Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,487 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun but lots of issues
N/A (Former Employee), N/AAugust 31, 2014
Pros: being able to actually coach and develop associates
Cons: work/life balance. long days and a lot of 6/7 day work weeks
Typically we deal with many customer issues. A lot of times upper management sets unrealistic goals that we still strive to meet. The coworkers are for the most part great. The hardest part of the job is trying to complete all the tasks given while taking care of customers and what is supposed to be a 9 hour day soon turns into a 11 or 12 hour day. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is developing a team and teaching associates how to be better and also taking care of customers 100% and getting a chance to really impact their lives in a positive manner – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job for college kids
MCA (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAAugust 31, 2014
Pros: nice managers
Cons: hours
fun job gets repetitive but thats what retail really is.but it has its benefits.cute girls you get to meet friends and interact with people enjoyable days and some that arent so enjoyable like working 12 hours on black friday.no thanks lol
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Loss Prevention Associate (Current Employee), orland park, ilAugust 31, 2014
Very friendly environment and enjoyable job.
I learned a great deal on preforming auditing and safety tasks. Learned to assess situations in a timely manor. Also, gained many skills needed to preform public jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that cares about it's employees and customers.
Sales Associate Home Appliance Department (Current Employee), Wilmington, DE 19803August 31, 2014
Pros: able to schedule lunches and breaks around busy and slow times.
Cons: long commute time, uncertain pay due to 100% commission, and lack of benefits.
A typical day at work starts off with reviewing personal and departmental goals for the day. Verifying work schedule and recent sales for the department and a quick meeting with my manager or assistant manager for any updates yet posted on internal e-mail network. My manager has been very flexible and supportive in regards to time for completion of – more... training modules. My co-workers are both friendly and knowledgeable in their job positions. Human resource representative is very upbeat and consistently maintains a positive attitude which makes for a comfortable work environment. The hardest part of the job is down time in work load as I prefer to be in a fast pace work environment. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I can truly identify the needs of the customer for the home appliances they are looking to purchase – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Cashier (Former Employee), Victor, NYAugust 31, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, relaxed customers, great experience
Cons: my rewards points sign up for customers.
Was a fun place to work. Great coworkers made it easy to learn and I felt welcome there. Only had to deal with one rude customer, but majority of the customers were really nice and loved to chat. Managers were very helpful.
Only part I didn't like was that we had to go out into the mall and get people to sign up for those sears rewards cards/coupon. – more... Security in the malls will scold you if you get caught. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blahh
Cashier (Former Employee), North CarolinaAugust 30, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: underpaid, unorganized, out of date!
Kmart and Sears are basically the same. The computers were outdated! Never enough people on the schedule so everyone became stressed. The members grew impatient and they were allowed to disrespect you. The managers didn't defend you even if they knew the member was wrong. Extremely unorganized! Need a better price checking system. Extremely low pay – more... compared to the work they expect out of you. Never given a pay raise or even discussed one. Managers would not be on one accord with things so they would get frustrated with you. No time could be taken off during a holiday, but still only paid minimum wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Florence, ALAugust 30, 2014
Loved working here! Nice prices and nice products! I loved the people I worked with, including management.There was always something to do like pricing, stocking, or cleaning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication with new hire
Customer service (Former Employee), Mobile, alaAugust 30, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: lack of commnication
Recently i was hired to work for sears call center. All communication was via email, after receiving several different emails with conflicting dates. I tried to contact someone by phone. I was directed to voicemail. Were calls were not returned until one day before 1 st day of work. I reported to work and requested another date to start. Due to all – more... conflicting emails. And i had a prior appointment . I was told no. Later that day i given permission to arrive late the following day.( too handle prior appointment. ) and when i came in the next day I was terminated for being late. I feel as the recruiters totally let me down facilitating my schedule. And in the end I lost my job!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Rude
Backrooms Associate (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYAugust 30, 2014
The management were awful, they treated the people I worked with and myself terribly just because we were back dock associates, while every worker on the floor was treated the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful customers and employees.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 29, 2014
Great place to help customers and meet new people everyday. Hard work is placed into every task and every goal achieved does not go unrewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really friendly
Cashier (Current Employee), Port Charlotte, FLAugust 29, 2014
Pros: credit card applications
Cons: to get hours i need people to get credit cards \.
workers are like one big family
mangers are really nice
learned more about retail
the hardest part of my job is getting people to apply for credit cards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Point
Apparel Manager (Former Employee), Hayward, CAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: ok pay, light duties
Cons: price discrepancies
I managed a staff of nine. I had a great team with a lot of strong workers. Having fun with employees and customers was the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee), Salem, NHAugust 29, 2014
Good place to work. Been there a while but too many uncertainties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 years later- I got dumped
account mananger (Former Employee), Pgh- Pa.August 29, 2014
Pros: great pay- you can make good $$$
Cons: you are just a number to sears- 13 years means nothing to them
I worked for Sears Commercial for almost 13 years selling appliances to the B-B market with an annual volume of about 2 million. I went on sick leave for 13 weeks. A month later I was told my position was gone, as my volume dropped!! Try finding a new job when you are over 60
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my co-workers
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Danville, VAAugust 29, 2014
Nice place to work, but not enough hours. Enjoyed working with the public. My employers were very nice and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment and good management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Torrance, CAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: management, good work enviorment
Cons: no room for improvement
The primary responsibilities of the Sales Associate position are to maintain outstanding customer service, generate sales, merchandise product, product knowledge, and support the store management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with top notch talent and resources
Director of Inventory Management (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: strategic ambiguity
High regards for the people who are talented and dedicated to the companies success. Great resources to support job success. If the talent had a clear and consistent strategy to execute against great things would be possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, never a dull moment.
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 28, 2014
A typical work day included ringing up sales and returns, accepting credit card payments, maintaining cash wrap area, and trying to get new members to sign up for Shop Your Way Rewards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best workplace
softline merchandiser (Former Employee), Lakeport, CAAugust 28, 2014
A typical day at work is coming in to make coffee and getting all the computers ready to start the day. Management at H & R Block is the best management I have had out of all of ny jobs. My co-workers are the best team I have had there has always been a lot of communication between us. The hardest part of my job is having to deal with customer complaints – more... but at the end it always comes out good. The enjoyable part of my job is beeng able to help all those customers with any questions or concerns they might have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low hours but you will have a job
receiving associate (Former Employee), Dothan, ALAugust 28, 2014
Pros: good insurence and good work inviroment
Cons: you will never get full time
Everyone starts out part time and they are few people that are full time because they don't want anyone to get 40+ hours. I got plenty of good experience there and that helped me get a better job so at least I'm grateful.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more