Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care

Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't keep their word
On Call LVN (Current Employee) –  CAJanuary 14, 2016
I was offered a position with a pay rate, hours, expectations but then when I accepted the job it was a different pay rate, hours and expectations. Concerns always brought to management but no action or consideration taken into place. High turn over rate
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The antithesis of hospice philosophy.
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Newton, MADecember 17, 2015
There is no respect for work-life balance. I only lasted 18 months at Seasons, and then my health began to fail because of taking work home (documenting until 1 or 2am). The caseloads are extremely high and lead to clinicians (nurses, social workers, all team members) not being able to practice the way they were trained to. My coworkers were incredible people and the teamwork is the only thing that got most of us through each day. Management did not care for my personal well-being and was mostly concerned with the branding/title that is "Seasons." The turnover rate was extremely high; in fact there were a dozen of us that started a dinner club after having left Seasons. This was not only to keep in touch with one another, but also to heal from the terrible experiences we had while working at Seasons. I would not recommend anyone work here.
Pros
Excellent teamwork
Cons
Zero work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees
CNA/CHPNA/HHA (Former Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILNovember 6, 2015
Their field staff is the best. They really care about the patients. The field staff shows true compassion for the patients and their families.
Pros
Annual bonus
Cons
Traveling in between patients
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visiting Hospice Patients at home or in a facility, care & support
Hospice Nurse (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, NJSeptember 4, 2015
Providing comfort, peace and encouragement for dying patients. Teaching and encouraging the family to accept Hospice methods and our support.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No31
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment
Team Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 18, 2015
Seasons Hospice & Palliative care was a phenomenal experience. I loved working with the staff there from the founder all the way down the line. They took exceptional care of their patients, family and staff. I would not trade that job for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it while it lasted
Chaplain (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, MIJuly 1, 2015
Co-workers and management were all very supportive but if they want you gone, they will find a way to get rid of you. Their policy of documentation to be completed within 24 hours is not often practical for the psych-social team but that is one sure-fire way of getting rid of you. The high turn-over rate was a good indication that trying to stay for the long-term may be a good goal to have but not necessarily practical. Management seemed very friendly but it seemed like everyone has their eyes and ears on you about everything.
Pros
Challenging work environment
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes86No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant work effort. Productivity important.
Team Director (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 27, 2015
Very Rewarding with hospice patients and families.
Also rewarding was the opportunity to teach the nurses.
Regulations and policies were used as a guide to complete daily tasks. I needed more "quality time" with the team.
Pros
Birthday recognition
Cons
Work continuous over the 8 hours per day as contracted, on a daily basis. Oncall disorganized. ..
Was this review helpful?Yes28No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked & underpaid
Home health aide/ CNA GNA (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJune 8, 2015
I've worked here for 2 yrs. I enjoyed it in the beginning. The turn over rate is high because the work load is outrageous day to day. You might go from Bowie to Westminster then Baltimore City in a day to see pts. We (the aides) don't get paid what we should. We drive practically all day. By the time you get to your 4th pt your drained because it took you 30-40 minutes to get there and you don't want to provide pt care because you need a nap. Typically we see between 6-10 pts daily. They pay you .56 per mile. You will drive your car straight in the ground because they send you every where & anywhere. We also have to take supplies to pts every week. On your off days your car is filled with a bunch of mess like diapers, wipes & chuxs which makes doing your personal errands difficult. You receive a 1% raise yearly. Requesting days off is a nightmare because they don't have enough staff to cover your visits. I am currently looking for something else because this is unacceptable pay for an experienced gna. The only part that I enjoy about working for them is being able to start work at a time convenient for you. It's not even the pt care anymore because you are exhausted from driving most of the day. Other than that it's NOT rewarding we don't get any recognition I guess that's why they can't keep any staff. Fyi the only time WE receive bonuses is for the Thanksgiving holiday which isn't much just to clarify that other review. Turn over is high for the nurse case managers too NOT only aides!
