Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care

36 reviews

Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it while it lasted
Chaplain (Former Employee), Madison Heights, MIJuly 1, 2015
Pros: Challenging work environment
Cons: No job security
Co-workers and management were all very supportive but if they want you gone, they will find a way to get rid of you. Their policy of documentation to be completed within 24 hours is not often practical for the psych-social team but that is one sure-fire way of getting rid of you. The high turn-over rate was a good indication that trying to stay for the long-term may be a good goal to have but not necessarily practical. Management seemed very friendly but it seemed like everyone has their eyes and ears on you about everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant work effort. Productivity important.
Team Director (Former Employee), Newark, DEJune 27, 2015
Pros: Birthday recognition
Cons: Work continuous over the 8 hours per day as contracted, on a daily basis. Oncall disorganized. ..
Very Rewarding with hospice patients and families.
Also rewarding was the opportunity to teach the nurses.
Regulations and policies were used as a guide to complete daily tasks. I needed more "quality time" with the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked & underpaid
Home health aide/ CNA GNA (Current Employee), Glen Burnie, MDJune 8, 2015
Pros: Weekends off
Cons: Pay rate is not based on your experience.
I've worked here for 2 yrs. I enjoyed it in the beginning. The turn over rate is high because the work load is outrageous day to day. You might go from Bowie to Westminster then Baltimore City in a day to see pts. We (the aides) don't get paid what we should. We drive practically all day. By the time you get to your 4th pt your drained because it took you 30-40 minutes to get there and you don't want to provide pt care because you need a nap. Typically we see between 6-10 pts daily. They pay you .56 per mile. You will drive your car straight in the ground because they send you every where & anywhere. We also have to take supplies to pts every week. On your off days your car is filled with a bunch of mess like diapers, wipes & chuxs which makes doing your personal errands difficult. You receive a 1% raise yearly. Requesting days off is a nightmare because they don't have enough staff to cover your visits. I am currently looking for something else because this is unacceptable pay for an experienced gna. The only part that I enjoy about working for them is being able to start work at a time convenient for you. It's not even the pt care anymore because you are exhausted from driving most of the day. Other than that it's NOT rewarding we don't get any recognition I guess that's why they can't keep any staff. Fyi the only time WE receive bonuses is for the Thanksgiving holiday which isn't much just to clarify that other review. Turn over is high for the nurse case managers too NOT only aides!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't walk, RUN!!!
RN CM (Former Employee), Madison Heights MIMay 30, 2015
Pros: coworkers (NOT management)
Cons: Read all the poor reviews-they are speaking the truth.
Poorly managed, only can get promotion or raise if you are family. Work doesn't end at 5, they expect you to always pay attention to emails and what is happening with your patients-even when you are off. They skimp on supplies and if you can get them they only allow so much. High turnover due to unrealistic expectations, no help when asked for, territories are large-you will put tons of miles on your car. Computer charting system always crashing or running very slow. Charting is redundant and lengthy. Coworkers try to help each other, however caseloads are very high which makes it hard to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Glen Burnie, MDMay 14, 2015
Pros: bonus
Cons: short lunch break
My typical day as a nursing assistant is awesome the face that I love helping people really puts a smile on my face everyday that I got to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
employee (Current Employee), ilMay 4, 2015
over work there employee and high turn over rate. not very flexable and very demanding. I would not refer anyone I know . its a waste of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very calm and welcoming environment
LPN- per diem/on call (Current Employee), Portland OregonApril 28, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Case managers are very busy
I'm a per diem LPN for Season's in Portland and I must say it is the nicest environment I've ever stepped foot in. Hospice obviously can be unpredictable and busy and I see the full time case managers have a lot of work to do, but the staff is very close knit and do everything they can to help each other out and make the work load lighter. I have to say I've never felt so welcomed when I walk in and everyone tells you how happy they are to have you with them. I've also heard nothing but rave reviews from the other staff members I work with and more importantly the patients and their families! You want to work here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run far far far far away, then run more
RN (Former Employee), Phoenix, ArizonaMarch 27, 2015
Pros: Pay was competitive
Cons: Too many to list
Unethical, awful, bully-tolerating, mismanaged, poor patient care, downright frightening atrocity of a "company." Couldn't leave fast enough and get my clinical license detached from any association with the company, the local site, the national leaders, and the daily practices. The only glimmer of hope were the handful of worker bees that cared about their patients. Unfortunately, if they were bright or moral, they either left the toxic environment or were forced out. While the pay was good, nothing could make up for the terrible working conditions or the sleepless nights and traumatic treatment of coworkers. People were lied to (and about), coverups were everywhere, bad behavior was rewarded, patients were mismanaged, colleagues and patients were openly badmouthed, gossip abounded, and staff turnover is extremely high. The absolute worst company I have ever been associated with, and even though I resigned, I've considered eliminating from my resume completely because I don't want to be aligned with any facet of the company or many of its employees. However, it would look like I had a year gap in employment and that doesn't seem ethical on my part. If you value your reputation, proceed with extreme caution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong employee focus
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), Madison Heights, MIMarch 16, 2015
Pros: a lot of employee relations
Cons: very little work life balance
The company is filled with passionate employees that care for their patients and keeping the working environment as light-hearted as possible. Management is open and very vocal about the events surrounding the company and any plans or changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent coworkers and support
Admission Nurse (Former Employee), Madison Heights, MIMarch 13, 2015
Every admission was a challenge and learning experience. Majority of patients and family were very appreciative related to care and knowledge given regarding the present disease process. Coworkers were a pleasure to share stories with and experience and assist in formulating best care for patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have no life once you get the job
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee), Glen Burnie MarylandFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: pay
Cons: you take work home, you have no life, they work you into the ground
First you get excited about the pay and if you are coming from an hospital setting you feel like it is less work , wrong. The first month you start off slow then everything get crazy after . Once you are hired you will be given a phone and a computer. They communicate mostly via email, your email will go off non-stop. You will get about 300 emails per day and only 10 might be for you but you still have to check. The cell phone seems to only ring while you are driving between patients . The documentation can become overwhelming depending on how much patient you see per day. They will say 3-4 which is good but most time not realistic. I have seen more than 6 patients a day. If you love to drive like me you will think it is fun at first, when you start feeling overwhelmed you do not want to drive on your day off and after work hour. They pay 0.56 cent per mile not worth it if you have a nice car, I put 16,000 miles on my car in 6 mths ( I do not drive my car on weekends or after work hour). About you car , season own you car .You will have so much supplies in your car your trunk will look like a mini supply room. Last but not lease if you were working 3 12hr shift at the hospital, at season you will feel like you work 5 12 and on weekends you are so tired you want to stay in. I really hope this help , the best thing I like about working for season is the families that I help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST HOSPICE EVER!!!!!!
Sales (Former Employee), Glendale, CAFebruary 22, 2015
Pros: nothing except stress, aggravation, and having to look for a new job in 6 months tops!
Cons: favoritism, needing to participate in "relations" to get a head, and or keep your job
If you will first notice that there are a lot of positions available in the Glendale office. That is because in the LA and Orange office the staff and more so, management suck and have sucked for the 6+ years they have out here in the west.
They show mass favoritism, discrimination and some management sleeps with the other managers in the office.
The expectations are ridiculous and they provide no support. The national office is of no support either. They are clues out there in Chicago.
It is a shame most of all because hospice should be about the patient and family. Seasons could care less. It is about the $$$$ and trying to get a "title". Folks will throw you under the bus and then step all over you to ahead and on top!
If you are smart, which you clearly are; since you are reading these reviews, go elsewhere. You will be able to sleep at night. If you go to Seasons you will not!
If you have no morals, pride, or ethics... you will be a perfect fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed
xxx (Former Employee), Phoenix, ArizonaJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: salary and benefits
Cons: stressful and toxic invironment
Toxic invironment! !!!
If you are considering marketing, be prepared to have your every move monitered and critique.
Unprofessional, arrogant leadership that is in stress mode. High employee turn over.

