Find companies:
Select Specialty Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
122 reviews

Select Specialty Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place for an RN!
RN (Former Employee), Jackson, MsJanuary 13, 2014
Cons: everthing
This is for the Jackson, Ms area only. If you value your license and your sanity, DON"T WORK HERE! Oh, btw, they will fire you if someone doesn't like you, you don't have to do anything wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great work opportunity to work in a well-organized pharmacy.
Pharmacy Technician Select Specialty Hospital (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 30, 2013
Pros: job was part time and fit my needs well at the time.
Cons: long commute.
Enjoyed compounding IVs, refilling medicine cart, taking inventory, keeping narcotics logs, ordering supplies and medicine.
Best part of the job is that I learned so much about how a pharmacy runs day to day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible for night shift RT''s
RT (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, CODecember 29, 2013
Pros: awesome night staff
Cons: terrible rt supervisor and ceo who has no medical knowledge.
Very overwhelming for RT's at night since they work alone. Nursing helpful, but not adequate help. RT supervisor does not lead by example and will always jump on an opportunity to belittle or write RT's up. He is not a leader. Upper management does not understand what RT's are supposed to be responsible for. Loads are large....6 vents, 5 traches and – more... 2-4 Bipaps plus Q4 treatments. Not fun! these patients are sick! They deserve better respiratory care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and learn from some great peopl
HUMAN RESOURCES COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 23, 2013
Pros: great teamwork
Cons: when patients did not make it -sad
The days were eventful and very special with nursing staff and seeing the work they did make impact on many lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital
Certified Nursing Assistant, PRN (Former Employee), Battle Creek, MIDecember 20, 2013
Pros: supportive staff
Cons: long hours, mentally exhausting
Loved working at Select. Very fun and supportive staff. Family atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
RRT (Former Employee), Battle Creek, MIDecember 19, 2013
Pros: great management team
Cons: not a free standing facility
Great teamwork between respiratory and nursing staff
Caring staff
Great management
Good doctors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great accompaniments come from hard work
Telemetry Technician/Unit Clerk (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2013
Overall, a good place for advancements and much can be accomplished. My patients are the reason for me being productive as I am. Team-work is an asset within this company, and very vital necessity to get the job done, properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked hard, great co-workers
Admissions Coordinator/Manager (Former Employee), West Allis, WIDecember 16, 2013
Pros: good reputation in the community, good staff
Cons: sometimes very few breaks when you were busy, getting work covered when on vacation was challenging at times.
Needed to be a self-starter and flexible, changing priorities as needed. I learned to multi-task well with this job. Management supportive, co-workers as well. Tedious, fast past job requiring great detail and time management. The hardest part of the job was getting benefits done as quickly as you'd like when systems are down, etc. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was co-workers worked hard and supported their team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good meal at lunch time, excellent cook
RN (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 4, 2013
Pros: free meals for nurses week and holidays, excellent cook.
Cons: driving distance was very long.
Work load is heavy, but good teamwork. Nurses are valued and appreciated. Excellent nurse's week celebration, free breakfast and lunch throughout nurse's week. Administration is good, listens to nurse's complain, works with nurses, Meal time is anticipated, and exciting, excellent cook. Had a good time but left because of the driving distance. I made – more... a lot of good friends at Select Specialty Hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 3, 2013
Pros: team work environment
Cons: underpaid and overworked nursing assistants
This is a nice place to work. I currently work full time and I love what I do because I love helping other people. I would someday pursue my education further for better opportunities. My typical workday is usually very productive because I work day shift, 12 hours. The management is not too bad, but can be better to accommodate their employees. Sometimes – more... their communication is not that great, but I still get along with everyone. I enjoy my co-workers. They are good, strong team players and I enjoy being around them. The most enjoyable part of my job is making my patients smile and fully satisfied to have me as their aide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
CNA (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSNovember 21, 2013
Pros: its a job
Cons: everything
The management shows favoritism, they let certain people get away with EVERYTHING, on the other hand they terminate the good workers for stupid reasons like joking with another employee. Management likes to go on a power trip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun and educational I rate it 5 stars
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Barberton, OHNovember 21, 2013
Pros: could get overtime
Cons: no free lunches.
My typical day would start of with shift reports from nurses about each patient according to section. There are three sections.Next I would stamp each patients name on a paper that goes into their chart outside of their room.I worked 7pm to 7am. The shift was well managed and the nurses would help pull up a patient when needed.Next complete vitals and – more... weights.The hardest part of the job is waking patients up for their vitals and weights.I especially enjoyed working with the wound team nurse.I didn't mind toe taging a patient but I did not like to go to the basement to the morgue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was OK
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 19, 2013
Enhanced knowledge on the Long Term Acute Care Hospital setting and the requirements for admission. Also gained knowledge on commercial insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring environment for patients and families
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Wichita, KSNovember 18, 2013
Intense, fast paced and sensitive environment providing care for patients and families in serious need
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Case Management (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 15, 2013
Many employees have been employed greater than 10 years. The current management is very supportive of the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Taylor, MIOctober 28, 2013
I have learned so much at Select-how to manage and care for critically ill patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning environment
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Madison, WIOctober 25, 2013
Select was an oppurtnuity for me as an Aide to grow as far as cares, new skills, and be apart of different procedures to learn from and see first hand. Management and my coworkers were great to work with. Hardest part of my job is short staffing because it effects everyone at the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work,lots ot team work from CNA aids
Certified Nurse Aide (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSOctober 22, 2013
i like the facility but 12hr shifts was kind of hard,no team work from nurses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Afraid to Lose My License
RN (Former Employee), Youngstown, OHOctober 21, 2013
Pros: most of my co-workers
Cons: plenty
When I first started working for Select Specialty Hospital, I thought it was great. A free charge nurse and a tele monitor to assist the nurses with high-acuity and high nurse-patient ratios for complex medical patients. The nurses, RTs, and CNAs were hard-working, knowledgable, and compassionate. I left after things started to change. Mainly r/t some – more... very lazy CNAs. They were nowhere to be found for the first couple hours of the shift (when I was busy trying to review orders and labs, do the first set of VS and assessments, and speak with concerned family members). and during the shift, I often felt intimidated asking them for help and usually received help from other nurses and RTs. I found myself missing things, because I was so overwhelmed by trying to do my job in addition to someone else's. I do not mind putting someone on the BP or BSC, getting snacks, etc which is still a part of my job (was an STNA for many years). In addition, I believe that the good CNAs suffered, because they were the ones who usually worked short-staffed. Management and charge nurses were aware of this situation but nothing was ever done and there always some excuse. Oh, don't even want to mention the petty shift wars. If you are a good nurse or CNA, don't go there,because you will be overworked and unappreciated. However, if you love to talk and text on your cell and surf the net on company time with a full 12 hour paycheck, then Select is the company for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSOctober 19, 2013
It was a great place to start my nursing experience. However, we were always understaffed and very under appreciated.

About Select Specialty Hospital

Learning to walk or talk again is hard enough, so Select Medical wants to make┬áselecting a medical rehabilitation facility easier. – Read more