SCOTTS Employee Reviews in United States

Found 36 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal temporary job
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Medway, MEJune 27, 2016
Good place if you are between jobs. No way to earn a living or raise a family. people were pretty good.
Pros
good safety
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Forklift Operator /Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth TexasSeptember 3, 2015
Company is very supportive of employees. Great benefits and pay to make sure all employees are taken care of. The co workers are very dependable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will never go back.......
Line Puller (Former Employee) –  Stuttgart, ARSeptember 1, 2015
This is a job for someone right out of school or with no kids or family. Low paying job people are not clean breakroom smiles.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was creepy the people that worked there made me nervous it was my a temp job I've never really had a job before.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Independence, ORAugust 26, 2015
I had no idea what kind of job it was so I didn't know what kind of temp job it was. I didn't really learn anything. I did learn how to use a sealing bag machine. The hardest part was getting potting soil all over me it was a really gross job.
Pros
I got a free drink and the pay was really good.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comunication and not secure job
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Groveland, FLJuly 15, 2015
I was working there for 3 years and they told me to apply for the company and after couples of day they let me go I was doing 2 persons job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not available
Flatbed Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAMarch 24, 2015
In the short time that I worked there, the workers work together to help see that you are successful in doing your job. A great place to work.
Pros
Free soda for not having accidents, and they will work with you if you need a day off because there is a lot of overtime.
Cons
12hrs 7 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The grass is much greener somewhere else!
Inside sales (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILFebruary 28, 2015
Forget everything you know about honesty and integrity when you accept your job offer from Scotts Lawn Service in Elgin. A typical day at work is making about 200+ outbound calls to customers who have previously rejected service or up-selling existing customers. You will be on an automatic dialer talking to people who have already been called and called and called. Management only cares about sales numbers for the day and going golfing. The hardest part of this job is working 70+ hours a week, only getting paid for 40 (besides commission) and never seeing your friends or family. The environment is very deceptive, dog eat dog and you will be thrown under the bus. Lies and false hopes are the norm. The most enjoyable part of this job was the last time i walked out the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work place but interesting
Line operator (Former Employee) –  Jackson, GAFebruary 20, 2015
the work days started early in the morning, work lasted from 6a.m to 5 p.m. The management could be better but the co-workers are very easy going and helpful guys. The hardest part of the job was operating the palletizer.
Pros
great hours and pay
Cons
short breaks, harsh environment
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced office
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, CTOctober 29, 2014
had to pay attention to details, very busy office, great people to work for and with. it was great to work with people from all over.
Pros
great co-worksers and always busy
Cons
dusty
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we had goals to reach everyday and we would be rewarded
sales.tech.estimates (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILAugust 19, 2014
I would load my truck do a pre trip inspection and get all my paper work ready to head out and tried to make the most money every week
Pros
my own work truck
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Merchandizing Rep (Current Employee) –  Central, CTAugust 18, 2014
Great Job, but only seasonal. Great coworkers and good management all around. If you are able to obtain a permanent position with Scotts you will be happy. It is a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management not knowing what they are doing
injection specialist (lead) (Current Employee) –  Temecula, CAAugust 4, 2014
if u want to get terminated after 30 years work for them .u do not need to know the job just kiss some@#$%#
Pros
safty lunch
Cons
they have no idea about maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start out at
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJuly 14, 2014
My day at Scott's was easy and hard. The pay was not great, but that never stopped me from doing my best. I learned how to treat customers, how to run a shift, and how to work with others. My co-workers were kind of lazy and I regularly had to pick up their slack. The hardest part of the job was not all the lifting, but facing items towards the shelf. It was not physically hard, but mentally. It was so boring. The part I liked the most was stocking shelves. I was really good at it.
Pros
great for a starting job
Cons
pay was bad, no anvancement
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Line Worker/ Assembler (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSJuly 7, 2014
Scotts was an ok job but, it was only seasonal. i was basically on call and only learned skills needed to work on a production line.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
CARPENTER (Former Employee) –  Abbeville, SCJuly 5, 2014
Steady work, learned how to roof and carpentry work, owner willing to teach new skills, enjoyed learning how to be proficient in roofing and carpentry.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good college job
Store Representative (Former Employee) –  txJune 25, 2014
Pays good for a college student and hours are flexible. You do have to travail to surrounding cities to go over each stores inventory and to restock but in all not to bad.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
a lot of driving
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a starting job
production (Current Employee) –  Fort Madison, IAMay 27, 2014
Great place to learn great work ethic but has no room for improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Store Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 28, 2014
A wonderful company. I ayloved working for them and wish I could have stayed.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MSMarch 24, 2014
it was ok, team players and hard workers who valued there job. knew how to treat customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what was expected
RETAIL SALES MERCHANT AND PRODUCT COUSNELOR (Current Employee) –  East Bay, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Early starts, 14 hour days then too many days off with no work.
no schedule in place from management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SCOTTS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6