Find companies:
Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physician is ABSOLUTELY RIGHT...HORRIBLE place to work!!!!
nurse (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 22, 2014
Pros: i don't work there anymore!!
Cons: manipulative management, hidden agendas, no compassion, $ driven.
So sad to see a money hungry corporate attitude RUIN what used to be an excellent team of compassionate professionals, and turn it into nothing more than another healthcare machine. Shameful. The deceit was more than overwhelming-on so many levels: towards potential and existing patients/families, it's own physicians and employees, fellow healthcare – more... providers, vendors, etc... You name it...they lied about it, or manipulated it to suit them. I have great sorrow for those that did not truly get the care they deserved, all for the sake of the almighty dollar. I could go on for hours, and I could probably write a book about it all. But I chose to focus on the positives in my life now.The only reason I am posting this is to warn others, to spare them the agony of The Season's Hospice experience.... at any level. I believe that in this life you should treat others as you wish to be treated-with dignity and respect. Clearly, The Season's Hospice- Milwaukee Branch management do not hold that same believe. I am relieved that this excruciating chapter of my life is closed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good luck to you!
RN (Former Employee), West Allis, WiOctober 22, 2014
Pros: excellent subordinate staff, excellent field staff
Cons: low pay, pay cuts, increased patient census, very long hours with overtime, lost too many great employees
Great example of how bad management can ruin a good company. No one above the branch executives care and things will most likely never change. Long hours. Continuous piling on of the work. Not interested in field staff input whatsoever. Pay cuts poor raises, childish executive management (few exceptions but it's the powerless ones). Team leads try but – more... they can only work with what they're given. Only care about $. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Physician (Former Employee), MilwaukeeOctober 12, 2014
Cons: profits off dying people
Company focused on making money off dying people
They literally would cut cost to incur profit while end of life patients died in misery
As a physician this was a horrible thing to be a part of.
This company is a joke and lies outright to families about their mission
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff focused
Staff (Current Employee), Madison Heights, MIOctober 4, 2014
Seasons MI is staff focused and has a strong leadership group. It has a culture of hard workers but works also to encourage balance with life and great care to the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company provides warm and comprehensive service for patients with terminal illness also provided support for patients family.
Music Therapy Intern (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDOctober 2, 2014
Pros: flexible time arrangement, great work environment with team members
Seasons provides wonderful training for music therapy intern to learn about professional skills during 6 months. The training is extremely tough but it helps individual to become a professional music therapist. People are so kind. Team meeting is held once a week and works on discussing patients' situation so that all team members are able to update – more... news from others. The supervisor and other disciplinary in the team or other team provide unlimited support for interns. Music therapy intern is able to learn a lot from music therapist as well as other domains of knowledge from other disciplinary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Hospice CNA (Current Employee), Middlebury, CTSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: apprecitave towards staff
Cons: start up company and staff turnover
I have had the honor to work with this company for the past 6 months. I started out as the Team Assistant, which I enjoyed and was valued. I then began to miss being in the front line with our patients and families. Seasons was gracious enough to allow me to go back into the field as a fulltime Hospice CNA. I am pleased to have been able to work with – more... such a fantastic company. The service that they provide to their patients, families and their employers are beyond anyone's understanding . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospice
Hospice Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Madison Heights, MIAugust 22, 2014
This is a family orientated company as they honestly due put the patients first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment, positive and influential upper management. Excellent patient care, and one of the greatest perks... Music Therapy.
HCC (Former Employee), TexasAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great pay, work/home balance, structure, get to give back to the community
Cons: bonus structure could use work
Hospice is challenging, but in this environment you can learn and develop your skills to become a top producer. Team leadership is key. Hard work, but it pays off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to be treated poorly, apply now!