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Pay rate is not based on your experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes77No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't walk, RUN!!!
RN CM (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights MIMay 30, 2015
Poorly managed, only can get promotion or raise if you are family. Work doesn't end at 5, they expect you to always pay attention to emails and what is happening with your patients-even when you are off. They skimp on supplies and if you can get them they only allow so much. High turnover due to unrealistic expectations, no help when asked for, territories are large-you will put tons of miles on your car. Computer charting system always crashing or running very slow. Charting is redundant and lengthy. Coworkers try to help each other, however caseloads are very high which makes it hard to do.
Pros
coworkers (NOT management)
Cons
Read all the poor reviews-they are speaking the truth.
Was this review helpful?Yes70No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDMay 14, 2015
My typical day as a nursing assistant is awesome the face that I love helping people really puts a smile on my face everyday that I got to work.
Pros
bonus
Cons
short lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes27No20

Want to know more about Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
employee (Current Employee) –  ilMay 4, 2015
over work there employee and high turn over rate. not very flexable and very demanding. I would not refer anyone I know . its a waste of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes49No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very calm and welcoming environment
LPN- per diem/on call (Current Employee) –  Portland OregonApril 28, 2015
I'm a per diem LPN for Season's in Portland and I must say it is the nicest environment I've ever stepped foot in. Hospice obviously can be unpredictable and busy and I see the full time case managers have a lot of work to do, but the staff is very close knit and do everything they can to help each other out and make the work load lighter. I have to say I've never felt so welcomed when I walk in and everyone tells you how happy they are to have you with them. I've also heard nothing but rave reviews from the other staff members I work with and more importantly the patients and their families! You want to work here!
Pros
The staff
Cons
Case managers are very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes20No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run far far far far away, then run more
RN (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, ArizonaMarch 27, 2015
Unethical, awful, bully-tolerating, mismanaged, poor patient care, downright frightening atrocity of a "company." Couldn't leave fast enough and get my clinical license detached from any association with the company, the local site, the national leaders, and the daily practices. The only glimmer of hope were the handful of worker bees that cared about their patients. Unfortunately, if they were bright or moral, they either left the toxic environment or were forced out. While the pay was good, nothing could make up for the terrible working conditions or the sleepless nights and traumatic treatment of coworkers. People were lied to (and about), coverups were everywhere, bad behavior was rewarded, patients were mismanaged, colleagues and patients were openly badmouthed, gossip abounded, and staff turnover is extremely high. The absolute worst company I have ever been associated with, and even though I resigned, I've considered eliminating from my resume completely because I don't want to be aligned with any facet of the company or many of its employees. However, it would look like I had a year gap in employment and that doesn't seem ethical on my part. If you value your reputation, proceed with extreme caution.
Pros
Pay was competitive
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes102No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong employee focus
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Madison Heights, MIMarch 16, 2015
The company is filled with passionate employees that care for their patients and keeping the working environment as light-hearted as possible. Management is open and very vocal about the events surrounding the company and any plans or changes.
Pros
a lot of employee relations
Cons
very little work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes27No34
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent coworkers and support
Admission Nurse (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, MIMarch 13, 2015
Every admission was a challenge and learning experience. Majority of patients and family were very appreciative related to care and knowledge given regarding the present disease process. Coworkers were a pleasure to share stories with and experience and assist in formulating best care for patient.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have no life once you get the job
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie MarylandFebruary 26, 2015
First you get excited about the pay and if you are coming from an hospital setting you feel like it is less work , wrong. The first month you start off slow then everything get crazy after . Once you are hired you will be given a phone and a computer. They communicate mostly via email, your email will go off non-stop. You will get about 300 emails per day and only 10 might be for you but you still have to check. The cell phone seems to only ring while you are driving between patients . The documentation can become overwhelming depending on how much patient you see per day. They will say 3-4 which is good but most time not realistic. I have seen more than 6 patients a day. If you love to drive like me you will think it is fun at first, when you start feeling overwhelmed you do not want to drive on your day off and after work hour. They pay 0.56 cent per mile not worth it if you have a nice car, I put 16,000 miles on my car in 6 mths ( I do not drive my car on weekends or after work hour). About you car , season own you car .You will have so much supplies in your car your trunk will look like a mini supply room. Last but not lease if you were working 3 12hr shift at the hospital, at season you will feel like you work 5 12 and on weekends you are so tired you want to stay in. I really hope this help , the best thing I like about working for season is the families that I help.
