Scotts Lawn Service Employee Reviews

Showing all 122 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun to be outside
Lawn Care Technician/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNSeptember 13, 2017
When its hot your working. Whrn its cold(no snow) your working. If its raining(not super heavy) your working. 5 days a week but 550 a week take home was not bad
Pros
You work outside
Cons
Hot and hard work no OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lawn happy place
Lawn Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLSeptember 13, 2017
Cut tree shrubs, lawns, spray. Customer friendly.
I learned alot I know what type of trees and plants and grass each of them are. Hardest part was the sun enjoyable part was I liked working at my own pace.
Pros
Work at your own pace
Cons
It was seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxing
Lawn Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Middletown, PASeptember 12, 2017
Very relaxing job and great people to work with have no supervisor breathing down your next calm and cool place too bad its only a seasonal job but other then tat not a bad place to work at
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYSeptember 12, 2017
Scott's Lawn Service located out of Schenectady, New York is a great company to buy your lawn-care products and services from. They have the best product on the market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment, outdoors, very good training program
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 28, 2017
This was an amazing experience, not only in sales, but in education of a yard and lawn care required. This company also offered advancement and new opportunities throughout the year.
Pros
Self-paced, positive energy
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good until the end
Team lead, Door to door sales (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTAugust 24, 2017
I enjoyed working at Scott's until corporate was bought out by TruGreen. I enjoyed the care my bosses took in advancing my talents, and taking the time out of their day to make sure things were running smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days, always working.
Lawn Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 22, 2017
Good paying job. Steady work. Long days, many hours. Laborious duties, required time outside of work hours ( Weekly planning, ect.) Active job, always up and down due to weather.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales team achievements
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAAugust 16, 2017
This company is no longer in business since June 2016 iwas bought out by another Lawn company name Tru green in July 2016 so I left the company in search of there opportunities
Pros
Great sales team
Cons
Was bought out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place with a ping pong table
Lawn Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 15, 2017
It was a nice place to work at the people were nice management was alright. As long as you ran your route right you were pretty much good and we got all holidays off and got to leave early some days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAAugust 8, 2017
Good company to work for..met good people traveled to work everyday to a up bear atmosphere. Very fun job and easy to learn more everyday from the older workers.
Pros
Good pay, good people
Cons
Weather, lay offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Workplace With Massive Incentives
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJuly 28, 2017
Scott's, now currently Trugreen, was an exciting job opportunity for me. I left the company when they were merging so Im not sure what its like now, but beforehand it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough money
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJuly 24, 2017
Was cool and was a form of income but was not what I would do again. If you dont have a family its cool but if you do dont work this job. Its a good schedule
Pros
Cool people
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned some good sales tactics and met a good group of people.
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Eads, TNJuly 24, 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job was they were like a big family and I have never felt a good family vibe like this on a job and it made it fun to go to everyday.
Pros
great people and good money
Cons
we never got any breaks only one lunch break that was an hr long, and we worked long hrs and on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scotts Lawn Service is a great place to work.
Outside Sales/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  West Chester, OHJuly 5, 2017
I would sell lawn service to residential customers. I learned a great deal of selling skills. The management was great. The workplace culture was good. The hardest part of the job was walking for 7 hours a day. The most enjoyable part of the job was making sales.
All in all it is a great place to work.
Pros
I liked working for Scotts Lawn Service.
Cons
The amount of time I spent walking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Turf Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJune 19, 2017
I had a good time. I was used to doing the same job for less while having to do more. If you're looking for a good seasonal job, I'd recommend sticking it out for a couple weeks.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working over the phone, selling company products
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJune 18, 2017
Good company. Not much flexibility in schedule. Called up existing customers and attempted to sell them other company products, usually seasonal products.
Pros
Nice people to work with.
Cons
Expected to work Saturdays, usually 4-6 hours. Was not paid time and a half when over 40 hours worked in a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you like the outdoors
Lawn Technician (Former Employee) –  Wixom, MIMay 24, 2017
Your day starts early. You are in and out of your truck all day going from customer home to home. Great job if you are one that does not mind working alone. Worse part is being laid off during the winter months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Plain City, OHMay 20, 2017
good company kept the bills paid good work environment felt like family. the typical day would consist of calling current customers and seeing if plans were to be added to imporve the quality of the lawns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect summer job if only it started earlier
Aeration Technician (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJMay 9, 2017
As an aeration technician, I worked 6 am to 6 pm (more like 4:30), driving a company vehicle from house to house. We used and serviced machines to do a relatively simple task. The managers were helpful and understanding, and other employees were mostly well motivated and committed.
Pros
Working at your own relative pace, 3 10-12 hour days allows for a second job
Cons
Gets exhausting and repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned with pleasant environment
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Prince Frederick, MDMay 2, 2017
I was employed for 4 years. My positioned ended solely due to the company being sold. The morals and ethics of the company were solid and fair. Customer satisfaction was always the main focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Scotts Lawn Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 122 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5