Scotts Miracle-Gro Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked how much I learned with this company.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 21, 2016
This was my first time merchandising job. I was able to learn proper reseat procedures. I was taught how to properly display sales promotions. I learned how to conduct proper inventory techniques to maintain enough merchandise. I received , stocked, and displayed merchandise according to store and event layouts. My pallet jack skills were increased significantly.
Pros
Learned alot of new Techniques
Cons
Bird Droppings
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Part-time Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIApril 10, 2016
Scott's is a good company to work for. They have flexible hours and shifts. I like working for them. The people are friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and physical
TSR (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 22, 2016
if you do your job you should be fine. a typical day starts at 7 and finishes when you complete your route. usually a 5 day work week.
management is alright.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
merchandise Specialist
Merchandise Specialist (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILSeptember 21, 2015
I typically used my time growing the brand and increasing the growth of the company. I used negotiation and selling skills to work the customers and the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and safe place to work.
LINE LEADER (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSJune 2, 2015
I worked 8 hour shifts for 5 days a week . Overall, I thought it was safe and fun place to work It was fast-paced and structured.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid career ladder opportunity
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  fieldFebruary 5, 2015
Pros:
lots of personnel changes = new opportunities, opportunities throughout country, solid brands, good bonus program, promotes young talent, good benefits (health, ESOP, tuition reimbursement)

Cons:
job security lacks due to constant flux, CEO unapproachable, not confident in execution of core values and mission statement, teamwork lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people...Tough category...
Vice President (Former Employee) –  OHSeptember 17, 2014
Good people although annual SG&A reduction over the last few years has pushed many out. Work hard/Play hard mentality. Tough category due to registration requirements and state regulations regarding pesticides, water, etc. Becoming more and more discretionary, especially as people have less money. Weather is a huge factor. Innovation is difficult but needed. Strong supply chain network.
Pros
compensation; work/life balance
Cons
culture; management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Idea
Key Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 26, 2014
Its been a few years but I have talked to a few reps that now work for Hershey and its pretty bad. Sales reps are now hourly employees and they basically treat them like garbage. When I was with Hershey we were treated like peasents but not garbage.
Pros
iconic brand
Cons
haloween
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Consumer Good Company
Manager, Global Active Ingredient Sourcing (Current Employee) –  Marysville, OHAugust 5, 2014
Over all a good company to work for. Co-workers are a reason to remain with the organization. Tremendous amount of exposure and experience with cross-functional teams and in areas outside of expertise. Inconsistency in direction and constant change in strategies from leadership make it difficult to complete objectives and advance projects.
Pros
exellent benefits package and cooperate facilities
Cons
poor pay at middle management and below positions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Manager (Current Employee) –  Marysville, OHApril 21, 2014
Very challenging working environment with good co-workers. Lots of constant change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Merchandise Manager (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNOctober 18, 2013
I enjoyed my work and time there. They payed me well got to travel and meet lots of people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work from the get go, The job is what you make it.
Currant Retail Merchandiser and Product Counselor (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARAugust 16, 2013
Pros – Make your own hours.
Good communication from management about store level projects.
A high level of personal customer service.
A great product to represent.

Cons – Can be a dirty job at times.
Most of the other M/Cs are overqualified for the job.
Store and department management can be a pain.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deal with the weather, residential customers and poor management
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLJuly 19, 2013
Somewhat productive workplace. The management effectiveness is very questionable, prepare for a bombardment of instructions via tacky text messages and lame motivational phrases. You will deal with the weather and work Saturdays. The pay is above average but the obstacles and job life/interest does vary. Co- workers are all competitive so don't expect much help, I thankfully got all of the training I needed from a competitor company.
Pros
good pay
Cons
management is dictator style, you will work saturdays, prepare to have the door slammed in your face, must of the presented sales goals are false which burdens reps with unneccesary pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
power lunch break
Merchandiser/Sales (Former Employee) –  33844July 14, 2013
to start off scotts company is a great company ,I have worked with great team workers. also the products scotts sales is best of the best. if you enjoy this there no hard part of the job.thanks to scotts I had great d.m. leaders and regeional s. d .m. top of the day is dropping overhead and gaining increamental displays and interacting with customers and store employes.
Pros
top productsround-up, ortho fire ant killer
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at a steady pace that will fit your lifestyle
Temporary 6 week merchandiser (Former Employee) –  westminster, coloradoMay 26, 2013
Able to balance family and job travel. It is fun to build relationships with associates in the stores we visited.
Pros
work at your own pace
Cons
hard to get product down out of top stock steel
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales job with room for growth
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 23, 2013
A great job for the right person dedicated to the lawn care field
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
with this job I work basically on my own.
Sales and Merchandising (Former Employee) –  FLNovember 29, 2012
I service Home Improvement Stores, I learned to manage my time
to achieve the goals for each Store. The hardest part of the job would
be handling wet bags of garden soils. The most enjoyable part would be customer service, and a job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dynamic environment
Manager, Alliance & Program Management (Current Employee) –  Marysville, OHNovember 21, 2012
Each day presents new challenges. Associates are expected to be entrepreneurial and learn multiple areas within the business
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Marysville, OHJune 12, 2012
Great atmosphere.

Great products.

Great vision.

Nice people to work with.
Pros
outings are great!
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5