Pros
pay
Cons
you take work home, you have no life, they work you into the ground
Was this review helpful?Yes119No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST HOSPICE EVER!!!!!!
Sales (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAFebruary 22, 2015
If you will first notice that there are a lot of positions available in the Glendale office. That is because in the LA and Orange office the staff and more so, management suck and have sucked for the 6+ years they have out here in the west.
They show mass favoritism, discrimination and some management sleeps with the other managers in the office.
The expectations are ridiculous and they provide no support. The national office is of no support either. They are clues out there in Chicago.
It is a shame most of all because hospice should be about the patient and family. Seasons could care less. It is about the $$$$ and trying to get a "title". Folks will throw you under the bus and then step all over you to ahead and on top!
If you are smart, which you clearly are; since you are reading these reviews, go elsewhere. You will be able to sleep at night. If you go to Seasons you will not!
If you have no morals, pride, or ethics... you will be a perfect fit.
Pros
nothing except stress, aggravation, and having to look for a new job in 6 months tops!
Cons
favoritism, needing to participate in "relations" to get a head, and or keep your job
Was this review helpful?Yes87No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed
xxx (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, ArizonaJanuary 14, 2015
Toxic invironment! !!!
If you are considering marketing, be prepared to have your every move monitered and critique.
Unprofessional, arrogant leadership that is in stress mode. High employee turn over.

There are high expectations for the clinical team, which was appreciated.
Pros
salary and benefits
Cons
stressful and toxic invironment
Was this review helpful?Yes66No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harassing, hostile, abusive environment
LPN (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDDecember 5, 2014
A Continuous Care (CC) LPN was promoted to supervise the CC Team. She had very little nursing experience, and was given no management training. Her leadership skills are nonexistent and her management style is based on controlling, and she has NO idea how to talk to or treat people. And if you don't submit to her demands, she will harass you and make disparaging remarks about you to coworkers. These issues were raised up the chain of command including HR, and then retaliation began. Something like 16 or 17 LPNs quit or were fired within the 15 months after she was promoted, and neither the local management nor the corporate management care because nurses are a dime a dozen. Management has circled the wagons around her, enabling her abusive and harassing behaviors. They would rather continue to lose spectacular hospice nurses rather than address the core problem. If you consider yourself valuable or worthy in any way, DO NOT accept a position with this office.
Pros
hospice care, money, benefits
Cons
harassment, hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes150No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physician is ABSOLUTELY RIGHT...HORRIBLE place to work!!!!
nurse (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 22, 2014
So sad to see a money hungry corporate attitude RUIN what used to be an excellent team of compassionate professionals, and turn it into nothing more than another healthcare machine. Shameful. The deceit was more than overwhelming-on so many levels: towards potential and existing patients/families, it's own physicians and employees, fellow healthcare providers, vendors, etc... You name it...they lied about it, or manipulated it to suit them. I have great sorrow for those that did not truly get the care they deserved, all for the sake of the almighty dollar. I could go on for hours, and I could probably write a book about it all. But I chose to focus on the positives in my life now.The only reason I am posting this is to warn others, to spare them the agony of The Season's Hospice experience.... at any level. I believe that in this life you should treat others as you wish to be treated-with dignity and respect. Clearly, The Season's Hospice- Milwaukee Branch management do not hold that same believe. I am relieved that this excruciating chapter of my life is closed.
Pros
i don't work there anymore!!
Cons
manipulative management, hidden agendas, no compassion, $ driven.
Was this review helpful?Yes125No14

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture