SECRETARY OF STATE Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good place to work.
Public Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2016
Very good, salary, good working conditions, friendly people, very good pay, health, dental and vision insurance, the hardest part of the job is long hours but day go by fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Boring Work
Program Technician II (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 3, 2016
The peope at Secretary of State are amazing, but the work itself is tedious and boring. I stayed as long as I did because Ireally like my co-workers, but I really needed more challenging work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but could use better management practices
Examiner (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 2, 2016
Great environment conducive to working in, but management could use better management practices in my opinion but great people across the board.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Executive Assistant/ Account Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 19, 2015
Whether it was cold, snowing, or raining it was a job to do and riders depended on the bus drivers t get them from point a-b.
The job was productive as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 5, 2015
The wok environment is very fast pace and busy from the time you start at 9 till the time the building is closed. This job is good for a young adult looking for a career not so much for a single parent.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Breaks, sometimes the people the job is very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive public service sector.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2015
A great corporation to work for with being able to give and help people in the public service sector. Customer service friendly environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Business and Commercial Temp (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJune 26, 2015
i enjoyed working in the office meeting different people. my coworkers were very helpful with any questions I had while I was a temp. would come back
Pros
learned alot of info concering state business taxes
Cons
only temporary work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun Grocery Store
Program Technician II (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 23, 2015
This was an indian grocery store. A good place to work. Time went by fast meeting new people from around the area. A small family owned business.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client signings
Commissioned Notary Public (Current Employee) –  CAApril 7, 2015
This is a great job. If you can make this a primary job you are lucky. Signing people in the comfort of there home gives them a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working daily with a diverse population in customer service capacity
Customer Service/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Shelby TwpFebruary 21, 2015
Greeting customers and handling all their car registration and titling needs. Also, processing drivers licenses for customer, including background checks for the enhanced drivers license. My daily goal is to give every customer a better experience at the Secretary of State than they have received previously.
Pros
great work environment.
Cons
i am a temporary working and would like a permanent position in a company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monday thru Friday and mostly enjoyed the jobs.
liance TechComp (Former Employee) –  Helena, MTNovember 17, 2014
The hardest part was the stress when state would come in to evaluate the nursing home on a yearly basis and when a complaint was filed against the nursing home.
The most enjoyable part was interacting with staff and the residents.
Pros
the staff and residents
Cons
not enough communication from management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Place to work!
Accounting Technician II (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 22, 2014
A Great place to work. Take time out to enjoy fellowship with each other at the Company picnic and always willing to give a helping hand to make Tennessee a great State to do business.
Pros
fitness walk for 30 mins
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Processing Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 5, 2014
Stable environment with friendly staff and job security. Great place to work downtown.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to learn a lot at a fast pace
Database Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 30, 2014
The work itself was great, but there was a lot of unnecessary pressure placed on the IT people. Nothing was ever right according to management, but yet they were able to get their work done after not being able to use the system(s) before we came on board.
Pros
lots of work
Cons
micromanagement, too many meetings repeating the same things, asking staff to do work for outside entities
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary of State
Summer Associate (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILMarch 17, 2014
I learned a lot when I worked here because everyone was nice to help you along with your work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Fun place to work at.
State Worker (Former Employee) –  Shelby Township, MIJanuary 24, 2014
Very busy workplace, which I loved. I always like to be in motion and be busy. I loved working with customers, I have been in the banking business for over 23 years and then at Secretary of State and I was always in contact with customers. I have extensive customer service experience and I think with my customer service experience and language skills could be a valuable asset to any company.
Pros
always busy, time was flying by so fast.
Cons
the only bad thing was that my contract expired.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obtained a License
Notary Public (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 8, 2014
I would uphold the United States Constitution with regard to all legal signatures and verifying identity of signature.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILOctober 27, 2013
Worked closely with supervisors in other departments for a common goal. to assist customers.
Pros
good healthcare and chances for advancement
Cons
a little stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place and learn new things
Motor Vehicle cashier/StoreKeeper (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2013
good customer service,learn how to make customers happy,manger is a great leader,love my co-workers,hardest part of my job is when computers break down,love being around fun people
Pros
networking with other people, etc
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned about registration and licensing
State Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MISeptember 17, 2013
Growth in communication and issue resolutions in sensitive situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SECRETARY OF STATE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.0