Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,206 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You never know if you will be making commission, or losing commission
Salesman (Current Employee), Mishawaka, INJuly 28, 2014
Pros: laid back working environment - normally
Cons: insurance cost, lack of communication, 100% commission
On any given day, there will be a combination of sales, planograms, signing, and a lot of issues with delivery and installation complaints. Management does there best to get the issues taken care of, but it is normally out of their control. The hardest parts of the job, are not knowing what you will make from paycheck to paycheck, as the job is 100% – more... commission, and having to do a lot of planograms, signing, etc. for no pay. It isn't all bad, however. When there are a lot of sales to be made, the pay makes the job worth it, even with the above issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micromanage
Transportation/CS Clerk (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 28, 2014
Pros: working with people you enjoy and learnng from them.
Cons: not being appreciated for your hard work.
Starting the day on time and finishing on time which was very rare,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was OK
In Store Support Lead (Former Employee), Asheville, NCJuly 28, 2014
When I started the company had a well established culture, however, that all changed when they were bought out by K-Mart. The quality of service and the merchandise presentation went down considerably. I had hoped for so much working with a reputable company but was disappointed with how far down the company has fallen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting meating new people
Apperall Mgr.- Appliance (Former Employee), nashville, TNJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: not enough pay for job
open make sure all sale siging is up racks are full of mechandise due weekly schedule checkin incoming shipments run register help custumers with there concers or problems.Had wonderful ladies to work with. Understanding boss. Hardest part was making sure things got done when I wasn't there. Making custumers feel like there are number one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, Management and Operational C+
Support Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: highly professional . and very good benefits.
Cons: down-sizing took place at the end of each year, budget time.
I worked in the Operational and Corporate office, where I saw too much down-sizing of long-term employee. Lots of hard work .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exciting
MCA Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palmdale, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: short
Cons: healthcare
I loved working for Sears I thought the management was fair and cared about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Brunswick, GAJuly 28, 2014
nice job to work for management was nice , I started out as a salesmen who had my own department, loved working for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears was a good job with a competitive sales atmosphere.
Lawn Equipment Salesman (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: working holidays
Sears was a nice place to work with great hours and flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sears
MCA (Current Employee), South Burlington, VTJuly 27, 2014
Pros: 20 percent discount on clothing, first see on sales.
Cons: everything
very great associates, horrible management, horrible scheduling, everyone doesn't get what they want or nearly what they want, managers choose favorites, nothing gets done on time, poor communication, i would not recommend working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair and hypocrtical environment
Cashier/Merchandiser (Current Employee), MDJuly 27, 2014
A typical day ensures of doing multiple transactions for customers and being told that you are not doing a good enough job by your managers. During my time working here, I have developed people skills. I learned to put the customer first in any situation and deliver a "WOW member experience" for each and every customer. Management has clear and precise – more... goals that they expect to be met. They do not take into account the busyness of the day or the instruction the associate have received by other managers that may influence the stats the associate creates. The co-workers are fairly tolerate and understanding of what goes on in our work environment. There isn't anything that is specifically "hard" about the job but the hardest is dealing with some situations that result in the use of a manager because they respond to the calling extremely slow. The most enjoyable part of the job is being around the co-workers because they understand the issues we all go through and we all understand each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Princeton, NJJuly 27, 2014
Pros: outgoing environment
Cons: low pay rate and not enough hours
Assisted customers at the register and with other concerns. Also handled financial transactions and phone calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Houma, LAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: free food every once in a while.
Cons: managers are horrible.
I enjoyed working with my fellow coworkers, but for the management at Sears, they need to learn to handle customers and workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Commercial Photographer/Videographer (Former Employee), saint louis, moJuly 27, 2014
They were a great company, however they are no longer in the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has its perks!
Consultative Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lincoln Park, MIJuly 26, 2014
Pros: cool products, great deals.
Cons: hard floors really hurt your feet, and i probably have problems to this day for my 5-plus years of service
This is a great job for the younger crowd, and the older crowd.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very freindly confortable place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJuly 26, 2014
On a typical day I would pick up the signs from the office and begin working placing them and setting up the promotions. Then start stocking and place out of stock tags. Once finished I would help other associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive when under strong leadership
Consultative Sales Agent (Current Employee), Gretna, LAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: ability to create own wages in appliance sales
Cons: no 15 minute breaks, and short 30 minute lunch, if on commission you may have some days you don't make any money
General Manager in Gretna is a good leader but his support staff lacks ability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay till let go
sales (Former Employee), phillyJuly 25, 2014
Pros: nice
Cons: help
it was nice with my co workers but one person was not so great

there is not much to say
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
MCA (Former Employee), Lake Grove, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: long breaks, always rewarded for good work.
Cons: not enough hours, low pay.
The job was pretty good. But as the holiday season ended so did my hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, Sales, sales
HVAC Tech (Former Employee), Melville, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: service van on day 1 to take home
Cons: pay, routing department, you pay through the roof for your benefits
They schedule numerous of calls to complete in a 4hr time frame and when one call takes longer than expected, the tech is responsible for calling the customer and negotiating if you can still do the call. Benefits are through the roof and not really worth it. If you're a sale person this is a job for you. If you're a tech and don't like to be pressure – more... into making sales than look else where. They supply you with some tools and the rest you have to purchase with your own money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with great people.
Merchandising and pricing associate (Current Employee), El Centro, CAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: bad pay, bad management.
Management is not the best. Needs a lot of improving when it comes to talking to their associates. Work can be stressing when dealing with management, excelent co-workers.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more