Find companies:
Security Industry Specialists, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Security Industry Specialists, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy what I do.
Worker (Former Employee), Nation WideFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: "legends die hard."
Cons: "you don't know what you have until it's gone."
5 stars. I enjoy hearing that I am a legend.

Geoffrey Chaucer said it best. "All good things must come to an end"

Noel Coward. "The show must go on"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'd Better Hope You get A Good Site..
Security Specialist (Current Employee), Palm Beach, FlFebruary 17, 2014
Supervisors never get back to you their always busy expect you to always be there on short notice and they do not stick up for their staff as long as they can keep the clientele happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compensation for the Workload
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 4, 2014
A typical day of work depends on the shift you take. Your work will be greeting and make sure only authorized personnel are allowed into restricted space. The difference between shifts is primarily in how volume of people working in the site, so less work. This job will teach you how to work under pressure, customer service skills, writing daily reports, – more... and the workings of card readers and access control.
The management in this company is good. The supervisors are nice and on point with their jobs. Your co-workers will get the job done, some are lazy, some are working on point.
The most difficult part of the job will be standing up for potentially 8 hours. That is one of the primary requirement of getting a job at SIS. The most enjoyable part of this job is the ease of the workload, so it is not going to be too stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Security specialist (Former Employee), seattle, waDecember 18, 2013
a typical day at work was always the same routine just new rules everyday. it was a smooth day most of the time. the hardest part is the lack of training besides that not too much wrong with it. just a little racist there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Security Workplace with opportunity for Advancement
Badging Specialist (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 13, 2013
Pros: wealth of knowledge, international conversation
Cons: lack of communication with management, lack of compensation for work
8-12 hour shifts ensuring badge access for over 200 Amazon sites world wide.
I learned to use Lenel as well as SharePoint and enhanced my Excel skills.
Management tended to be a bit stand offish and hard to communicate with.
As with many jobs there was a lot of gossip but mostly a very professional group to work with.
The hardest part of my job is the – more... language barrier from site to site.
I enjoyed the group that I worked with and constantly learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great security company
GSOC Coordinator (Former Employee), Culver City, CAOctober 11, 2013
SIS is a great company to work for. A very family oriented company. I had a great experience there and wish them my best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work but everyone isn't trustworthy
Security Guard (Former Employee), Mountain View, CAJune 13, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: new rules implemented weekly
I would perform continuous exterior patrols around the 10 office buildigs which belong to Google located in Mountain View, Ca. I learned how to properly respond to medical emergencies. I learned how to respond to a typical door unlock. I learned how to take information to write detailed incident reports. The hardest part of my job was to stay busy when – more... things were slow. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with Google employees on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company flat out is the WORST
Mobile Driver (Former Employee), CupertinoJune 10, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: this company is the worst at every thing else, you may have alot of exp and start @ $15 a hour, then they hire somebody with no exp and they get paid $17 a hour
The only thing good about this company is the pay. I worked their for over 5 yrs nothing but empty promises. All they care about is the company and they don't care about you. They will remind you of that almost everyday. With statements like if you don't like it there's the door or one of my favors is there's a million people who would love to have – more... your job. Yeah that maybe true but are they going to do as good of a job as you do.They tell you this in briefing's, in shift meeting or while your working. They promise you all kinds of stuff and deliver on none of them, It starts with the Owner of the company down to the Supervisors. This place is a revolving door. I've seen them hire 75 people in a month only to get rid of most of them in about 45 days. Then have to hire more people again. This company is a JOKE. If you DON'T believe me see for yourself. But just remember I told you so. lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A retail setting enviroment
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), San Bruno, CaApril 25, 2013
Fun place to work. Management up to 10 employees and participated in payroll and assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending the location this company can be satisfying for the line of work
Security Guard (Current Employee), Elk GroveMarch 31, 2013
Prevent theft, property damages, and other potential danger to client. Issued badges for visitors, guests, contractors, and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending the location this company can be satisfying for the line of work
Security Guard (Current Employee), Elk GroveMarch 31, 2013
Prevent theft, property damages, and other potential danger to client. Issued badges for visitors, guests, contractors, and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company to work for
Security Ops Manager (Former Employee), CAFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: you get paid
Cons: over worked, company dont care about you etc
First off when I applied for the position they said they will contact you for interview they NEVER did! Their HR/recuritment Dept has no idea whats going on or who is hiring who.
Your told your hired only to fine out your not hired then hired again. No knows whats what in the company.

My advice steer clean of this company. This is my own personal view – more... from what I have experienced with them! – less

Toocoolforschool – April 17, 2013

Yeah, they probably didn't want you... For every person hired where I work, they went through about 30 people... They are extremely selective and you just didn't make the cut...

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: advertise by word-of-mouth
Cons: can't think of any
It's a great company to work for if you wish to feel taken care of. The management team is top notch and are available for all your needs around the clock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open environment
Security Operations Manager (Former Employee), Centennial, CODecember 10, 2012
Had a very open environment to provide best quality service to clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive Management, Clerical worker, at Every Level
Security/Fire Guard and Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 10, 2012
Pros: 15 hr, but still waiting for my pay
Cons: professionalism, poor management skill, pretentious and unproductive management, and everything else
SIS is a disorganized company with a lack of professionalism at the security event level. The company has managers making arbitrary decisions when it comes to picking workers to perform jobs that require organizational skills and experience. For example, managers pick anyone to perform breaks (30 min lunches and 10 breaks), without scrutinizing the – more... best candidate for the job; hence, the outcome for each day worked concludes with the absence of lunches/breaks, after 8 hours standing around surveying the premises. P.S. a month after the last day I worked for them--I am still waiting for my pay... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Apple Co. Security Officer (Current Employee), Cupertino, CASeptember 14, 2012
Pros: pay, good environment
Cons: long periods of standing, strict standards
overall good company. Great pay, great co-workers, good environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with high standard in actions.
Security Specialist (Current Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 11, 2012
A typical day at work with Security Industry Specialists (SIS) is characterized by excellent customer service with holistic approach to service delivery.

To some extents management decision - making is consultative and participative, and management staff and employees exhibit professional behavior at all times.

As SIS personnel reflects cultural diversity – more... and works in a multicultural environment, I hope soon all employees will develop the awareness of cultural diversity, acknowledge its values and be capable to promote our organizational culture and avoid the clash between the latter and individual culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for full time positions with decent pay
Security Guard (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2012
A typical day of work is smooth but at the same time I'm always alert of my surroundings. As a security guard it's mandatory that I'm always aware of what's going. Doing that allows me to stay focus and keep me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun and serious job and i learned alot from it
Security Officer (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 14, 2012
Pros: it was free lunches sometimes on the site
Cons: i think they i wasnt getting enough hours
Being on time, showing up with my uniform on ready to work, writing reports,watching the cameras,putting in alot of hours. I learned alot from Security Industry Specialists.My co-workers was very nice and help me out a lot we was a good team.It wasnt no hard part on the job besides keeping a eye on people in the apple stores.And last but not least is – more... the most enjoyable time is standing on my feet,walking around meeting meeting new people just making sure everybody safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional environment
Security Specialist (Current Employee), Cupertino, CAJune 6, 2012
All employees from the top down are respectful and professional. One quote that stands out the most for me is from the CEO/President John Spesak is, "Aim for flawless execution daily."

About Security Industry Specialists, Inc.

SIS provides a variety of challenging work environments where professionals are given opportunities to develop their careers and – Read more

Security Industry Specialists, Inc. Photos