There are high expectations for the clinical team, which was appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harassing, hostile, abusive environment
LPN (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDDecember 5, 2014
Pros: hospice care, money, benefits
Cons: harassment, hostile work environment
A Continuous Care (CC) LPN was promoted to supervise the CC Team. She had very little nursing experience, and was given no management training. Her leadership skills are nonexistent and her management style is based on controlling, and she has NO idea how to talk to or treat people. And if you don't submit to her demands, she will harass you and make disparaging remarks about you to coworkers. These issues were raised up the chain of command including HR, and then retaliation began. Something like 16 or 17 LPNs quit or were fired within the 15 months after she was promoted, and neither the local management nor the corporate management care because nurses are a dime a dozen. Management has circled the wagons around her, enabling her abusive and harassing behaviors. They would rather continue to lose spectacular hospice nurses rather than address the core problem. If you consider yourself valuable or worthy in any way, DO NOT accept a position with this office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physician is ABSOLUTELY RIGHT...HORRIBLE place to work!!!!
nurse (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 22, 2014
Pros: i don't work there anymore!!
Cons: manipulative management, hidden agendas, no compassion, $ driven.
So sad to see a money hungry corporate attitude RUIN what used to be an excellent team of compassionate professionals, and turn it into nothing more than another healthcare machine. Shameful. The deceit was more than overwhelming-on so many levels: towards potential and existing patients/families, it's own physicians and employees, fellow healthcare providers, vendors, etc... You name it...they lied about it, or manipulated it to suit them. I have great sorrow for those that did not truly get the care they deserved, all for the sake of the almighty dollar. I could go on for hours, and I could probably write a book about it all. But I chose to focus on the positives in my life now.The only reason I am posting this is to warn others, to spare them the agony of The Season's Hospice experience.... at any level. I believe that in this life you should treat others as you wish to be treated-with dignity and respect. Clearly, The Season's Hospice- Milwaukee Branch management do not hold that same believe. I am relieved that this excruciating chapter of my life is closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good luck to you!
RN (Former Employee), West Allis, WiOctober 22, 2014
Pros: excellent subordinate staff, excellent field staff
Cons: low pay, pay cuts, increased patient census, very long hours with overtime, lost too many great employees
Great example of how bad management can ruin a good company. No one above the branch executives care and things will most likely never change. Long hours. Continuous piling on of the work. Not interested in field staff input whatsoever. Pay cuts poor raises, childish executive management (few exceptions but it's the powerless ones). Team leads try but they can only work with what they're given. Only care about $.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Physician (Former Employee), MilwaukeeOctober 12, 2014
Cons: profits off dying people
Company focused on making money off dying people
They literally would cut cost to incur profit while end of life patients died in misery
As a physician this was a horrible thing to be a part of.
This company is a joke and lies outright to families about their mission
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff focused
Staff (Current Employee), Madison Heights, MIOctober 4, 2014
Seasons MI is staff focused and has a strong leadership group. It has a culture of hard workers but works also to encourage balance with life and great care to the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company provides warm and comprehensive service for patients with terminal illness also provided support for patients family.
Music Therapy Intern (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDOctober 2, 2014
Pros: flexible time arrangement, great work environment with team members
Seasons provides wonderful training for music therapy intern to learn about professional skills during 6 months. The training is extremely tough but it helps individual to become a professional music therapist. People are so kind. Team meeting is held once a week and works on discussing patients' situation so that all team members are able to update news from others. The supervisor and other disciplinary in the team or other team provide unlimited support for interns. Music therapy intern is able to learn a lot from music therapist as well as other domains of knowledge from other disciplinary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Hospice CNA (Current Employee), Middlebury, CTSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: apprecitave towards staff
Cons: start up company and staff turnover
I have had the honor to work with this company for the past 6 months. I started out as the Team Assistant, which I enjoyed and was valued. I then began to miss being in the front line with our patients and families. Seasons was gracious enough to allow me to go back into the field as a fulltime Hospice CNA. I am pleased to have been able to work with such a fantastic company. The service that they provide to their patients, families and their employers are beyond anyone's understanding .
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Rosemont, Illinois, United States
Industry
Links
Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care website

Facebook