Seattle's Union Gospel Mission Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Manager (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 18, 2016
Wonderful experience, the culture needs some adjusting though. I loved my job and team. Loved my job there! The daily routines were nice and I loved being able to meet people who love their work. The culture of the mission needs some changes, but I know the staff is working to make Seattle's Union Gospel Mission worth working for.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people with great mission statement
Donor Relations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 20, 2016
Typical day at work consisted of office like daily routines. Checking emails and answering phone calls. Through my time at UGM, I learned skills to help aid my in a future career in Social Work, Management, or Human Services.
Pros
Great Benefits for a non-profit
Cons
Bad office space
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 4, 2016
What this organization does is wonderful for the homeless community and the people they are serving. Unfortunately, they are abusive to their employees. Low pay, not enough staff on duty for the number of people they work with. The executive team cares more about donors than the staff or the people they serve.
Pros
Serving people in need and a great health care plan
Cons
Dysfunction at highest levels of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homelessness Social Service Agency
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 8, 2016
If you want to learn more about those who are under-resourced in our communities and be part of their lives or those who find themselves homeless, volunteer with the Mission or come invest yourself for a period of time. The homeless are not unlike ourselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can't require someone to be Christian to work for you in WA
Job Applcant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 24, 2016
Check out the statement of faith you have to agree to. Christians only. I don't care if it's a church, that's wrong of them, and illegal.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization with a heart for the most vulnerable
Children's Ministry Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 8, 2013
It was a joy to work for an organization so committed to the poor and hurting. As the Children's Ministry Coordinator for 6 years it was a pleasure to create a safe space for children during out-of-school time. Equally vital as academic mentoring, enrichment activities and mentoring for the youth were the relationships I was able to develop with the families. I immensely enjoyed connecting with them and finding ways to provide resources and support for them as they (often with meager resources) worked to provide a great home for their children. It was a privilege to be a part of an organization with such a demonstrated and love and commitment to children.
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Mission
Legal Intern (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 13, 2014
I had the privilege to work as a summer intern on behalf of people in the Mission's addiction recovery programs. Their office handles a wide variety of legal matters and can provide life-changing results for clients in the midst of addiction recovery.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Guest Relations Host (Former Employee) –  Seatte, WAAugust 6, 2012
This place is a wonderful place to stretch your humiliy, practice your social skills and communicable skills
Pros
free lunch, dinner, breakfast, opprotunities for improvement
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transformation
Clerk/Leader (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 7, 2014
UGM took me in, while in my mess, and nursed me back to health and prosperity.
Pros
Free Room and Board
Cons
Having to Deal with Personal Stuff
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with great people, and a great goal!
Audio Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 27, 2013
Such an inspiring place to be. I enjoyed working with them to design a great recording studio.
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport

Want to know more about Seattle's Union Gospel Mission?

Ask a question

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Seattle's Union Gospel Mission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
2.7

Seattle's Union Gospel Mission Reviews by Location