Scripps Health Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 201 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Food Services Worker (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJune 23, 2016
i really enjoy working at scripps my co-workers were great team always working as a team.
i enjoy working helping patients with their needs that make me rally happy put smiling faces in their faces
when i take their trays i always did my best helping others
Pros
best co-workers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant work place
Food Service Partner (Current Employee) –  Encinitas, CAJune 20, 2016
False advertisement, not a great place to work at all even though they make it seem like its the best health care provider to work for in orientation. My department is short staff every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scripps Health
Technical Coordinator/BRPT Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 18, 2016
Scripps Health is an amazing company to work for. They take care of their employees and have a great benefits system for their employees. Unfortunately, due to changing health care systems they were no longer able to maintain the outpatient Sleep Disorders Center at Scripps Mercy. I was very sad to see it go. But I look forward to new challenges assisting in patient care in any environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Him
Operation Supervisor-HIM (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJune 16, 2016
Great place to work, there are a lot of perks and breaks you get working for scripps. Very hard to move up or grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was more concerned about ratings then the employees they worked with.
PBX operator (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAMay 9, 2016
Overall ratings of job performances for managers and the hospital in general seemed to overshadow the concerns of employees. Some managers and supervisors had their own "clicks" with special privileges offered to employees in those circles.
Pros
Good health benefits
Cons
Worked on many holidays because it was a hospital, missing out on family gatherings.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 6, 2016
All the co-Workers were amazing and always willing to help you learn more. Very clean cut and stuck to the code. Always willing to let you branch out and experience more.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical office
Pediatrics CSR, Medical Records- dept clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 4, 2016
I liked everything about Scripps. The hours, people, co-workers, pay rate and benefits. I enjoy helping people like myself. I like patients to enjoy visiting the doctors office and not feel like they are a burden.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Diet Clerk (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMay 1, 2016
Learn valuable food service as well as people skills. At Scripps, you learn to respect patient confidentiality and prioritize work for patient satisfaction.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Limited advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite job. Love working with the public. Great doctors and nurses
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAApril 15, 2016
Required a lot of multi-tasking: answering phones, taking messages, scheduling appointments for patients on the phone and in the waiting room, submitting orders to Ancillary Schedulling, collecting co-pays. Never a dull moment!
Pros
Great benefits, especially the healthcare plans. Vacation and sick time combined into PTO (personal time off)
Cons
Salary was inadequate
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office with lots of work, never bored.
Sr. Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 8, 2016
A typical day at work would be to design a conference brochure, a save the date for that conference, flyers, signs, agendas, medical posters, and yes all in one day.

I've learned to multi-task, to be organized, efficient and ready for any deadline.

I'm self motivated so I did not require much management but was always open to any suggestion.

Liked all of my co-workers and never had any complaints.

The most enjoyable part of my job was designing something new and having people like the end result.
Pros
The benefits Scripps provides.
Cons
I love to work so I really don't have any complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Very Good Benefits
Director, Medical Management (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 1, 2016
Hard working, well intentioned individuals are what creates a good working environment at Scripps. The benefit package for full time employees is rich and diverse with options such as home, auto, and pet insurance. Prepaid legal plan is also available.
Pros
Work/life balance events such as movie prescreening
Cons
Technology late adopter
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Besides the management! Scripps is Great!!
Phlebotomist/Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMarch 19, 2016
I absolutely love working for Scripps Health. I work with a passion and love to help people everyday! People come in at the worst state of health and walk out a whole new person, beaming with new life! Benefits are great, especially for families, great incentives for employees. Great Hospitals with that provide great health care to all.
Management needs to be retrained to work by the "Scripps" way. It's all about the "Great Place to Work Scores" and will kiss butt to employees to get good scores, management doesn't listen to employees that have great ideas to improve the work area and work flow. Management and fairness are not hand & hand. If Only our CEO would really know what his non-management employees are treated.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Supervisors & Management !!
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scripps is a great place to work
Registered Nurse, Prescription Refill Center (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMarch 17, 2016
Scripps Health encourages and helps their employees to advance in their careers and provide many opportunities to learn and grow. Management are always very professional and the employees are happy to be part of such a great healthcare system.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scripps Health is an amazing company to work for.
MyScripps Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 8, 2016
Scripps Health honors their employeess and has a great focus on making sure the patients are well taken care of. Scripps is a wonderful company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable Hospital
Medical Social Worker (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 5, 2016
Scripps Health is in the top 20 great places to work. The hospital provided an array of healthcare services. Social work provides social emotional support and resources referrals to patients and families.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The experience of working in acute care is awesome but the amount of money paid to CNA's by Scripps is just not enough to live in San Diego.
Certified Nursing Assistant Float-Pool (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAMarch 2, 2016
This is a company based on making and keeping their money. The work is hard work for the amount of money they pay the CNA's. To make it worse, being on Float Pool, you are not always treated well by the other departments when you work in their department. The departments are very segregated, making it very uncomfortable, especially as a new employee. There is a lot of favoritism and nothing is done about it, even when addressed.
There are some good nurses but for the most part, there is not really a lot of teamwork. Having a lazy RN makes your job harder, you may have 10 patients with anywhere between 3-6 nurses to work for. And they all want you taking care of their patients as if you only work for them, personally. When they may have 2-4 patients. The RN's have to spend a lot of time charting, so the CNA is mainly taking care of the patients and the RN is just giving medications.
Many of the CNA's have to work other jobs, even the ones that have been with the company over 20 years. That says a lot. It is hard to imagine working for a company that long, full time, and needing another job.
They do not offer higher education for the CNA's. They only reimburse $1,500.00 a year and offer scholarships for employees working at least a year with the company.
You have to pay for your insurance on top of getting a low pay check. They offer free insurance after a year and you need to enroll in this Wellness program that is time consuming to get the 100 points needed to get free insurance, the following year. And not to mention, no discounts on the cafeteria. You pay what the
  more... public pays.
They do not give reviews or raises except for in October, no matter when you start, and they seem to leave that out when you get the job.
So, to sum it up, as a CNA working for Scripps, your first year can basically have you homeless if you are trying to go to school and work for them, as a single person. You will be exhausted and broke, but have your acute care experience, unless you always work in there "Sitting" cases. You will spend 12 hrs sitting with one patient! They seem to do that a lot to new employees.
Scripps has a high turnover because all of these facts aren't known until you start working for them.
There are many other hospitals that pay better in San Diego, I would only come to Scripps if you could financially afford it and only needed the experience. If you have kids and a family to support, do yourself a favor and look elsewhere so you can survive!
  less
Pros
The experience of being able to work in all departments, and meeting some good people who love taking care of their patients just as you do.
Cons
Pay is low, no base pay, not enough hours, segregation within the company, and no stepping paths for CNA's to grow within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level 1 trauma hospital
Certified Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 28, 2016
Enjoy many of the doctors and staff. I would like to see change in the structure of the OR and how things are done. SPD needs to be managed better and the flow of the OR.
Pros
Extra call
Cons
Structure
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management Culture
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego County, CAFebruary 23, 2016
Life during an Epic implementation is understandably busy but the culture here is growing fairly oppressive and difficult. Micro management is the new rule here for the applications group. Many good employees, many new employees are a real positive. The newer management people are in it for themselves, this is just more resume padding.
Pros
Benefits, company is a good organization doing good things
Cons
Local IS department is not healthy
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Perioperative Service Partner (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 12, 2016
The majority of my interactions with employees of all departments have been positive. Everyone seems friendly and interested in providing a high standard of care.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Advanced Practice Nurse Imaging Services (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 4, 2016
Scripps has provided me with a great environment to grow in. They support advanced education and support staff to succeed.
Pros
Supportive environment
Cons
Not able to work to extent of my ability
Was this review helpful?YesNo5

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 201 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9