Searles Valley Minerals Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Department
"Maintenance Department" Reliability Technician (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAJanuary 4, 2016
Maintenance department is in a transition. The retirement of employees and decline of salaries will create a short fall of quality of product produced. The decline in equipment responsibility will overall once again create a short fall in product quality.
Pros
No supervision
Cons
No company growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very satisfied about the postion, and made a decision to finish my career nearer my children, who are all in Louisville, KY.
Mining Operations Leader Brine Pumping (Former Employee) –  Trona, CAOctober 22, 2015
Strong middle management team.
Good teamwork at management level.
Minimal red tape, focused on Safety and Productivity and meeting customers' needs.
Allowed me to lead with my style.
Pros
Provided goals, direction, but let me lead in my style.
Cons
Location, 2, 000+ miles from my children and remote location in the Southern California desert mountains.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Supervisor at a Chemical Processing Plant
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAAugust 8, 2015
Make calls about the overall performance of the machinery overnight. Then plan manpower for the days repairs. Go to morning meeting to discuss the status of the plant and plan accordingly. Go to planning meeting for the two - three week out schedule and parts inventory. Afternoon meeting to discuss the repairs needed for nightshift repairs. Have meetings with the workforce and share expectations and demands for the repairs needed to keep machinery running at an optimum level. Treat the men with respect to get the best overall performance from the men. The hardest part of the job is the long hours required with job, which takes me away from the best part of the job, being in the field inspecting the work being done by the men and instilling perfection on the job.
Pros
Free overtime meals, Matched 401K up to 6%
Cons
Overtime required due to machinery fatigue and failure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Control Room Operator Master Technicain (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAAugust 7, 2015
great pay, great place to work.good people, great job. Room to grow fast pace. great management staff. Only down fall is the location.
Pros
good people, great job
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job to learn basics
Lake Environmental Specialist (Former Employee) –  Trona, CAJune 11, 2015
Dismantled and worked on vehicles and equipment,. Operated many types of equipment. Operated heavy equipment and learned electrical wiring installation and hydraulics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Experience
Instrumentation Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Trona CAJune 8, 2015
A Great Company. Friendly staff and management. Great Benefits and Pay. Breaks are given, which is nice.
The Shifts are not too long and no night shift. Co Workers are knowledgeable and Friendly.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new to do.
Plant Support Specialist B (Former Employee) –  Trona, CAMay 13, 2015
The people there are always nice and will help you with any task you don't know how to do. the management is great. I learn how to run heavy machinery and work on them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VEry hardworking job enviorment
Operations Technician (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAFebruary 3, 2015
The hardest part I had with this job was that I was required to be away from my family for multiple days on end. Other than that I have learned some amazing job and life skills that I have continued to use in my current job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Plant Operator/ Board Operator (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAOctober 5, 2014
My job is pretty simple. At least to me it is. A typical day is usually easy. Some days are hard but, most are not. Working here is not bad. It could be better but, its not to bad. Management needs a little help understanding the importance of employee moral but, its probably like that in many places. There is a lot of infighting, he said she said garbage but, don't get involved in that and you'll do just fine.
Pros
you can make a pretty good living here.
Cons
your family wont see you very much so, hug them babies!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, continual learning experience.
Senior Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Trona, CASeptember 3, 2014
Typical day- Delegate work load to employees, make sure everyone has proper protective equipment. Have a meeting to answer any questions about the work load for the day.
I have learned many things with this company. You can continually learn as long as you apply yourself.
Management currently is not on the right track, I believe that they are working toward something better.
You are only as good as the people around you, your co-workers mean a lot, they can help you through whatever rough times you are having weather it be at home or at work.
Your job can always be enjoyable as long as you continue to stay motivated and encouraging.
Pros
work with your schedule, good people.
Cons
doesn't respect older workforce, trying to push them out the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard but fare
Environmental Technician (Former Employee) –  Trona, CAJuly 2, 2014
it was very hot hard work but very filling. good pay great hours. I would go back in a heart beet.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
INSTRUMENTATION TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Trona, CaMay 29, 2014
Hot and dirty place to work. Management is always rushing jobs. Not any room to advance within the company unless you are part of the "Good O'l Boy" Club.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very independent work situation
Production / Operations Technician (Former Employee) –  Trona, CAMarch 6, 2014
conducted quality analysis, controlled production machinery and production rates of chemicals, operated, maintained, and serviced production equipment, complied with all OSHA guidelines, followed safety practices and procedures... will explain more with interview.
Pros
great salary
Cons
long hours with rotating shifts from day to night
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No culture, decent pay
Tech (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAFebruary 19, 2014
The pay is ok for a remote location like this, but then again, could be better because it is so remote. Management only talks about how the budget will be cut and very little interaction otherwise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good paying job with decent benefits.
MATERIAL HANDLING TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Trona, CAJanuary 9, 2014
A general day would be go into our work area start up the machines that packed bags full of product.We would check all the information passed down to us from the other shift and on the work orders. Our job was to keep our bag packing line running as much as we could.

