Seattle City Light Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor safety culture and uncanny nepotism.
Senior Vessel Captain (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 9, 2016
Every employee, including managerial employees has agreed SCL is a broken company. Being a utility company and managing several hydroelectric dams they are a very profitable company and in my opinion are happy with the revenue stream and unwilling to change.
Pros
Pay and reliability
Cons
Safety
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but toxic culture
Meter Electrician/ OOC Meter Crew Chief (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 28, 2016
City Light is a place where you spend the day having people tell you right is wrong and wrong is right.

Governance is almost completely gone, and the culture of discipline isn't far behind.

The good parts of utility culture have been largely destroyed, but a lot of the bad still remains.

Treating co-workers like peons, ageism, and personal attacks are all rampant.

Top performer people should avoid this organization. It has no ability to respond to what you bring, nothing to offer you in the way of personal growth, and no other prospect except that of a wasted chunk of your career.

There is truly nothing here worth a piece of your life.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Just about everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work pay is low
QA Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 29, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Seattle City LightMay 25, 2015
I love to get up and go to work. Good people to work with. Great learning . very good work ethics.
Upper management are approachable with open door policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work People feel like they are part of a family
Meter Electrician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 21, 2015
Commradery was the way of life at Seattle City Light. I had many friends there. We would often go to lunch together. We also often had lunches catered.
Pros
many benifits
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important and satisfying work, significant organizational challenges
Energy Scheduler and Marketer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 8, 2015
Providing reliable power to the city while making sure that all environmental goals are met was a very satisfying job. Earnings goals were clearly stated. Bonuses were not often paid, in opposition to the custom of other companies which employ energy traders and schedulers.
Pros
beautiful view, enjoyable downtown location
Cons
12 hour rotating shift with no structured breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Environmental Affairs Intern (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 23, 2015
Learned a lot about using excel for analysis and GIS mapping. I also learned about how to conduct vegetation management surveys and analysis. As an intern, I was given lots of opportunities to lead projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely flexible and competitive pay.
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 4, 2015
A typical day includes working with other engineers on projects and maybe some local travel. The majority of the day you are sitting at your cubicle working on the computer. Projects may take a while to finish because it takes a while to overcome problems due to the size of the projects. Co-workers can be awesome or a pain depending on your personality and who you are grouped with. Hardest part of the job is trying to enjoy the full 8 hours without being bored. Most enjoyable part of the job is lunch with coworkers or traveling for small projects.
Pros
flexible hours and job security.
Cons
can be a bit boring if the projects do not interest you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this jobq
Utility Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WADecember 30, 2014
This was a great job and a great company to work for.
Someday I hope to make it back there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Project Manager / Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 29, 2014
Flexible hours. I learned a lot about Excel formulas. My co-workwers were very nice
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Challenges
Accounting Technician II (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 8, 2014
I audited customers electric bills. Reviewed billing errors and rebilled the customer.

Great co workers,,,,,hardest part of the job was having to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Internship
Substation Eng. Intern (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 13, 2013
Learned about the engineering design process.
Gained knowledge and experience using AutoCAD and Meridian.
Friendly and knowledgeable co-workers.
Quiet personable work environment in close proximity with team members.
Collaboration with other engineers encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Administrative Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 3, 2013
I enjoyed being in-charge of my own office. I worked with a team of good people and I liked being busy. The job was a constant workload and I didn't mind it at all. I love doing the payroll and making sure my co-workers were happy. I did love this job.
Pros
good job
Cons
dusty work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture shifted from traditional power utility to public/community focus company
GIS Developer/Analyst (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 23, 2012
Overall community public sector company with civil servant benefit.
Public Sector Power Utility
Pros
good security; union shop
Cons
slow to adopt technology; heavy politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture