Security Finance Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is OK but management is TERRIBLE
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee) –  MissouriJanuary 19, 2018
90% of the day is collecting on delinquent accounts. Mandatory OT 1-2 nights/wk until 7pm. Last day of the month, which sometimes falls on a Saturday, until 7-8pm. First and last Saturdays of the month 4 hours.

Upper management is pathetic. The Branch Managers do their work and they take credit for it. Motivating when you're doing well, but no coaching when you're suffering. Upper management gossips about other employees. They also will find ways to terminate your employment if you voice your own opinions and hold others accountable for their actions. No formal action plans...if your well-liked and don't voice your option, you can do 1/2 the work you're supposed to, get rewarded with praise and money/gifts/etc...if you're an overachiever and work to move up but you're opinionated, ask questions, and are inquisitive about things, you get fired with a bogus excuse.

Hardest part of the job - motivating yourself the first 3 weeks of the month because you don't hear any positive motivation from management until the last week of the month when goals have to be met.

The most enjoyable part of the job - if you're in a good branch office, the staff is minimal so you usually become close to your branch/assistant manager.
Pros
Insurance, % of profit bonus, gifts/rewards
Cons
No motivation, penalized for being good at your job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people skills
Sr. Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Thomson, GAJanuary 19, 2018
security finance was ok to work for. i would go back to them. I really enjoyed working there. Thus, I would send a friend there. and pay was pretty good.
Pros
hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Henderson, TXJanuary 18, 2018
Overall a good company, field work is something that the company does not do no more, just have to be really nice with the customers. No one like to be treated bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor of the charleston county is a liar
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 10, 2018
He tells lies on his employees. He plays with your income. He don't care bout your safety. He is all about his numbers. You work every Saturday. He gets mad when you want to take your vacation. He tell you when you can take your vacation and make you cancel. When you complain to the office, they don't do nothing about it. This job is for only people who don't have children and no life.
Pros
hr lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Eufaula, ALJanuary 9, 2018
A typical work day at this job was busy and at times stressful. I learned that in a position such as I was in, you have to learn how to talk to customers and you had to always be prepared for whatever. Management was ok. The hardest part of the job I would probably say is making home visits and the most enjoyable part of the job was customer service.
Pros
Pay was great
Cons
making home visits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front desk
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  League City, TXJanuary 9, 2018
Receptionist: handling money, answering phone, filing charts, loans, collection services, customer services, performing data entry.make sure everything was in order
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dangerous job for anyone.
Asst. Manager/ Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Ferriday, LAJanuary 8, 2018
you were expected to go to clients house for collections, in all neighborhoods good or bad, with no protection. you were to drive your own car and go alone. Not a job I would want anyone doing alone or without a gun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful job
Financial Officer (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJanuary 8, 2018
I took loan applications for title and payday loans and reviewed them to see if they could get approved or not. I learned that when somebody needs money or when it comes to paying it back they will come up with the craziest reasons for needing it or no being able to pay it back. The hardest part of the job was the field work where we had to go to their doors after hours to try and make contact and collect our money back. The most enjoyable was the friends and made from the customers that came in there.
Pros
The customers
Cons
The field work in collections
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MOJanuary 5, 2018
One of the most important things to remember is when deciding if someone should be approved for a loan is if it is really helping or hurting a customer.
Pros
Hour lunch, healthcare, get to help people who may really be in need
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
SENIOR ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 4, 2018
Made between 200-300 calls a day while helping customers in person. management and discipline are more of a favoritism kind of thing. Had an awesome manager who was always willing to work with you if you needed time off for important things, unfortunately that can be taken advantage of, weekends sometimes did have to be a requirement but it was only for a few hours. Unfortunately as well the approval of loans and customer increases was also based on how the manager felt that day and how she saw the customers appearance not fully on their good credit and work stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the customers and coworkers, terrible management
Manager in Waiting (Former Employee) –  West Plains, MOJanuary 3, 2018
While employed with SFC I received some of the worst management I have ever encountered while employed. Also, upon traveling branch to branch to train, training was not always consistent, nor was the way each coworker was told to handle accounts, etc. There was a lack of consistency while following the ever changing policies and procedures. Bringing this to managements attention was difficult as branch manager where based was absent more often than not and often took advantage of lack of supervision. I would not go back to this company nor any company in the business of loans processing. While the customer base was enjoyable the duties of the job were boring and there was not enough work to go around.
Pros
Free healthcare, ample pay
Cons
Poor management and training, not enough work load to cover the hours worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, LAJanuary 3, 2018
This was one of the best jobs that I have had. The people there are friendly and the Branch manager there was AWESOME. I love my time there and I am very grateful for everything that I learned
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did the majority of the work. Witnessed Mgr. swearing at customer.
Assistant Manager in Loan Operations (Former Employee) –  Chippewa Falls, WIDecember 29, 2017
Obtained proper financial documents to obtain small loans. Had to verify employment and pay. Had to reconcile financial documents and monies taken in during the day and make daily deposits.
Pros
Able to leave the office to do collections.
Cons
Pay, healthcare, no paid time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Athens, ALDecember 28, 2017
I would process new loans for customers. I would call past due customers. I would also make house visits in order to collect money on past due accounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very restrictive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaDecember 27, 2017
Company is never happy with results. Low pay and over 50 hours per week. Employees are not given proper tools to be able to do their job effectively.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesDecember 27, 2017
This company has the opportunity to be great, with any collection, loan company, it requires 120% dedication, long hours and can be inconsistent at times. Ask questions, get all the answers before you decided to take a job here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer services
Senior Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tullahoma, TNDecember 18, 2017
manager cherry picks call routes. manager will take sides with other employees and not enforce the rules. The work hours are great and making calls not that bad
Pros
vacation personal days
Cons
cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
District Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 13, 2017
N/A Great

Excellent Training Supervisor program, relocation opportunities available, good leadership from district manager upward (unique), servant leaders style implemented by leadership, Autonomy to perform job, recognition.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive and negative workplace
Sr. Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Colcord, OKDecember 12, 2017
Poor management. From branch managers to Regional managers, there is a lack of respect for employees and shortage of managers who truly want to see you be successful. There is alot of cut throat gossip and extreme unprofessional behavior. Worst company I've worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, not recommended if you have a family.
Manager (Former Employee) –  AlabamaDecember 7, 2017
While the supervisor and state leader were amazing in most areas, it is basically on the manager to handle every situation. I work 45-50 hours a week with out complaint, for 2 years and when I told my supervisor I was uncomfortable in my office due to a high conflict assistant manager I was basically on my own. When I had a family emergency or death in my family I was scolded for missing work and asked on occasion to make up the hours I missed even when I had sick time available. If they would care more about the employee and cut back on the hours this could be an amazing place to have a career.
Pros
Training, paid travel, room to advance.
Cons
High stress, no conflict resolution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Security Finance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 485 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9