Find companies:
Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom Dollar is whats important
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee), Glen BurneMarch 16, 2014
Pros: $$$
Cons: don't want you to really care or take care of your patients
It's all about the bottom dollar and any attempt to advocate for you patient will be viewed as misconduct. Seriously, isn't that what nurses do is advocate. They don't want nurses they want robots. They don't want REAL hospice nurses. Good luck!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS BRANCH
CASE MANAGER (Former Employee), ST LOUIS MOJanuary 18, 2014
Very poor experience- management unprofessional to both full and part time employees. New hires treated poorly, and given poor orientation, with high expectations to fulfill caseload - new hires without experience told they will have orientation, and mentor guidance-told often they will need 6 months, to a year, to feel comfortable managing the expected – more... caseload of 14 patients- actually given 30 days to prove competency. New hires not put with a nurse case manager for orientation- given office training on standard paper orientation, and sent out alone to do admissions, deaths, and on call, with out proper orientation, when help was requested, and more orientation, employees were demeaned, and marked as unable to "get hospice" , declared as not a good fit for the company,with plans made to start the new employee's termination. Recently a nurse reported that beeper time was not being paid- nurses were then paid for on call pay they were told they would not be compensated for- only because they were reported to corporate office and labor board- employee was then fired, a short time later for NON RELATED ISSUE- Management with unprofessional treatment to employees who raise issues, or make complaints- former employees currently looking into compensation of this branch- citing "bullying, demeaning contact,, and poor treatment"- Branch is consistently under the required 50 patient mark, to expand- cannot get a census above that due to poor management. Corporate office located in Rosemont, IL, and is aware of poor practices, and employee dis-satisfaction. With so many hospice companies in St Louis Mo, please leave this small, unprofessional, poorly managed branch off your list, you have many other choices that are deserving of your licence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great $$$ HORRIBLE management and HR in Delaware offices
RN/ case management (Former Employee), DelawareDecember 8, 2013
Pros: $$$$$$
Cons: even if you are a well seasoned hospice nurse, this company will run you physically and emotionally into the ground.
Great paying job. NO time for family or self. This company will work you into the ground and then tell you to resign when you choose to remind them of the original job description. The management is awful, the HR Dept is just as bad. RNs quitting left and right. The money is great and the package is really nice but its not worth the health risk from – more... the huge burden due to lazy management. Run.... run fast. Their idea is 24/7 and once you get hired your job description will go out the window. seeing 12 pts a day is not unusual and being asked to work around the clock for weeks. If you happen to have a personal emergency, they will punish you and write you up.
Nightmare...... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very aggressive hospice care.
Executive Director, Dallas (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILSeptember 6, 2013
their focus in usually set with inpatient units to assist growth at every site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you live in CA!!!!!!
n/a (Current Employee), n/aSeptember 6, 2013
Management is absolutely clueless when it comes to the hospice market in southern california and have expectations that are completely out of touch, which makes for constant stress. If you are a nurse you will work constantly with no overtime. If you are a rep you will be micro-managed to death, not given fair and equal treatment vis a vie other reps – more... but expected to bring in the numbers anyway, constantly in fear of being fired and there is really no upward movement. They don't treat employees well. Everyone is just a number to them and you may like the recruiter or the staff and people may seem happy, but we're forced to put on a happy face with new employees. It's a terrible company in CA. Other states are much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with many great employees
HR Generalist (Current Employee), Des Plaines, ILAugust 15, 2013
Pros: never boring, lots of variety of work to do, some great people
Cons: lack of compassion for employees by leadership, feeling unappreciated, strong lack of trust between ees and leadership
Seasons Hospice is a great Hospice that really cares for its patients and their families. The work there is wonderful, and they have a lot of great employees who work very hard. From Seasons I have gained a great deal of knowledge of various systems (i.e. TALEO, HireRight, Paycom, KRONOS, Valcom, etc.), as well as a lot of experience with employee relations. – more... I manage 310 active employees, plus hundreds of inactive/terminated employees. Seasons had neglected the HR Management of the company for many years, so when I came on board I had a huge job ahead of me to clean up all of the old filing that hadn't been done for many months, plus learn all of the new systems, on-board 10-15 employees each month, process terminations of employees every day, conduct monthly orientations, manage leaves of absence and FMLA, maintain and update employee information, and handle employee relations/discipline.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with a 45% turn-over rate and feeling that the leadership had no desire to improve the turn-over rate. I made numerous suggestions and consulted with others in the company who were in a comparable position to me (HR Generalists for similar sized Seasons programs), and share all suggestions for improvement with the Director of HR, but nothing came of my suggestions. It is difficult to maintain operations when there are constant terminations that result in constant new hires.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was the on-boarding and dealing with employee relations. I love meeting new people and I love engaging with people. Throughout my time at Seasons I was told that I was very approachable, and easy to talk to. Many told me they are sad to see me leave. I was complimented many times for the ways that I improved the HR of the Illinois program of Seasons compared with the HR Coordinator who preceeded me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Madison Heights, MIJuly 9, 2013
Pros: lots of free food and pot lucks
Cons: weekend/afterhours schedule
A typical day at work would be very busy with calls from patients, family members, vendors and medical professional. I learned a lot form this job, such as interpersonal skills and telephone etiquette. The management was very fair and very personal. Love them. My co-workers were like my family. There was never any arguements with one another. The hardest – more... part of my job was the high volume of calls in the call center, but the easiest part of the job was working in a warm and friendly enviornment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a possitive work environment
CNA (Former Employee), Madison Heights MiJune 28, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lack of respect from management!
The only good thing about this company is the benefits they offer and the fact you are always busy. The management does not care about the CNA's who are out busting their butts on a daily basis and treats them with disregard. I worked for this company for a year and felt degraded and worthless. Hospice care is one of the hardest types of jobs and for – more... those of us who can handle the day to day death deserve more from an employer that the way I was treated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Learning Experience
Chaplain Intern (Former Employee), Newton, MAApril 14, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: traffic
Extremely supportive team of Hospice caregivers who are always developing new ways to help families cope with end of life complexities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive co-workers. Never a dull moment.
Intern (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 2, 2012
Pros: free lunches, helping others
A typical day was calling on and visiting physicians offices and nursing facilities talking to administrators and nurses about taking care of patients.

About Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care

Seasons Hospice is a community-based organization with an ongoing mission to find creative solutions that add quality to end-of-life – Read more