Find companies:
Seminole State College of Florida
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Seminole State College of Florida Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in college
COMPUTER LAB ASSISTANT/OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLNovember 4, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere, good working conditions, fun place in general
Cons: uptight supervisor, occasional hard to deal with students
I worked the computer lab while at Seminole State in the Academic Success Center. I loved the atmosphere there. Really relaxed. Sometimes an occasional student would come in stressed but that's normal. For the most part, we didn't have any problems with the students. If you didn't have any work to do, you could either go on your computer and mess around – more... or do your homework which is what most of the employees did since almost all of them were students also.

There were no raises available or benefits. The only way you could get fired from working there is if your grades dropped if you were a student. Since there weren't many jobs to have there, there weren't a lot of opportunities to grow.

The manager that ran our center was a little uptight. She stressed out about little things and was sometimes rude to students. She didn't keep the ASC clean, it looked very cluttered. She also had no problems raising her voice at her employees in front of students if they did something wrong.

My coworkers were all nice for the most part. Most of them ended up being my friends. We all worked together and helped each other out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seminole State College
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Sanford, FLSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: short hours
Very good environment
you learn to multitask
my coworkers are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Assistant
Student Director - Student Engagement Team (Current Employee), Sanford, FLJuly 19, 2014
I have had the opportunity to plan many events in this position. This involves call vendors, setting up appointments, working on a budget, set up, and break down of an event. I have coordinated events such as housing fairs, career fairs, health and wellness events, and more. These events help get the students at Seminole State College of Florida more – more... interactive on campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of care and concern for employees
Security Officer (Former Employee), Oviedo, FLFebruary 17, 2014
Cons: short breaks, no compensations
I would never work for this company again based on the fact that the employees are mistreated by management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: work hours
Cons: no perks for part time
Good place to work if you you can get in full-time, par timers get no benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enriching and challenging workplace
Fine Arts Gallery Curator (Current Employee), Sanford, FLJanuary 25, 2014
I've strengthened existing, and acquired new skills in fine arts management; collections, purchasing, budgeting, curating, installing, etc. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to do what I enjoy. The hardest part of the job is being part-time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Enrollment Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Sanford, FLJanuary 21, 2014
I enjoyed my time working at Seminole State College of Florida. It gave me the experience and skills necessary to achieve my passion of helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working as a nursing professor, very supportive environment.
Adjunct Nursing Professor (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLDecember 21, 2013
Pros: the work environment, people, etc.
Cons: can not think of any
The day depends on what I am doing for that particular day. Preparation for the week's clinical at the acute care facility. Lesson building, course management, etc. My co-workers are great to work with, collaborative work environment, very supportive. The hardest part of the job, is probably when a student is not doing well, even after developing a – more... plan of action to help overcome any learning difficulties they are experiencing. The most enjoyable is seeing the success of the students and their enthusiasm to gain knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working in an academia environment and helping people better themselves.
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Sanford, FLMay 20, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great environment
Cons: long days during the summer
At Seminole State, I design artwork to illustrate subject matter and support the development of College publications, marketing materials, website, and other multimedia assignments. Design and produce College marketing publications including student and college materials, newsletters, filers, brochures, billboards and advertisements. Support the graphic – more... design of the College website as a marketing, communications and interactive tool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working and academic environment
Records and Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 16, 2012
I worked at Seminole State College while completing my freshman and sophomore years of College there. I had developed great relationships with faculty and students, but I truly bonded with SSC when I began working there. The working environment is formal, but friendly. Supervisors are professional, but kind. Co-workers are friendly and responsible. – more... I very much enjoyed working at Seminole State! – less