Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,184 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little to no Overnite travel. lnfrastructure suffers due to financial performance
In Home Services Technical Manager (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 17, 2014
Pros: great techs. immediate supervisors were engaged with us.
Cons: no wage increases after 3 years. this is based on the companies financial performance, which is not good.
Many 10+ hour days in a Salaried position. My Peers were all great people to work with. My Direct supervisor was very engaged in the day to day activities. The most enjoyable part was working with the technicians. A good group that really cares about the customers. The hardest part was dealing with outdated equipment and vehicles that were constantly – more... breaking down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another day at sears
Lead Human Resources/Office (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 17, 2014
Pros: healthcare, decent pay, close to home
Management is overworked and not paid well enough. Store is full of bad attitudes. Vacation time is limited and holiday work is required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow work pace
Certified Sales (Current Employee), Hicksville, NYNovember 17, 2014
• Greet and assist customers with inquiries about products
• Assist customers with pricing of merchandise and available options for paying for the same
• Provide customer service by responding to phone inquiries and completing phone sales
• Collect and process customer transactions for purchase (credit, cash, check)
• Establish prices of goods and tabulate – more... total amount due for merchandise
• Issue receipts, refunds, credits, or change due to customer
• Calculate total payments received during a period of time and reconcile with total sales
• Provide support to other staff members to complete duties and responsibilities – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exhausting, lots of work
A & E Factory Service In-Home Technician (Former Employee), Medford, ORNovember 17, 2014
Pros: good pay, hard work
Cons: no local supervisor
The day started out on a computer, looking at the route made for me that day. I learned tolerance, as most people were upset with sears. Management was poor. We were directed by an out of town person only worried about completes and sales. My co-workers were mostly very good. Willing to help on difficult jobs. Hardest part of the day was after 4 pm. – more... Company had a habit of adding up to 3 service calls before I could go home. Most enjoyable part was getting the customer to relax after I had repaired the problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work palce
Shoe Salesman (Former Employee), York, PANovember 17, 2014
Pros: 15% off everything i bought at sears.
Cons: short breaks
The job was a great place to work with lots of hard work also involved. I was taught how to sell shoes and work the cash register and what to do in the stock room to get the shoes out. The co workers were great and so were the management. The hardest part of the job was looking for the specific shoe the customer wanted back in the stockroom full of – more... shoes. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the customers satisfied once finding the shoes that they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDNovember 16, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: benefit plans
I build my position as a hard working person, it was tough with many competitive at my store and other managers in different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced financially driven company.
Strategic Development Manager (Current Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILNovember 16, 2014
Pros: rapid advancement
Cons: very tough business
SHC is a very fast paced and financially driven company. It is a great place to work for people who want to move up and learn a lot in a short amount of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solve customers issues
SENIOR CUSTOMER SOLUTIONS ADVOCATE (Current Employee), Round Rock, TXNovember 16, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: to much vto
I enjoy working with people. I learned that customer are not made at you / its only when they are promised something and can't get it / that when I give the a solution to there problem
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if EXTREMELY desperate should you apply here
Overnite (Former Employee), DoylestownNovember 16, 2014
I understand that we all have to work and if you are desperate, you take whatever you can.
That being said, This place ranks at the bottom, not just close to the bottom but THE BOTTOM.
I find that the reviews that were positive were written by Sears/Kmart management.
To start with, the store is old, years past its need for remodeling.
This also holds – more... true for the way the management dresses 60s/70s style), the carpets in the office are soiled and old.
You wouldn't be surprised if by the way they treat this place that this would close tomorrow but apparently due to the area, it remains open.
At 7.25 an hour, your pay is garbage, where as Target gives you more of a pay increase for working overnite and a bigger team to work with. There can be 15 to 20 overnite at Target and 3 at this KMart.
The attitude of those that work overnite is of one whose life is filled with pain and problems.
I hated this job so much that I would deliberately show up hours late and still didn't get fired.
Think about this, you get paid somewhere around 200 dollars a week to work here. Are they serious? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home away from Home
Fine Jewelry Consultant (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 15, 2014
This was my home away from home due to the fact I loved my job and my customers. I looked forward to going to work even on the toughest days because I knew I had a staff that would back me up. Management was so down to earth and easy to express yourself too. A staff that gave you a helping hand and a smile everyday!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alot of fun, had parties once in awhile
Stock/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Saugus, MANovember 15, 2014
Pros: parites
Cons: shortened hours
although I had to travel to get to this job, I liked working for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Key Carrier (Current Employee), Hillsboro, OHNovember 15, 2014
Pros: the environment
Cons: need more full time positions
laid back fast paced work style. Easy to get along with manager who are willing to work with you on any problems that you may have. Overall delightful work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Hardware/Sporting Goods Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 15, 2014
Pros: work hours, competitive pay
I started off as a part time sale's associate with a great management team and co-workers. Everyone I worked with was willing to help train and show me how to do things the right way and also position myself to move forward in the company. The work hours were flexible and the pay was competitive. Although there were times where help was needed in other – more... parts of the store by associates that didn't work in those area's, everyone worked as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's been too long to review
Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 15, 2014
I haven't worked there in a really long time. However, I doubt Sears will survive much longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start
Cashier and Sales Person (Former Employee), Mountain View, CANovember 15, 2014
good Place to start and has some experience about customer service and retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Cashier/Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 14, 2014
I have to be honest this job was an unpleasant learning experience, very disorganized in every way. the only thing I enjoyed was the customers/employees, In my part I always kept my area clean and organized and was always helpful to customers. I did express my views/ ideas on how to make the company more pleasant to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they tried to make place feel like a family
customer service manager (Former Employee), Marion, OHNovember 14, 2014
Pros: flexible for working hours if needed do something personal
Cons: no real cons, its part of a work day
sears was an an enjoyable place to work, i had a large clientel of customers. i was respected and well liked by my fellow associates , i basically was management most the time because there was usually a problem keeping an actual store manager so as for upper management like district and regional they respected my job abilities and felt comfortable – more... with me being in charge, all jobs have hard parts but i take that as part of a day, a feeling of accomplishment saving the sale was my best accomplishments – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Loss Prevention Associate/Loss Prevention Manager (Former Employee), Poughkeespie NYNovember 14, 2014
Plenty of paperwork and tasks to complete. Met a lot of great people and had a lot of fun at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Mobile,ALNovember 14, 2014
Pros: good pay and bonuses
Cons: no flexible schedule for me to finish school
The fast paced environment kept helped to stay energetic. There was also commissioned bonuses to be added to hourly pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CANovember 14, 2014
Pros: good for high school students
Cons: limited growth
The job is simple, but has terrible management, pay is not great, no benefits.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more