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee), ChicagolandJune 5, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: poor management, money hungry company. no job security. family unfriendly
I have had up to 23 patients that I would have to visit 1 to 3 times a week. My normal days would last 12 to 14 hours on average Monday through Friday. On the weekends, I had to work at least 8 hours on paperwork. On Call was ridiculous especially when you are on call 24 hours straight and you have been out that whole time. Support from management does – more... not exist. And actually if something happens which isn't good, they try as hard as they can to put the blame on regular staff instead of taking responsibility. employees get fired left and right. Co-workers on the same level as me were a delight. The hardest part of the job was having too many patients and paperwork to give patients and families the care that is expected for Hospice. The most enjoyable part was teaching and caring for the patients and their families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment, ethical company
RN (Current Employee), Rancho CucamongaApril 27, 2014
Pros: great teamwork, positive energy, high tech, education, benefit package
Cons: technology if not savvy
Great team spirit and positive environment. Very dedicated to the mission of hospice care throughout the company with creative programs that enhance end of life care. Great place to learn with lots of education and opportunities for professional growth. Employees expected to work hard to meet very high standards, not for people who work at a slow pace, – more... struggle with organization, or have difficulty with technology. Ability to spend time working from home. This can be positive or negative as work time can spill over into family time if a person has trouble separating the two. Very flexible and employee friendly management. Good benefits with about 6 weeks paid time off per year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Management (Former Employee), USMarch 21, 2014
Pros: above average pay scale
Cons: loose or lack of policies and/or enforcement, nepotism, corp. turns a blind eye if making money, lack employee support, ethics
Not employee friendly, work work work and you will be paid. Hospice model provides more patient access, Supportive Care model creative. 24/7 work day expected via phone/email for most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom Dollar is whats important
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee), Glen BurneMarch 16, 2014
Pros: $$$
Cons: don't want you to really care or take care of your patients
It's all about the bottom dollar and any attempt to advocate for you patient will be viewed as misconduct. Seriously, isn't that what nurses do is advocate. They don't want nurses they want robots. They don't want REAL hospice nurses. Good luck!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS BRANCH
CASE MANAGER (Former Employee), ST LOUIS MOJanuary 18, 2014
Very poor experience- management unprofessional to both full and part time employees. New hires treated poorly, and given poor orientation, with high expectations to fulfill caseload - new hires without experience told they will have orientation, and mentor guidance-told often they will need 6 months, to a year, to feel comfortable managing the expected – more... caseload of 14 patients- actually given 30 days to prove competency. New hires not put with a nurse case manager for orientation- given office training on standard paper orientation, and sent out alone to do admissions, deaths, and on call, with out proper orientation, when help was requested, and more orientation, employees were demeaned, and marked as unable to "get hospice" , declared as not a good fit for the company,with plans made to start the new employee's termination. Recently a nurse reported that beeper time was not being paid- nurses were then paid for on call pay they were told they would not be compensated for- only because they were reported to corporate office and labor board- employee was then fired, a short time later for NON RELATED ISSUE- Management with unprofessional treatment to employees who raise issues, or make complaints- former employees currently looking into compensation of this branch- citing "bullying, demeaning contact,, and poor treatment"- Branch is consistently under the required 50 patient mark, to expand- cannot get a census above that due to poor management. Corporate office located in Rosemont, IL, and is aware of poor practices, and employee dis-satisfaction. With so many hospice companies in St Louis Mo, please leave this small, unprofessional, poorly managed branch off your list, you have many other choices that are deserving of your licence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great $$$ HORRIBLE management and HR in Delaware offices
RN/ case management (Former Employee), DelawareDecember 8, 2013
Pros: $$$$$$
Cons: even if you are a well seasoned hospice nurse, this company will run you physically and emotionally into the ground.
Great paying job. NO time for family or self. This company will work you into the ground and then tell you to resign when you choose to remind them of the original job description. The management is awful, the HR Dept is just as bad. RNs quitting left and right. The money is great and the package is really nice but its not worth the health risk from – more... the huge burden due to lazy management. Run.... run fast. Their idea is 24/7 and once you get hired your job description will go out the window. seeing 12 pts a day is not unusual and being asked to work around the clock for weeks. If you happen to have a personal emergency, they will punish you and write you up.
