Sempra Energy Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-established, secure company
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 17, 2017
Sempra is well-established in the infrastructure space and generally treats its employees well financially. The dress is business-casual and the culture is semi-formal. The company is generally well-managed, but can be political.
Pros
Stable company, good benefits, casual atmosphere
Cons
Work-Life Balance, Political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, but new great talent is hard to become permenant.
Accountant /CONTRACTOR (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 23, 2017
Flexible hours. Lots of work to caught upon. Do a good job, be friendly and professional.Bring your experiences to the table to help improve your dept.
Pros
Secure job if hired permenant.
Cons
Poor communication from management & rate of pay horriable!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Impersonal
Risk Management - Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 7, 2017
Very Poor Management. The coaching skills are non existent and it reflects in the handling of day to day and long time planning for personnel. More growth opportunities needed.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
To Many to exist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe and friendly environment to work
Project Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAOctober 31, 2016
The job was fun due to the friendly and safe environment. Colleagues and supervisors were helpful and friendly. They were very understanding and supportive. Allows personal and professional growth. Work got a little repetitive sometimes.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company in great city
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 21, 2016
This company offers plenty of job security and is also located in a brand new building in downtown San Diego, next to the Padres stadium.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with a culture that is slow to evolve/pivot to meet the demands of the modern business
SDGE (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 2, 2016
Mid-level management and below tends to actually address the needs of the business and focus on putting out "fires and/or cleaning up the mess", whereas leadership is thoughtful and intelligent though too oftentimes is disconnected from the "reality of the business" and push personal agendas to the detriment of the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Employee (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 28, 2016
This is a great company to work for - No question about it. Great Pay and Great Benefits. They promote from within which is great.
Pros
People, Pay, Longevity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work culture
Business Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 26, 2016
I have gained an internship experience as a Business Analyst at Sempra Energy in summer 2014. I enjoyed all aspects of my job, my favorite stage of a project being - actively participating in discussions with the Business Unit Leader to understand his or her business objectives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Operation and maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  MexicoMay 24, 2016
The Job work/Life balance was bad. No development opportunities within the company. But is a good company with great management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Developer
Access Database Developer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 19, 2016
As a contract developer I found Sempra a great place to work, twice. They were respectful, demanding but clear on what they want. Once known, I was given more freedom and less direction which was beneficial to both Sempra and me as a developer. I was allowed to learn new skills in order to research areas (CDR) there was no local knowledge at the time.
Pros
Flexible and open
Cons
No permanent position at the time!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Sempra Energy?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Projects
CA Welding Inspector (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAMarch 2, 2016
Sempra Utiltities, Southern California Gas Company, provided exciting work. Everyday was a new venture and everyone was very focused to complete the project on time and within budget. Every project was different not only in the construct-ability but each project would be a new situation. Without a doubt, a great company to work.
Pros
Great pay and start very early in the morning
Cons
Had to drive far distances to different sites
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment with friendly coworkers.
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 5, 2016
Sempra is one of the best places to work for a reason in that they take care of their employees and foster a very professional and friendly culture.
Pros
Excellent location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company where I could interact with many co-workers and learn new skills.
SAP Process Designer, Tier (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 25, 2016
Very good work culture. I learned more professionalism and interactive skills. The management is very professional. The coworkers have always been very cooperative. It was always enjoyable to work, because of highly professional culture.
Pros
Many free lunches, breakfasts and other complementary things.
Cons
The hard and smart work are not often recognized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
SAP ABAP Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 24, 2016
I would say my company has provided me good training as well as a chance to grow in my field.I have a very good guidance from my manager as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the work atmosphere
Project Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 19, 2016
Need to work with a lot of clients and internal departments. Prepare reports, coordinate presentations and analyze bids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desktop support Tech at Sempra Global
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 30, 2015
Typical day involves reimaging and upgrading desktop/laptops and deliver and setup to user.

Nothing much since I was only there for a month project.

Management is very friendly.

CO-workers are very helpful and will give assistance if needed.

No really hard about the job.

Completion of the one month project.
Pros
Good Company
Cons
One month project
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable and low stress job with no upside
Senior Financial and Gas Trader - Gas Acquisition (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 15, 2015
Sempra is great for work life balance but it provides very little room for creativity or advancement.

There are many smart people that become dull due to lack of incentive's for creativity.
Pros
easy work, no stress
Cons
nothing is free here, pay is sub par.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, forward thinker and innovators in the energy industry. Know how to make money. Very professional high performance company
Project Controls Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 29, 2015
Great company, innovators in the energy industry. Fast growing and will to explore new ways of doing business. Very high performance company. Very structured corporate culture.
Pros
Very secure, industry leaders, know how to make money
Cons
very complex business, very strong corporate structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Low key
Support to President of Renewables (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 11, 2015
Corporate America atmosphere. Very separated departments but overall great employees and low key. Never any problems with IT support or HR support ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from management
AT Tech (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 12, 2015
Working for Sempra was great but I felt my Manager did not really have time or care about employee development. I guess it is really tough managing a team when you do not live in the same City.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sempra Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8