Find companies:
Select Specialty Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
178 reviews

Select Specialty Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Patient Care Tech (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 29, 2014
Pros: clean atmosphere
Cons: long shifts
The company was nice to work for, great nurses and management, doctors right on for patients in need, I enjoyed seeing and working with such great care..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast paced job with exciting and new things
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Topeka, KSAugust 28, 2014
Pros: staff members
Cons: short or no breaks
Accurate assessments, interventions and results are necessary for this job. Co-workers in general were great. Hardest part of job was not always being able to intervene for these acutely ill patients rapidly enough with acute interventions. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing and being told by co-workers that you had done the best job possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
select downriver wyandotte michigan
Respiratory therapist (Former Employee), Wyandotte Michigan @ Henry Ford HospitalAugust 28, 2014
Would not take my dog here! Worst place I have ever worked in my 40 yrs in the medical field. Nurses are lazy and have a nursing home mentality. Aids are expected to turn and clean up soiled ventilator patients by themselves.This place is all about the money they don't care about patient care. They give families false hope that they can get your loved – more... one better and they can't. Doctors don't respond when paged or communicate with the families. Stay away from this place!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Staff Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 18, 2014
would the relationships that I formed with my patients and coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Pre-cert nurse (Former Employee), NashvilleAugust 10, 2014
Cons: toxic environment
I have never worked at such an evil place. Liaisons prey on emotions of hurting family members that have loved ones in ICU, CCU and SICU. The Liaisons tell the family members how much Select can help their loved ones, but they don't tell them that they get a bonus for every patient on a ventilator. They will do anything and I mean anything to make money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for learning!
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Erie, PAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great teamwork!
Great teamwork atmosphere! Experienced a lot working there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 6, 2014
Pros: large company
Cons: no structure
need more nursing staff.other than that great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Director of Food & Nutrition Services (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXAugust 3, 2014
Pros: very supportive compnay
Cons: it was very hard for me to leave, but it was time for me go grow.
Learned so many thing during the five (5) years that I worked a Select Special Hospital. One of the best jobs ever...
Jesse A. Adames, DTR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family-like environment
certified nursing assistant/receptionist (Former Employee), PensacolaJuly 29, 2014
Pros: cheap lunches
Cons: short breaks
a family-like environment, friendly, teamwork. co workers are like family and very friendly. they are all patients care oriented and really care about the patients. the hardest part of the job is watching people die and seeing people in pain. the most enjoyable part is watching people get better and able to move around by themselves and eventually get – more... to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT
Patient care assistant (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: nursing assistants were great, patients are great. higher pay but not for the work you do.
Cons: management, hr, charge nurses
The company it's self is great. They have very high standards which is a good thing. Regency and the new osu site is a joke. Management is horrible. They have their favorites more than any company I have ever been with. HR hangs out and goes out to the bars with nurses and techs. I have witnessed a manager yelling at an employe over then phone with – more... the door wide open. They corner everyone when something goes wrong. Some of their nurses are horrible. The most horrible place I have ever worked. Wouldn't recommend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great patient centered place to work
RN (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 26, 2014
I love my job at Select. We provide quality, patient centered care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Longview, TXJuly 23, 2014
I worked nights but enjoyed my job greatly. I managed the ventilator patients and was able to personalize my care do to small work loads. Select was proud of how personal the staff could be with families and patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, toxic waste of time
Pharmacy Tech (Former Employee), Denton,txJuly 18, 2014
Pros: all blacks, and nigerians go for it and they get away with murder
Cons: it needs to be highly investigated on healthcare industry with jcaho
This one place that NEEDS TO BE CLOSE DOWN is it a backstabbing, overworked, low pay, favoritism, RACIST, Admistration sucks especially the CNO, Charge nurses do nothing, I do not ever ever recommended a family member ever going to this place, filthy, EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL people doing job description that have no experience doing them , employees – more... clocking in for others that are late.Others clocking in and out on lunch breaks leaving the facility off premises, ADMINISTRATION AND HR DIRECTOR IS AWARE THEY DO NOTHING HR DIRECTOR is a complete incompetent joke.Just don't even give this place a THOUGHT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and learned so much from the core values and expertise of this corporation.
Director of Business Development/Clinical Liaison (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARJuly 17, 2014
Pros: training, salary, patient outcomes, team mates, values
Cons: not all staff members cared, micro-management
Working for this company was a great experience and I learned so much from the years I was with them. Our goals every day was to grow and all strive for a common purpose. That was to help patients and families, but to also depend on each other and work as a team. I respected the core values of the company and lived by them every day. A typical day consisted – more... of marketing to meet set goals but to always try and exceed them. I assessed patients for admission to a hospital and enjoyed the time I spent with the patients and families. I enjoyed being a leader of a team and teaching and mentoring them, but at the same time, I enjoyed the independence of knowing I had goals to set for not just me, but the for the hospital. The hardest part of the job was telling a patient or family they did not qualify for our facility for whatever reason. I always worked hard and went above and beyond what was expected of me, and always wanted to help in what ever way I could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with advancement opportunities.
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARJuly 17, 2014
Company that offers advancement in the company from local facilities to the corporate level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
providig great care to patients
CNA (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 8, 2014
its a productive work place and good experience. we have very sick people and the team does a good job it could be better but the job gets done and patients first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very patient oriented, good place to work.
Director of Pharmacy (Current Employee), Rochelle Park, NJJuly 7, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, great staff, fun to come to work.
Cons: demanding schedule often requiring long hours that take away from family life.
Very busy LTACH. Involved in policy decisions, P&T, data collection, Drug Utilization Reviews, maintaining survey readiness, management, scheduling, eMAR, bar coding, automation, workflow mangement. Daily workflow, data and order entry, filling orders, making iv's in ISO class 5 isolator hood, drug monitoring, NPSG data management. The most difficult – more... part of the job was balancing daily activities with management responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High acuity of care for amount of staffing.
RN (Current Employee), EvansvilleJuly 6, 2014
Its a good place to work just very busy and high stress.
You have 5 very sick patients.
your lucky to get a lunch.
management is busy with their meetings so its sink or swim.
hardest part is the severity of each patients illness.
they day goes quick and its rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could be changed from the VP down
Admissions Coordintor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 2, 2014
Pros: friends made
Cons: no lunch breaks, short staffed, too much work load, no support from administration
I worked at Select for two years. The upper management are not very desirable and show too much favortism to certain employees. They put too much on your plate and dont want to pay you to do the work. Come up with solutions to overwork and understaffing that does not work out. Basically they band aid everything. The employees there are troopers to put – more... up with it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't care about patients, Supervisors Pathetic
Patient care staff (Current Employee), Lexington KentuckyJune 25, 2014
Pros: decent pay, self schedule
Cons: rude, uncaring, needs new supervision, high turnover, high acuity for some disciplines, very political
Very High Acuity. Not enough staff to provide for needs of patients. Lazy charge nurses that only care about being on their phone, going to smoke, and talking about their se* lives. Lazy Nurses that sit at their hallway station and let alarms constantly alarm. Patient care techs and some Respiratory Staff runs their but* off, and care about patients, – more... others very rude. Most sit around nurses station. Very political If you fit in. Good staff let go during my time, ones that cared about patients. Seems you gotta play kiss kiss or lay low to keep your job. Very Sad. – less

About Select Specialty Hospital

Learning to walk or talk again is hard enough, so Select Medical wants to make┬áselecting a medical rehabilitation facility easier. – Read more