Find companies:
Security Industry Specialists, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Security Industry Specialists, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee), Maiden, NCNovember 8, 2014
Pros: healthcare has been provided
I had a great experience with this company. I loved my Job and my position. I had good opportunities with SIS. My location with SIS was in Maiden, North Carolina. Great management, good motivation and inspiration. I received good training all the time. I am proud that I was a part of SIS. If I get a chance to move back to the US, I would love to be – more... a part of them again. I miss that company a lot. Unfortunately I had to move back to germany for family reasons. For everyone, who ever will decide to be a part of SIS, it will be a great choice. Amazing employer!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
event security
Security guard (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 28, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: no room to grow
stands guard protecting people property and information..........
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meatgrinder...
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: poor management and terrible treatment of employees
You are a number and nothing more. They will work you as much as they can and will let you go immediately for any reason...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight-forward security with HIGH expectations on customer service
Security Guard (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: friendly clients, mostly customer relations and asset protection, entry point, good pay
Cons: short- term work, sometimes the location is so secret; that the first day is a little rough to find the place
Look sharp, be 10-15 minutes early, be very friendly and attentive and this is a great job for you.

Military, law enforcement and 5+ year experienced guards are mostly hired here. The shifts are 8 to 12 hours, usually great on breaks. management is decent as long as the client(s) are not too picky.

The positions are MOSTLY SHORT-TIME WORK. 5-10 days – more... for special events.

Shirts are usually provided; unarmed positions.

top performers usually get first pick on shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment with a great staff
Business Assurance Center Operator (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great group of people, fast work environment, health plane
Cons: pay, computer speed, work environment rules (unclear)
A typical day at work would include clocking in at 6am and going through a 20 to 30 minute briefing with the physical security team working in the field. In the briefing we go over events that have taken place within the past 24 hours such as break-ins, missed alarms, and knew adjustments made to site pages. Once that is complete, for the next eight – more... hours I take part in completing phone calls to sites, dispatching many alarms, sending emails,creating lengthy desk journal entries and creating trouble tickets.
Since starting this job I have found that everyday working here is different. Myself along with my co-workers are constantly learning knew things and expanding our knowledge in new computer programs and places across the globe. I believe this because we cover so many sites as a team from from Europe, Asia, and the Americas and are always implementing new computer programs to work with.
When working with a management team it is very important to have a group of managers that you feel comfortable with and can bring your work problems to with no hesitation. Working at SIS i believe that we have that here. The managers are very personable as well as very professional and if i could, i would bring them along with me to the next career destination.
Your co-workers can make or break your work experience and of course you are not going to like everyone that you work with. I am lucky enough to say that i enjoy the majority of my co-workers, i am really grateful to be able to say that because working in environment that i am in, it is very important to have a strong team environment. Between sending emails, making calls, sending out alarms, creating trouble tickets and monitoring cameras things can get very hectic and from time to time assistance is need from co-workers.
When thinking about the that hard parts of the job i wouldn't say there are things that are very "hard" because i feel as if i do a great job at what i do. There are things that are difficult though, this being when there isn't a highly detailed pass down of information from one shift to another of previous events Or if there isn't a smooth briefing with the field security. When one of those two things happens it becomes difficult for the oncoming shift because we have no clue on current problems that are at hand. We don't know what steps need to be taken with problems and the steps that have already been taken so we end up in the dark.
The most enjoyable parts of my job are the personal connection that everyone has with one another and the group activities that take place among the co-workers inside and outside of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Specialist (Current Employee), Culver City, CAJuly 7, 2014
Great place to work other than the lack of communication within the management. They only problem i have is they ended up laying us off, but it wasn't entirely their fault, they just withheld that information. I loved every other aspect of the company, uniforms provided, excellent pay and benefits and the supervisors cared and were on top of procedure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Corporate Office (Current Employee), San Jose, CAMay 19, 2014
Pros: the people and the parties
Cons: low pay at the corporate level
I was shocked to see how some of the Specialists rated their sites. Every site is different and has different management so I can see how some are very happy while others are very unhappy. Also, I notice most of the unhappy people are "former employees" which could be because we have a higher level of expectations for all of our employees and coworkers. – more... What that means for me at the Corporate Office is that people do their jobs well and take pride in their work. So I do NOT have to pick up the slack for lazy or incompetent woworkers. If you are lazy or lack-luster, I suggest you work somewhere else. We work hard and play hard. I have been here for several months now and I have been treated very well. I earn challenging assignments and I work with interesting people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Draper, UTMay 4, 2014
Pros: great leadership from company.
My Job is perfect combination of customer service and Security. Enjoy working for my client , and enjoy working with a lot of professional individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Scheduling; Lots of Standing Around
MOBILE PATROL OFFICER (Former Employee), Cupertino, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: reasonable scheduling; choose your hours if you're part-time
Cons: not enough full-time positions, must begin as a part-time employee first
You will stand around a lot so be prepared. The job primarily consists of watching contractors work. If you are okay with keeping a watchful eye on multiple contractors or manning a gate this is the job for you. Observation is your primary reason for employment followed by being a visible deterrent, keep in mind each client has it's own policies that – more... is negotiated with SIS for a final outcome of your post orders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy what I do.
Worker (Former Employee), Nation WideFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: "legends die hard."
Cons: "you don't know what you have until it's gone."
5 stars. I enjoy hearing that I am a legend.