Nightmare...... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very aggressive hospice care.
Executive Director, Dallas (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILSeptember 6, 2013
their focus in usually set with inpatient units to assist growth at every site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you live in CA!!!!!!
n/a (Current Employee), n/aSeptember 6, 2013
Management is absolutely clueless when it comes to the hospice market in southern california and have expectations that are completely out of touch, which makes for constant stress. If you are a nurse you will work constantly with no overtime. If you are a rep you will be micro-managed to death, not given fair and equal treatment vis a vie other reps – more... but expected to bring in the numbers anyway, constantly in fear of being fired and there is really no upward movement. They don't treat employees well. Everyone is just a number to them and you may like the recruiter or the staff and people may seem happy, but we're forced to put on a happy face with new employees. It's a terrible company in CA. Other states are much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with many great employees
HR Generalist (Current Employee), Des Plaines, ILAugust 15, 2013
Pros: never boring, lots of variety of work to do, some great people
Cons: lack of compassion for employees by leadership, feeling unappreciated, strong lack of trust between ees and leadership
Seasons Hospice is a great Hospice that really cares for its patients and their families. The work there is wonderful, and they have a lot of great employees who work very hard. From Seasons I have gained a great deal of knowledge of various systems (i.e. TALEO, HireRight, Paycom, KRONOS, Valcom, etc.), as well as a lot of experience with employee relations. – more... I manage 310 active employees, plus hundreds of inactive/terminated employees. Seasons had neglected the HR Management of the company for many years, so when I came on board I had a huge job ahead of me to clean up all of the old filing that hadn't been done for many months, plus learn all of the new systems, on-board 10-15 employees each month, process terminations of employees every day, conduct monthly orientations, manage leaves of absence and FMLA, maintain and update employee information, and handle employee relations/discipline.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with a 45% turn-over rate and feeling that the leadership had no desire to improve the turn-over rate. I made numerous suggestions and consulted with others in the company who were in a comparable position to me (HR Generalists for similar sized Seasons programs), and share all suggestions for improvement with the Director of HR, but nothing came of my suggestions. It is difficult to maintain operations when there are constant terminations that result in constant new hires.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was the on-boarding and dealing with employee relations. I love meeting new people and I love engaging with people. Throughout my time at Seasons I was told that I was very approachable, and easy to talk to. Many told me they are sad to see me leave. I was complimented many times for the ways that I improved the HR of the Illinois program of Seasons compared with the HR Coordinator who preceeded me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Madison Heights, MIJuly 9, 2013
Pros: lots of free food and pot lucks
Cons: weekend/afterhours schedule
A typical day at work would be very busy with calls from patients, family members, vendors and medical professional. I learned a lot form this job, such as interpersonal skills and telephone etiquette. The management was very fair and very personal. Love them. My co-workers were like my family. There was never any arguements with one another. The hardest – more... part of my job was the high volume of calls in the call center, but the easiest part of the job was working in a warm and friendly enviornment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a possitive work environment
CNA (Former Employee), Madison Heights MiJune 28, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lack of respect from management!
The only good thing about this company is the benefits they offer and the fact you are always busy. The management does not care about the CNA's who are out busting their butts on a daily basis and treats them with disregard. I worked for this company for a year and felt degraded and worthless. Hospice care is one of the hardest types of jobs and for – more... those of us who can handle the day to day death deserve more from an employer that the way I was treated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Learning Experience
Chaplain Intern (Former Employee), Newton, MAApril 14, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: traffic
Extremely supportive team of Hospice caregivers who are always developing new ways to help families cope with end of life complexities.

About Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care

Seasons Hospice is a community-based organization with an ongoing mission to find creative solutions that add quality to end-of-life – Read more