nothing to do with it. Big ego +power trip= disaster waiting to happen. Overall enjoyed this place just could not take the front that the director showed and watching good people get walked all over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUSY/FAST PACED EFFICENT ENVIRONMENT
Laborer (Former Employee), Temple, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: flexible sheduling
Cons: over assignments
GOOD COMPANY, EXCELLENT HEALTH CARE AND QUALITY PATIENT CARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The doctors & nurses are very sweet, patient & helpuf
Patient Service Specialist (Former Employee), Marble FallsSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: benefits/an hour lunch!
Cons: pay is horrible, favoritism, don't put patients first, so quick to turn patients away who have enough money pay but need to be seen.
Very very unorganized place to work for! Not enough team work or professionalism at all! Was there for a little shy if a year & I had 3 different Boss's!!! You must watch you back at the times bc employees(just a few) will back stab you or hurt you if it has do with out if work activities or problems that occurred at of work! I was warned many times – more... but gave them the benefit I the doubt! The Boss is very unprofessional, doesn't give encouragement or praise when needed, last but not least shes never around much to see what we could change to making the patients come first. But if you can continue to work for them, be just a number, no raises or anything, then go for it!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Experience
Data entry (Former Employee), Temple, TXAugust 23, 2013
Pros: employees
Cons: training
Worked reversing and reposting in their accounting area. Was expected to learn in 2 1/2 weeks. Unfortunately many of those in that particular dept are leaving; I can totally understand why. Their systems are antiquated and very far behind. I was not given the attention necessary and did not fit their mold. I truly expected more from this company. Extremely – more... disappointed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work flow
medical assistant (Former Employee), Hewitt, TXMay 30, 2013
Pros: wonderful learning environment
Cons: high cost healthcare
Phlebotomy
- Patient transportation; assisting patients to and from exam rooms;
- obtaining patients vitals accurately ex-height, weight, temperature, blood pressures, on both adult and pediatric;
- EKG’s
- maintaining a sterile work environment / autoclave
- ear washes;
- administering oral and injectable medications;
- maintain temperature logs for – more... medication refrigerator;
- performing minor procedures such as toenail removal, mole and unknown cysts removal;
- suture / staple removal
- keeping exam rooms stocked for patient care;
- patient preparation for Exams
- assist with exams and minor procedures
- Patient Education
- preparing charts
- documenting patient information
- updating patients medical records / medication lists
- able to obtain patient blood sugar levels through glucometer
- perform lab procedures such as; running strep tests, pregnancy testing, wound cx, flu testing, RSV testing, urine testing for UTI's,
- AED logs

start off day by coming in reviewing the daily schedule to see what to expect for the day and if any extra equipment or procedures would need to be set up
worked very well with others and loved doing projects to help the flow of our work area to become smoother – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinic Assistant
OB/GYN (Former Employee), College Station, TXFebruary 12, 2013
It was a stressful busy clinic, but I enjoyed the patients and learning obstetrics. I would definatly go back to Scott and White.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, a lot of work expected for less pay
Pharmacy Team Leader (Former Employee), Temple, Tx.January 7, 2013
Pros: cool fellow employees, benefits good
Cons: expected to work hard, but not get paid for it
I worked for this place for 18 yrs. Dedicated and hardworking. New management comes in and terminates me. I did make some bad decisions, but management never communicated with me. So apparently she wanted me out of the picture. Asked hr for help. They figured they could replace 2 people for 1 of me. Not a great company to work for. really devasting.

February 2, 2013

Do not worry things will open up. In a short time the public and patients will know that this hospital is run by a no caring corporation, not the public face this hospital presents as "we care".

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scott & White Home Care...WATCH YOUR BACK!
Staff Nurse - Field RN (Former Employee), Home Care - Temple, TxJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: autonomy
Cons: too too many chiefs to report to, impossible making them all happy...they all want something different, very inconsistent
Ring of management and staff team leaders are corrupt. Certain team leaders are allowed to mistreat and harass other staff members, even after complaints to upper management. It is well known within the Home Care Department that you must always watch your back. Management will team up on a dime and feed you to the wolves. Having worked at Scott & White – more... for many years and in a variety of departments, I always enjoyed the people I worked with. Home Care was the only exception to this and it was solely because of those few in management and in leadership positions. And unless new leadership replaces that which exists, I would strongly suggest looking elsewhere within Scott & White for employment. – less

February 2, 2013

Watch your back for sure at this place, many are stating about their length of time in service to this place and get the boot. Maybe another job will appreciate you more. Much blessings.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), TempleNovember 9, 2012
Overall a nice place to work.
Excellent benefits.
Good advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but watch your back
Admin Asst/Pt Service Spec (Former Employee), Temple, TXSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: didn't know if you had a secure job or ot
I worked at Scott and White for a total of 17 years. I loved all the different jobs I had. There was plenty of opportunity to grow, learn different jobs, etc., or stay where you were if you enjoyed your job. However, when it came time for layoffs, there was no rhyme or reason who they chose, other than most of the time, they chose the ones who'd been – more... there the longest and laid them off. This last time, I was one of them. – less