Geoffrey Chaucer said it best. "All good things must come to an end"

Noel Coward. "The show must go on"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'd Better Hope You get A Good Site..
Security Specialist (Current Employee), Palm Beach, FlFebruary 17, 2014
Supervisors never get back to you their always busy expect you to always be there on short notice and they do not stick up for their staff as long as they can keep the clientele happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compensation for the Workload
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 4, 2014
A typical day of work depends on the shift you take. Your work will be greeting and make sure only authorized personnel are allowed into restricted space. The difference between shifts is primarily in how volume of people working in the site, so less work. This job will teach you how to work under pressure, customer service skills, writing daily reports, – more... and the workings of card readers and access control.
The management in this company is good. The supervisors are nice and on point with their jobs. Your co-workers will get the job done, some are lazy, some are working on point.
The most difficult part of the job will be standing up for potentially 8 hours. That is one of the primary requirement of getting a job at SIS. The most enjoyable part of this job is the ease of the workload, so it is not going to be too stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Security specialist (Former Employee), seattle, waDecember 18, 2013
a typical day at work was always the same routine just new rules everyday. it was a smooth day most of the time. the hardest part is the lack of training besides that not too much wrong with it. just a little racist there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Security Workplace with opportunity for Advancement
Badging Specialist (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 13, 2013
Pros: wealth of knowledge, international conversation
Cons: lack of communication with management, lack of compensation for work
8-12 hour shifts ensuring badge access for over 200 Amazon sites world wide.
I learned to use Lenel as well as SharePoint and enhanced my Excel skills.
Management tended to be a bit stand offish and hard to communicate with.
As with many jobs there was a lot of gossip but mostly a very professional group to work with.
The hardest part of my job is the – more... language barrier from site to site.
I enjoyed the group that I worked with and constantly learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great security company
GSOC Coordinator (Former Employee), Culver City, CAOctober 11, 2013
SIS is a great company to work for. A very family oriented company. I had a great experience there and wish them my best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work but everyone isn't trustworthy
Security Guard (Former Employee), Mountain View, CAJune 13, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: new rules implemented weekly
I would perform continuous exterior patrols around the 10 office buildigs which belong to Google located in Mountain View, Ca. I learned how to properly respond to medical emergencies. I learned how to respond to a typical door unlock. I learned how to take information to write detailed incident reports. The hardest part of my job was to stay busy when – more... things were slow. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with Google employees on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company flat out is the WORST
Mobile Driver (Former Employee), CupertinoJune 10, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: this company is the worst at every thing else, you may have alot of exp and start @ $15 a hour, then they hire somebody with no exp and they get paid $17 a hour
The only thing good about this company is the pay. I worked their for over 5 yrs nothing but empty promises. All they care about is the company and they don't care about you. They will remind you of that almost everyday. With statements like if you don't like it there's the door or one of my favors is there's a million people who would love to have – more... your job. Yeah that maybe true but are they going to do as good of a job as you do.They tell you this in briefing's, in shift meeting or while your working. They promise you all kinds of stuff and deliver on none of them, It starts with the Owner of the company down to the Supervisors. This place is a revolving door. I've seen them hire 75 people in a month only to get rid of most of them in about 45 days. Then have to hire more people again. This company is a JOKE. If you DON'T believe me see for yourself. But just remember I told you so. lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A retail setting enviroment
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), San Bruno, CaApril 25, 2013
Fun place to work. Management up to 10 employees and participated in payroll and assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending the location this company can be satisfying for the line of work
Security Guard (Current Employee), Elk GroveMarch 31, 2013
Prevent theft, property damages, and other potential danger to client. Issued badges for visitors, guests, contractors, and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending the location this company can be satisfying for the line of work
Security Guard (Current Employee), Elk GroveMarch 31, 2013
Prevent theft, property damages, and other potential danger to client. Issued badges for visitors, guests, contractors, and employees.

About Security Industry Specialists, Inc.

SIS provides a variety of challenging work environments where professionals are given opportunities to develop their careers and – Read more

Security Industry Specialists, Inc. Photos