Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,370 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears is hurting their sales associates
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schererville, IN then Massapequa,NYApril 18, 2014
Pros: management, co-workers, the products we sold
Cons: healthcare stunk if you were part time.
We sell appliances and we have to constantly take exams to learn about the new appliances coming out. During my time at Sears I had a great time learning about the products. I had a great manager and the greatest co-workers. I did not want to leave but I did not like the direction that sears turned to which really hurts their sale associates. The hardest – more... part of the job was cleaning the appliances and moving them around. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you had a good day. This job you got paid on commission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very developed LP program
Loss Prevention (Former Employee), MidwestApril 18, 2014
Several opportunities at all levels within the company. Good training program and accountability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work place
District Administrator/Office Manager (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTApril 18, 2014
Pros: the freedom to manage the office to my standards
Cons: the knowledge that there is no room for growth and progress in possition
A typical work day contains of Processing sales to installation and completion the jobs and all relatated paper work. Analyzing sales commisions, preparing settlements, paying installers. Communicating with customers. Resolving issues related to install project, billing issues and rebates.
I have learned to organize and manage the office to a high level – more... of effiencienty. I was able to take total control over my work.I enjoyed working with all my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my work was the pasion I felt for it and wanted to be the best I can and more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Customer Support Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 18, 2014
Nice place to work, pay isn't great, but a wonderful group of people to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, felt like I was rewarded for doing a good job.
Lead Support Specialist (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioApril 18, 2014
Pros: work environment, co-worker, benefits and the appreciation.
Cons: job down sided
A typical day was coming to work and performing my job to the best of my ability.

I learn about Human Resources, training fellow co-workers and customer service skills.

Management was great, was able to talk to them and they would talk to you.

I had great co-workers, was always there to help you if needed assistant.

The hardest part of job was not – more... being able to keep doing it.

The most enjoyable of my job was traveling and training on new system. I love doing Human Resources and special projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee), Clovis, CAApril 18, 2014
Pros: it was an exciting job to learn with important responsibilities.
Cons: the pay and benefits as a part-time employee were not appealing.
A typical day at Sears was providing surveillance and security for the store via CCTV and patrolling undercover. Other responsibilities included apprehending shoplifters, writing reports, high merchandise inventory, and other miscellaneous duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WITH MY TEAM MEMBERS
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee), Allentown, PAApril 18, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: pay rate too low
Acted as a team member of the loss prevention team to make sure that he percentage of loss items stayed as low as possible. I learned and refined my analytical skills, learned to work with multiple team members. I enjoyed this position and looked forward to working every day. The hardest part of this job was keeping an eye on every person that came – more... into the store to make sure that we have as minimal loss as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears Review
Inventory control coordinator (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 18, 2014
Sears outlet was constantly changing signage. So my job was to keep the store signs presentable and accurate. merchandise the product to look advertising and make sure appliances had enough descriptions for the customer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was agreat place to learn about the automotive industry.
Service Writer (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 18, 2014
Pros: promotion
Cons: store closed
I opened and closed store. I supervised auto mechanics. I sold tires and batteries. I was promoted from an auto tech to sales writer. I was given the chance to advance while working for Sears Automotive Center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work, Energetic
Dept. Sales Lead/Supvr (Current Employee), Silver Spring, MDApril 17, 2014
Interesting place to work. Requires good customer service skills. Hardest part sometimes is not enough manpower for the tasks on hand, high turnover. Most enjoyable part is the hardworking team of co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice surrounding to work in
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 17, 2014
Pros: bought us breakfast on black friday
Cons: selling credit
Open register
Close Register
Be able to work in different cash wraps of the store
Have a loud clear voice and always smile
Know how to do layaways, returns, and exchanges
Know how to put money on gift cards

Overall it was a great experience and a great team to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First time job
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 17, 2014
Pros: employee benefits full\part time
Cons: short breaks
I learned how to help people from all walks of life. How to work under pressure also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a very fun place to work.
Sales Consultant in Large Appliances (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSApril 17, 2014
Pros: pot luck lunches, winning free lunches, and making extra money for selling 5 year protection agreements.
Cons: breaks were to short, and health care benefits are too high.
A typical day at Sears. Opening 3 registers, an Appliance Count, Morning Rally Meeting, Selling Merchandise. From day to day, you could learn a lot about the Appliances being sold, new merchandise coming in, different benefits of the Appliances, and learning new Selling Techniques. Management, for the most part was Great. The Store Mngr, was very knowledgeable – more... of all Departments, my Dept. Mngr was a little timid at times. As for co-workers, there were 3 Full Timers there 35 year plus when I first started. I learned a lot from them, to the point I became the top seller for about 3 years in a row. The hardest part of my job was dealing with Cancelations, Returns, and Delivery Issues. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and creating a Customer for Life. This job has really helped me,working with and speaking to the public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are very understanding
Jewelry Consultant (Current Employee), Media, PAApril 17, 2014
A typical day is pretty much smooth. Customers are nice for the most part. My managers were very understanding of certain schedules and with new associates training. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a happy customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, Secure Company
Sales and Customer Service (Former Employee), Hanover, MAApril 17, 2014
Pros: free training
One of the best retailers one could work for. If there were a Sears Store within reasonable distance, would be working for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working their part of the time.
Home Decorator Consultant (Former Employee), Brooklyn Center, MNApril 17, 2014
Pros: the hours was good.
Cons: need to improve on benfits.
Check area for empty space on shelves and refill.
The different type of mattress and sleep comfort.
At the time working their the management was poor.
I loved working with my co-workers, they made the job enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corprate
Store Manager (Former Employee), OregonApril 17, 2014
Retail and Customer service based. Very team oriented the time that is spent on conference calls can be better used to train employees on product knowledge and overall guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hire and Fire
Cashier (Former Employee), Johnstown, PAApril 17, 2014
Did not like my experience of working for Sears. I was given minimal hours and when I started a new job I intended to keep Sears but they refused to work around my other schedule which was providing me with full-time work, so I quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
In-Home Delivery & Installation (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 16, 2014
Enjoyed my time at sears and was unfortunate that we had to come to a mutual seperation but great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 16, 2014
Pros: ?
Cons: work schedule, benefits, pay
Worked there for 20 plus years. Saw many changes. Company went down when purchased by Eddie Lampert ( Kmart)

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more