Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,241 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with my co workers was fun
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 26, 2014
Pros: breaks whenever
Cons: hours
Typical day at work is helping customers loading/unloading trucks. I learned a lot the best was learning all the paper work. Management was ok. The hardiest part was lifting appliance by myself. The best part at work was helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun and very busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), McAllen, TXNovember 26, 2014
I enjoyed working at Sears. There were always so many customers in the store and we were always busy. I loved the fact we were always busy at the registers. If we weren't busy at the registers (usually when there was no one in line to check out) I would help put clothes away that some of the customers decided not to buy after all. I would answer questions – more... customers had about where a certain product or department was located. My co-workers were fun to be around and we always encouraged each other to try our best. The hardest part about the job was getting people to apply for credit cards, but after explaining the benefits our credit cards had some people would apply. I learned how to enroll customers in to the Shop Your Way Rewards Program while working here. Management was a little strict, but they always encouraged us to try our best and to provide the best customer service to our members. They gave us tips on how to do a better job in enrolling customers into the program and how to get them to apply for credit cards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely clean and fosters creativity and responsibility
Holding (Former Employee), Columbus OhioNovember 25, 2014
I really enjoyed the people I worked with at sears. Everyone from my team all the way to management. If I had to choose the hardest part of the job I would say it was leading. I had to mesh a plethora of personalities together to create the best environment for costumers and employees. \
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedule
Cashier (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKNovember 25, 2014
At sears I had a very flexible schedule that was molded around my school. I got to practice sales and work with a cash register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A warehousing employment that did shipping and receiving material.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Royersford, PANovember 25, 2014
Working at Sears Logistics Incorporated was a grueling workplace that dealt with constant removing of unloading and loading of warehousing materials. I learned most of my skills here for about 7 years. The management team were fine, but they had some flaws in their production instructions. Finally, working there was a huge help to myself working as – more... a warehousing associate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mcdonalds
Associate (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 25, 2014
typical day at McDonalds it being pack everyday.to use a cash register. management really treats you really bad. coworkers are okay not too bad. the drama that some of the coworkers kept up in the store. making people happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job
Merchandising and Customer Assistance Associate (Current Employee), Titusville, FLNovember 25, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: corporate does not seem to care about employees issues.
This is a typical retail job with all of the perks and frustrations as all others.

Local management is great and work with you as much as possible.

The corporation needs to work on improving their infrastructure in order for us to complete our tasks on a timely basis. There are way too many issues with lack of equipment, mis-communication and process – more... failures that result in delays in job completion.

Pay is on the low end with no prospect of annual increases, including colas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture has changed - no longer people oriented
General Manager (Former Employee), Mobile, ALNovember 25, 2014
Pros: mentoring opportunities
Cons: lack of work life balance - i worked 6 days/week / 10-12 hours/day
After 25 years, due to SR Leadership Changes, I would not want to represent this company as a site General Manager

Typical Day -- many conference calls -- interfered with working with the people
What I learned -- for many years, I learned from Sr Leadership who was interested in growing the business, associate satisfaction and work life balance
Management – more... -- The side of SHC I worked for totally changed Sr Leadership.in 2014. They made it clear they were interested in making money and not the customer or associate satisfaction
Co-Workers -- GM's. Many left the company around the time I did. We always had a great working relationship -- capitalizing on how we could strengthen the organization to be a compelling place to work, shop and invest.
The hardest part of the job -- Working with the new leadership team -- their value system in my opinion was not based on integrity.
The Most enjoyable part of the job -- Working with team members to encourage them to take risks and know that they have my support.
Developing future leaders is what I enjoyed the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Backroom Associate (Former Employee), Merriam, KSNovember 25, 2014
Pros: great place to work at, they would order food for us
Cons: n/a
I come in, clocked in say hi to everybody, then I head to the backroom and talk to my supervisor, she tells me what needs to be done and if we have a truck coming today or not, I stock shelves, and pull items from the back or I would help a customer take their item to they car and put the items in their car for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to explore your creativity
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Saginaw, MINovember 25, 2014
Pros: meeting new and exciting people everyday
Cons: didnt like doing sales
I was able to create great memories for families for years to come by taking great portraits of families and children. I learned that I have a great creative side to my personality. I was a part of the management team and we all worked together to make our store a million dollar store in sales. My co-workers were great people who came to work with positive – more... energy. The hardest part of my job was fixing the cameras when they were broke. The best part of my job was getting a child to smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Service Associate (Former Employee), Deptford, NJNovember 25, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: work weekends and holidays
Perfect job while going to college. Flexible hours as a part time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2014
I was a sales associate who sold matresses but no one ever bought mattresses so I would just sit around all day even though I would've rather had been doing something fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun and productive
Recieving Associate (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYNovember 24, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: benefits
it was a fun and productive place place of work. We listened to music while unloading and loading the trucks. The management wasn't that good cause they were not knowledgeable at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment from a dying company.
Fitness/Home Improvement Expert (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PANovember 24, 2014
Pros: laid back environment. competitive incentatives.
Cons: short breaks, no 401k matches, retail.
A typical day of work at Sears requires coming in and greeting every customer. Each associate has a sales quota to reach, as well as a sales goal for each department. To reach this goal, each associate must use different tactics and closing skills which are taught by the management/senior sales experts. The management at Sears is usually on task. At – more... the store I was in, the management was all new and getting used to the high demands of the area. The co-workers were driven and knowledgeable. In an environment where sales metrics are measured, most associates and experts will work to keep their job. The hardest part of the job was the struggle to get members in to shop. The most enjoyable part was being around the co-workers and learning something new everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking 4 work
Seasonal Stock Associate (Former Employee), Livingston, NJNovember 24, 2014
love working and getting up n the morning Job Work/Life Balance

