SDSU RESEARCH FOUNDATION Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is great with plenty of opportunities to try new things, but lacks consistency and positive reinforcement.
former employee (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 29, 2016
A typical day starts on time with a continuous flow of work that will challenge anyone to do their best and accomplish all tasks in a timely manner. I learned to work with a variety of low, mid and upper management to help them accomplish their goals for the fiscal year. The hardest part of the job was to provide the service necessary for each team when processes, lack of documentation and integrity of messaging was inconsistent and often changed in the moment to benefit the manager and to the discredit of the administrative support staff. The most enjoyable part of the job was to work with very talented staff and the sense of community exhibited in meetings.
Pros
Great place to learn, talented staff, wonderful benefits, old school ways of work
Cons
Poor Administrative, processes, documentation storage, managers look for faults and errors, ignores what works, not open to change.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive people
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 13, 2016
Most enjoyable part is their are no fix job hours that you have to come at 9 and work for 8 hours. The only thing that has importance is work and not how it is done.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 11, 2016
I love school and this required me to learn so much more. It was great and then progessor was awesome. I do not regret it for a second. Wahoo
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and friendly workspace.
Administrative Assistant Support I (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 16, 2015
I wish I had more job duties that were challenging, and I was able to really show what I could do. But as for that I miss working there.
Pros
Great benefits and retirement plan.
Cons
Laid off because of budget cuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lab Lead/Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAJuly 12, 2015
• Specimen collection, including phlebotomy
• Processing and shipping lab samples
• Maintain all lab equipment, including sterilization
• Maintain all lab temperature logs
• Maintain and change out sharps containers
• Maintain all budget, lab supplies and inventory logs
• Purchase all lab supplies
• Set up phlebotomy rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, but unreliable project funding
Project Assistant - STAKE Act (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 20, 2014
I have worked here for 8 years. Now all of a sudden, our grant is ending and will not be renewed. This has been a threat since I started working here (including a brief 2 week period of unemployment before our grant was renewed and we were rehired), so it has been stressful not knowing if I will have a job from year to year. Other than that, the people are great, the benefits are wonderful, and my salary is nothing to complain about. If SDSURF had more job openings (preferably with better job security), I would love to stay working at this organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's better if you have a manager position.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  San DiegoApril 1, 2012
Very few people get medicial benefits. And it takes a long time to be considered a full-time employee.
Pros
discount on my verizon bill
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can learn a lot from working
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  School of NursingOctober 21, 2014
I learn much knowledge and skills from working, such as ECG, MATLAB, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  SAN DIEGO CAMay 29, 2014
Was staying focus & on the same pages as your peers, and upper managament.
Pros
security
Cons
team work
Was this review helpful?Yes6No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geotechnical Laboratory
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 6, 2013
A lot of flexibility in research projects, but lacking in conviction.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San DiegoFebruary 2, 2013
Worked as Research Assistant part time.

Great place to work and learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

SDSU RESEARCH FOUNDATION Reviews by Location