I would have to say that i learned how the industrial side of business works. Also all about work orders, bag packing machines,and all that has to do with rail car movement.

I would have to say management needed some work in there organizing. Other than that they were okay.

My co-workers were decent they helped me and i helped them. I had no real issue with any of the people i worked with.

The hardest part of my job was being on your feet for twelve hours. It wasn't just standing it was bending, reaching, and stair climbing. On top of that if something broke down that could cause you more work having to walk back and forth to test and get things to fix the problem.

I would say the part of my job that i liked the most was the troubleshooting and figuring things out. The experience i get from that will benefit me for life.
Pros
good pay, and benefits
Cons
moral was low and lack of organization
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very busy place to work
Lake Operations Technician (Current Employee) –  Trona, CADecember 5, 2013
Great place to work, real family orientated. Job security is very high here. Management is really hands on. The most difficult part of the job is the shift work. The best part of the job is the benefits. Co-workers are generally real easy to get along with
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work, yet appreciated the sense of responsibility
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Trona, CAOctober 11, 2013
I oversaw a particular area of the plant where we produced soda ash. I would grab product samples for the lab, check over equipment to make sure it was running correctly. If something wasn't running properly I would call in the repair for maintenance to take care of and then I would lock it out accordingly. If it was a minor repair I would fix it myself. I kept track of enviromental equipment to make sure everything was with in parameters. I was very busy on a regular work day. Climbing several flights of stairs on each round to check my area. I lifted and used valve wrenches to open and close valves to control the flow of product from one area or pump to another. My work schedule was 4 days on 4 days off and the shifts were 12 hours long.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Plant Techician (Former Employee) –  Trona, CASeptember 24, 2013
Plants have been there for a long time with the same Management in place.
Pros
decent pay check
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent employment in a remote area.
Senior Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Trona, CASeptember 7, 2013
The company continues to travel toward a destination that is secret. Little or no opportunities for advancement.
Pros
decent job in a remote area.
Cons
continually declining employee rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere exciting place to work.
Leadman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Trona CaAugust 24, 2013
Supervised a shift of 12 operators, 3 maintenance journeymen, an electrician and an instrument man. My responsibility was to operate a soda ash plant that produced 1500 tons per 12 hour shift. I was responsible for troubleshooting the process, meeting quality specifications, assigning tasks, cleaning process equipment that tripped and returning it to service, and preparing and locking out failed equipment for repair. I also assisted in safety awareness and monitoring for environment compliance. I have over 3 years’ experience in Foxboro control room operations and SPC interpretation. Experienced with working with, centrifugal pumps, compressors, bag houses, conveyor belts and screws, dryers, steam systems, flue bed dryers, wet scrubber’s, strippers, Co2 Mea processes and Electrostatic precipitator systems
Pros
great management team
Cons
hot days in the field
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture