Securus Employee Reviews in United States

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchant Services
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Kennewick, WAMay 6, 2016
Going door-to-door at businesses, some appointments set by company. Company provided good rates. Heard from some existing companies that they were dissatisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
securus is a bomb
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 3, 2016
place is horrible , management is poor , they tell you how to work from 300 miles away . the Adtrans are garbage they go down everyday, the techs on the island are the worst . i can go on and on .
Pros
none
Cons
any
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attendance and Occurrence policy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXApril 27, 2016
When it comes to attendance the policy I agree with most of the policies as given, but with a person hat has disabilities or illness of some type they are not considered. If you have an hour for lunch we have to use part of our hour given to sign back in to work. Even tardy if one second late. Only give 5 minutes for personal bread within 8 hours Tardy (Occurrence) if over.
Even our 15 min breaks, we must use part of that to sign in. Most companies give 2-5 min to get signed back on to work after breaks.
Pros
Shift hours
Cons
Disabilities not considered when attendance occurrence takes place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Securus
Instructional Designer/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 8, 2016
This company has its ups and downs to work for. Not a fan of being pulled in multiple directions with little communication, and instruction of what is expected of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, TXJanuary 14, 2016
this is a forced review and honestly there is not much that i can say based on things i signed with this compant but its a great call center start
Pros
youre sitting
Cons
hard work overlooked
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Manager (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJanuary 7, 2016
Securus is very compartmentalized. Each department does things their own way and they dont like input from other departments. Its a dirty business also. What I mean its like working at a pawn shop or a payday loan office. The customers family members are incarcerated and you deal with the lowest common denominator of America. Securus just lost a ruling from the FCC about their overcharging families huge processing fee's and price gouging along with various other charges that are used to skirt laws.
Pros
The pay bonuses to almost all employees
Cons
You feel dirty working here
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work environment
Sr. Sales Resource Manager and Trainer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 15, 2015
Typical day at work consists of filtering through 100s of resumes and finding good people for our open positions. Making lots of cold calls to resumes posted on sites like Indeed, Monsters, and CareerBuilders. I also got people set up for training classes, did all of their admin paper work, scheduled and interviewed applicants. Hardest part was finding someone who would want to work a commission based position and trying to convince them that it was something they want to do. I have a wonderful relationship with management and they are awesome people to work for.
Pros
Bonus program
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworker and great environment
Customer Service Representative Level II (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, TXNovember 7, 2015
Responsible for assisting customer with transactions, and providing quality customer service to each and every individual. Responsible for answering the phone and finding answers to customer inquiries. Responsible for handling returns, exchanges, and performing Western Union Money Orders. Responsible for filing out a variety of paperwork on a daily basis such as cash sheets, and deposit summaries.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxing, micromanaged
Client Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 22, 2015
There are opportunities to learn and grow through your own personal failures and accomplishments. The company could grow exponentially through accepting diverse opinions and suggestions geared toward employee satisfaction,
Pros
Good energy and support from peers
Cons
healthcare, 401k match. non telecommunting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
NATIONWIDE ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAOctober 22, 2015
Wonderful atmosphere. The schedules and appointments are effortless and not so time consuming. It is a neat place to be employed at.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comission only
home based job, comission only (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAOctober 8, 2015
commission only
lone wolf, no help from corporate except on email
if I wasn't strickly commission I would still work here
Pros
1 travel trip
Cons
sucky pay rate, comission only
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad Culture and No Respect
Client Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 30, 2015
This company does not value their employees and treats them like the criminals they serve. The culture and morale are about as low as you can get due to micromanagement and the fact they track every person with the company cell phones. It gets worse all the time. The CEO flew everyone to Dallas and made them take a handwritten test which everyone failed. It was handwritten because he said he did not trust anyone and thought they would hack into his computer. This is just one example. Perhaps the worst Con however, is the fact they make you pay all of your own travel expenses (beyond airfare) up front, and you may not get reimbursed for a month, yet they expect you to constantly travel on your own dime. This is unheard of and creates hardships for many, as you are basically fronting the company money to do business and get no interest back on your loan. An expense report can get kicked back at the last minute for not having a t crossed or an i dotted, and then you have to wait weeks more to be reimbursed, often for large sums. This is egregious and immoral behavior. Ironically they tout their integrity at every turn, but ask any employee and you will hear a very different story. There are also very questionable ethics at the highest level, and they are not straight up with their customers. The comp plan is also rigged so it is almost impossible to make a commission. A lot of people have to fight for money they justifiably earned, and often the battle is lost. They rule by fear and intimidation, as they know they have the sales force trapped in an iron clad non compete. This  more... is not a place to work if you want to feel valued, rewarded, or happy. Stay away.  less
Pros
The customers and some of the people who work here are really wonderful
Cons
micromanagement, mistrust of employees, lack of respect, unfair expense policy, poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Software Engineer - Management treat you like dirt
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 28, 2015
WARNING: The management here forces the HR department to leave good reviews on review sites, as they've had problems hiring people because of the negative reviews. Take positive reviews with a grain of salt.

One of the worst companies I've ever seen. I feel like I'm working for Walmart.

Management views everyone as easily replaceable morons who can't be trusted with a pencil. They constantly send out emails filled with corporate double-speak talking about how they value their employees, but blatantly don't trust us and treat employees like we're trying to rob them.

Incredibly low raises, the most you can get is about 2.5% a year regardless of existing salary, experience, performance, or job title and that's during a good year.
Benefits are terrible and get worse every year.

The company is incredibly top heavy, with managers who literally don't have any work to do besides try and make themselves look good by manipulating meaningless numbers, like the number of tickets each person closes.
The HR department is almost entirely comprised of the friends and families of the people who run the company and their business partners, and is completely useless. They don't respond to emails or answer the phones.

The management doesn't even value their employees lives, sending out nasty emails whenever anyone in a northern office wants to work from home because there's 4 feet of snow on the ground.
Of course, whenever the Texas office where management works is going to get half an inch of snow, they take the entire day off.

Stay far, far away from Securus, it's one of
  more... the worst companies to work at in the country.  less
Pros
Some good people, nothing else.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes13No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales rep (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJuly 31, 2015
The enviroment is great, also is definetely climbing the charts on the business scale. More and more people are putting the Secures Payments credit card prcessing michine in thier businesses and companies.
Pros
Great Managers
Cons
shorts breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room for growth
Supervisor, Technical Support Escalations (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXJuly 30, 2015
During my tenure at Securus, 13 years, the company was subjected to several buy outs from other capital gains investment companies.
Each time there was a new corporate take over, there was an attempt to cut costs to increase the bottom line.
I decided to leave once a new policy was put into place that prevented employees from receiving a greater than 5% increase in salary regardless of being promoted into a position that was several pay-grades higher then an employee's current pay-grade.
When I was promoted onto the management team, I received a 0% increase in pay while increasing my responsibilities ten fold.
I enjoyed, for the most part being, employed there, but as time passed, the employees were suffering with increased benefit costs as well as some benefit losses all while wages were stagnant.
This situation developed a severe morale issue with current employees.
I decided it was time to expand my horizons and look into a new line of work.
I enjoy working projects through to completion.
I enjoy mentoring my coworkers and watching them grow into great technicians as well as great people.
Pros
Challenging environment, Supervising others and growing employees I found very enjoyable
Cons
Stagnant wages with increased benefit costs, customers in the Correctional Industries can eventually bankrupt you morally.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work days
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXJuly 22, 2015
Working at Securus will help you to build tough skin if your choosing customer service for a profession, I learned compassion, patients, and how to show empathy to telephone customers .
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Carollton, TXMay 31, 2015
Multiple of phone calls back to back. An opportunity to come across different characters in people.I learned a lot computer wise, such as Excel, Word, and Outlook.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Independent Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 25, 2015
Helping Seniors become covered with Life Insurance and not leave this earth without something for their loved ones to cover their funeral etc.

I really enjoyed speaking with my clients and building friendships with all my clients and knowing that I was doing my best to fulfill their needs and wants.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Securus
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Carrollton , TXMay 17, 2015
Good Company overall. Very little room for advancement. A lot of turnover because the pay is so low. A lot of petty bickering with some of the co workers.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE SPECIALIST II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 14, 2015
typical day at work is very busy, especially at the end of month. However, if one to prioritize can manage. co-workers are okay to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 80 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture