Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,395 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a typical call center job
outbound appt assistant (Former Employee), lake mary, flDecember 16, 2014
This particular job site was filled with a lot of childish behavior not really focusing on the work task that was at hand daily. There was a blatant disregard for the customers and how their issues were to be handled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering Assistance
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Deptford, NJDecember 15, 2014
I really enjoy helping people find what they're looking for, the simple things. Solving problems with their projects by suggesting certain products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bellevue, TNDecember 15, 2014
Very Fun and Nice work environment.
I have worked with all diversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee), Middletown, NJDecember 15, 2014
Every day that I go into work, I learn something new about different tactics and different ways to look for thief's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store closing
Backroom Associate (Former Employee), Dothan, ALDecember 15, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: warehouse environment
During my employment with Sears, I really enjoyed striving to have a working relationship with management staff, supervisors and numerous types of co-workers. I have to stay positive for a future employment opportunities. Continue to be a positive motivator within myself; to encourage other people/mentoring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I've ever worked in my life!
MCA (Former Employee), Federal Way, WADecember 15, 2014
Cons: cruelty
This store is the worst place I've ever worked in my life!

I was given the whole first floor by myself to handle during store hours, which was at least a 2-3 person job daily

I ended up quiting because they had faulty display tables with folding legs and as a result I was injured. I was called into the store managers office while my hand was still – more... bleeding and was yelled at a demeaned because I was crying in the employee bathroom while holding my crushed hand under cold water in the sink. What a indecent and cruel woman. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre Job
Automotive Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 14, 2014
Pros: early closing, easy
Cons: pay, benefits, everlasting conflicts
Its a typical job with the typical stresses and environment. There's difficult people and there's bearable people. The pay and benefits could be better. I worked at the Sears Auto Center btw, not the main store. In my store in particular, heads clash on an almost daily basis due to the strong and opinionated personalities of some coworkers and the managers, – more... so there's usually an argument going on and sometimes customers witness it and its kinda unprofessional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Hardlines Merchandiser (Current Employee), Elkins, WVDecember 14, 2014
Pros: friendly co workers
Cons: no raises given, minimum work hours available.
Good place to start out. Most management people are friendly and helpful. Not ideal for long term. It is not easy to move up in this company and raises have not been given out in many many years. Training is not thorough. You are given minimal training, mostly thrown out there to sink or swim.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A convenient job while in college
Consultative Sales in Fine Jewelry/ Cashier (Current Employee), Monaca, PADecember 14, 2014
I worked as a cashier. The people are nice, and they really adhered to my busy schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enivironment to learn about the optical world.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Hickory, NCDecember 13, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: had to be very techincally minded and willing to learn new inovations on a constant basis
The best part, was of course working doctor hours! It was a great entry level retail job where I got to learn more about the importance of customer service because you could spend more time with each customer to find out their optical needs and develop a relationship with each customer. Since it was not a fast paced environment you had more time to – more... dedicate to the customer. The hardest part of the job was trying to explain the technical aspects of a certain products benefits based on the prescription that the customer had. It was a great place to learn about optics and the inner workings of a doctors office. We handled making appointments, contact fittings and follow ups for the doctor as well as finding the right frames and lenses for the customers. There was always new types of contacts, frames, and lenses coming out so you needed to be on top of your game learning about all the new products and innovations that were coming out in the optical world, so you could always make sure you were offering the right product based on the customers prescription. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Denton, TXDecember 13, 2014
Sears is an okay place, I wouldn't ever work there again though. I feel like it will go out of business soon anyways but who knows. Very Droll place to work. But if you have no better options then definitely head on over there. The management is really lacking though
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management and poor looking store
Lead Apparal Associate Sears Hometown and Outlet (Former Employee), Shelby Township, MiDecember 13, 2014
Pros: free smoke breaks whenever
Cons: unpaid lunch break no overtime
I worked for this company for 6 weeks . The first day I started I noticed there are a lot of lights that are not working I was told this is normal. I was not ever trained in this position just told that I was a manager that was supposed to help the sales associates sell damaged or out of date items . I was also told that I had to put up all of the weekly – more... ads and cleaned the apparel isles every day . There was online training but was not given access to it. I asked both managers to give me 2 set days off a week so I can work my second job they at first agreed but after Black Friday refused telling me that this was not a option and that I had to work my scheduled shift. They coach employees which I don't agree with and allow bad employees to continue to work after multiple write-ups. You will need to be in excellent shape since the store is huge and lots of walking expected . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears is a very productive workplace and there are many opportunities.
Fine Jewelry Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 13, 2014
The co-workers are great and they assist each other as needed. Also delivering a great shopping experience to all customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for Sears for 26 years and was able to become a supervisor
Data Entry Supervisor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 12, 2014
Pros: good salary, great benefits
I was responsible for entering and balancing data. I learned how to manage people, I became a supervisor. My co-workers were good. The hardest part was saying good bye. The most enjoyable part were the wonderful celebrations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Right concept not executed correctly
Store Manager (Former Employee), Ashland, MADecember 12, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the customers and employeees
Cons: lack of support from home office
Everyday was filled with new challenges, whether it be customer service or dealing with home office. I have learned the importance of keeping an open line of communication with vendors and suppliers. I had an excellent management team that were highly motivated. They were all on the same page to help the store become successful. Hardest part of job – more... was ensuring customers had what they needed when they needed it. The customers were probably the best customers that I have been able to service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager
Cosmetics Manager (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MODecember 12, 2014
Pros: made good money
Cons: not enough advertising
Did schedes ,training,merchandise displays customer service,got along with employees and customers I am easy going,person friendly a d have taken care of my grandson with multiple challenges for 12years
I loved working there and made many new contacts. I did makeoversand and sales bring the department up to more than 165%every year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice and friendly environment for the most part
Receiver/MPU (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VADecember 11, 2014
A typical day at work for me had to do with unloading the truck , taking merchandise to customers cars , and cleaning the warehouse. I learned how to use a forklift. The management was great at first then they started to lack and didn't do certain parts of their jobs correctly. I loved all my co-workers and got along with everyone. The hardest part – more... of the job to me was unloading the truck but i also enjoyed it and i enjoyed helping the customers to their cars with the merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face-paced environment
Fine Jewelry Sales Associate (Current Employee), Everett, WADecember 11, 2014
Depending on the day, sales will be slow but we make goal. Management for some are good, others lake and don't step their game up. Most enjoyable part about the job is working with some of my employees that make the job fun. There's always a hard part working in the retail world and dealing with customers and management but I take it as a new learning – more... experience with challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive customer first workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLDecember 11, 2014
id come in and give great customer service while selling the company credit card quite well i may add using the suggestive selling approach
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Creative process
Visual Stylist (VMS) (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 11, 2014
I would come in and asset the floor. Make sure that the tables and frontline were up to part so when customers come in they would see it clean. Then i would pick a department that has been low on sale and figured out a way to in-hance the profit by providing compelling displays and switching the floor around. Then i would train the new hires on how – more... to maintain the floor and on the national presentation standards. – less

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more