Sea Mar Community Health Centers Employee Reviews

Showing all 83 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Environment
Call Center Specialist (Current Employee) –  Burien, WAJune 21, 2017
Very fast paced, can be stressful at times. Fast paced is good though as your day does go by pretty fast.I enjoyed the employees and compensation was really good. You received a full paid vacation day every time you got paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Hard work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, WAJune 13, 2017
Working for SeaMar was a great yet challenging experience. At SeaMar you work with the heart of the community by providing care to all regardless of culture or insurance. There, you will experience pediatrics, geriatrics, chronic pain, diabetics and more while doing what is necessary to help them achieve their care. This is a busy environment, so i would suggest strong coffee and good shoes. Its was not uncommon for my pedometer to read 10,000+ steps per day, however, i enjoyed this about SeaMar. I loved being busy. Here, not only will you encounter the nicest patients, there are some hard ones too, so being ready to take the brunt of an upset patient is important here and in the medical field period. This is a great place to work, great benefits, good training and great compensation.
Pros
union, benefits and pay
Cons
Short to no breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work.
Psychiatric NP (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAMay 23, 2017
This is the best place to work. Managers really care and are knowledgeable about the business. Entry level jobs allow anyone to gain experience. Professional development is supported.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lacey, WAMay 10, 2017
We strive to work as a team so we can be efficient in quality patient health care. We always have communication between Medical Assistants, and Providers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Underpaid
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 5, 2017
Sea Mar's mission to help under-resourced marginalized people is a passionate mission that I enjoyed working with for nearly 10 years. It can be challenging to navigate Sea Mar's antiquated culture and the fact that they micromanage staff, underpay them and have fairly rigid productivity expectations.
Pros
Clinics are closed on 5 de Mayo
Cons
Often short staffed, high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trash
Dental Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMay 3, 2017
Sea Mar is a trash place to work. The staff is messy, the management is messy and it's very stressful. Other than having some awesome providers to work with, that's the only thing I miss about that place.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, overwotked
Medical Assistant (Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 27, 2017
SeaMar's mission is great, and I love what they are trying to provide to the community that cannot afford medical care but I do believe that they should try to take care of their employees just the same. They are under-staffed and extremely stretched out on work-load. It is a great place as a beginner and get experience but due to their lack of help on employment advancement, it is not a place where you can continue to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAApril 25, 2017
Overall great place to get experience. Great co-workers and environment. Great Benefits but the immediate supervisor in my dept leaves a lot to be desired.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Immediate Supervisor sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people doing important work despite unresponsive and distant management.
Integration Specialist (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, WAApril 20, 2017
Sea Mar is doing a lot of good work for thousands of people. The people who work there are largely dedicated and frankly are often in the same SES situatiions as their clients. Sea Mar management is highly focused on Seattle despite being a statewide company and is much more focused on appearance than on employee welfare or customer service. Overall it is an okay place to work but it has high turnover because Sea Mar always strives to meet the minimum for their employees, the middle of the road for their patients, and excellence in expanding their reach. Obviously the order of those priorities needs to be adjusted.
Pros
forgiving schedule
Cons
archaic dress code, low pay for the industry, distant management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and awesome company to work for.
Call Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burien, WAApril 3, 2017
like all jobs slow days but long days too, i learned a lot i also applied what i learned in school medical related, the hardest part of the job was keeping the volume of the calls in the normal,
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and growing
Phlebotomy Technician Extern (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAApril 1, 2017
Sea Mar services mostly those under the poverty line and because of this does not always have the most up to date, top of the line technology to service its patients, but it's definitely a company willing to let people climb! Recommended as a starting spot
Pros
good management, willing to work with you
Cons
patient complaints about wait times, not paid as well as other places
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, WAMarch 7, 2017
Worked for Sea Mar for over two years, Co-Workers and Patients Challenged me to become a better Employee and a better Person and for that I am very thankful.
Pros
good work site
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to volunteer
Patient Care Coordination Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMarch 6, 2017
Sea Mar Community Health Center is a community-based organization committed to providing quality, comprehensive health and human services to our communities, specializing in service to
people with basic insurance plans.

Good thing about working for Sea Mar is that you see a fast paced
professional clinic where you can learn as much as you can
in a short periods of time. Patients come seeking care and cure and
the staff are always helpful.
Pros
a great place to learn about community healthcare system.
Cons
Staff are over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for newbies trying to gain some experience
Dental Assistant II / Front Desk (Current Employee) –  WashingtonFebruary 18, 2017
Overall, horrible place to work. You'll meet great people and make friends possibly but poor management. Lots of favoritism. Basically if you don't like kissing as this is not the right workplace for you. Pay is also not the best. Benefits and paid time off are great though. Good place to get your foot in the door for entry level employees but I definitely would not recommend this workplace as a long term career.
Pros
Benefits, Pto
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great WIC program run by an excellent manager.
WIC Program Assistant Bilingual (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 9, 2017
The department was run by a talent dietician nutritionist , and a caring and helpful staff. Our manager will give us a short ten minute meeting prior opening to the public, to touch basis with informative news, personal lives matters, and expectation for the day. Very caring staff that showed respect to their peers and to all clients.
Pros
parking, and flexible hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High need, low resources
Therapist Intern (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJanuary 27, 2017
If you want to serve an underserved population and get lots of clinical experience it's a good place to work. Many of the patients are high need and unfortunately the agency is limited in their resources. This is great for getting experience just make sure you have an exit plan when you meet your professional goals.
Pros
Serving the underserved community
Cons
Intense level of care
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Pediatric Dentist (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 25, 2017
Sea Mar's patients are excellent to provide care for. The doctors and staff are highly trained, qualified, and a fantastic group of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Camas, WAJanuary 14, 2017
If you like doing 30 patients and more than 100 referrals a day and no one to help you this is your place of work. The management team is a joke sit in there office and watch you and not even help. Training is a joke as well. The other MA's don't want to train you and they are so rude about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding place to work
Nurse Manager (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJanuary 11, 2017
Good place to work if you are dedicated to helping underprivileged population. A regular work day is 8am - 5pm Monday through Saturday. Saturdays is usually an urgent care day.
Pros
one hour lunch breaks, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity to gain experience
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, WAJanuary 3, 2017
Large company with patient goals. Colleagues were supportive and incredibly knowledgeable, but management cared more for meeting numbers than provider satisfaction or quality patient care. It is a great resource to uninsured patients. Overall I am very happy to have been a part of this organization, but my job satisfaction skyrocketed as soon as I moved on.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sea Mar Community Health Centers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4

Sea Mar Community Health Centers Reviews by Location