Job /Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VANovember 23, 2014
Sears was a wonderful place to work as a college student trying to make extra money. They were very flexible with my schedule and accommodating with my needs. As a business management major, I was able to gain valuable experience in the management field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of teamwork, refusal for sharing responsibilities, and unkind attitudes toward coworkers.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bloomington, INNovember 23, 2014
Pros: potential for extra income from credit applications.
Cons: rude coworkers, rough schedule, lack of a sense of team, people unwilling to share responsibilities, unkindness, minimum wage with no chance of a raise, hours irregular
At first, I really enjoyed my job here and thought many of the people were great. The longer I work here, the harder it is for me to feel motivated to go into work during my scheduled shifts. My coworkers are often rude to one another and always have gossip stories to tell. They are supposed to accommodate student schedules (as I am a student at IU) – more... as best as possible and never schedule you when you specify that you are unavailable to work certain days and times. However, this has happened multiple times to me and it makes it difficult to keep up with school, classes, and my other jobs. Schedules are often changed without giving any form of notification, either, which can be very inconvenient when making plans for schoolwork such as group projects, and anything else that requries advanced planning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
Front Line, Garden Center Cashier (Current Employee), Front Royal, VANovember 23, 2014
As a Kmart cashier; handled purchases and interacted with customers daily. In addition to scanning goods and merchandise, answer customer questions, follow procedures in handling cash, checks, coupons, gift cards, partner cards, food stamps, perform multiple customer service duties. As a cashier the need to perform other duties for Kmart, including – more... stocking, inventory management, merchandising, and other administrative duties were completed as requested. Functioning with a friendly attitude, provide customer assistance and ensures basic merchandise replenishment needs are met in order to deliver a positive customer shopping experience, and attention to detail when dealing with money. Abide to all company guidelines, policies and standard practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Workplace
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Brooklyn NYNovember 22, 2014
Pros: medical benefits are satistfactory
Cons: sometimes it is required to cut hours
Work days are usually fast paced. Constant action with Members coming and out at a great rate. I have learned how to manage a team of associates and be successful in the process. Co-workers have always admired the way that I work and the professional attitude that I bring to the workplace. The hardest part of my job is the upkeep that is required daily. – more... Myself and my team do and excellent job of maintaining the area. The most enjoyable part of the job is always being able to meet my goals by the days end. I pride myself on getting the task at hand done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable place to work, unless you enjoy being miserable and not being adequately compensated
Customer Service Advisor Lead (Former Employee), Frederick, MDNovember 22, 2014
Pros: the ability to quit
Cons: everything. pay. management.
Sears is making choices to run their own business into the ground. Allow their President do destroy the Company before you proceed with any employment there. There is no training. Any management worth anything finds better work elsewhere. Constantly over-worked and terribly under-paid.
I was "afforded" the "opportunity" to take every non-backshop position – more... that the Auto Center offers in my four years employed. I was thrust into a store manager role for $7/hr. Not given the tools to properly run a store and jerked around on a transfer for SIX months for a transfer to go through.
Let my misfortune be your learning opportunity. Avoid Sears on all levels of employment. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more