Find companies:
SENIOR HOME CARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

SENIOR HOME CARE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
payroll/assistant
Administrative Assistant/Payroll (Current Employee), White Plains, NYAugust 19, 2014
I've learned how to problem solve at a faster rate than what i was use to. helping and understanding patients and employees on an everyday basis. i have been trained to do every position in my company just in case someone goes on vacation or is off i can takeover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never fully staffed, incompatant managers & awful pay!!!
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), MichiganAugust 4, 2014
Very high turn over rate for employees!! Not paid nearly enough for the amount of work you are required to do and definitely not appreciated for all your hard work. Certain workers are favored over others and get away with making med errors and neglect residents and when you show concern to management it falls on deaf ears.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to learn a lot about home health care
Data (Former Employee), Leesburg, FLFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: pleasent environment
Cons: the downsized
Loved the people I worked with. It was a friendly enviornment. My boss was very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very loving environment
Companionship (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: holiday parties was the best.
Cons: finding your replacement.
I love working for this company. They showed love and compassion not only to their clients, but their employees as well. I had the chance to meet some of the most amazing people ever. Taking care of the clients was the main goal and making life better for the families I met. The caregiver managers went far and above to help both caregiver and client – more... when concerns came about. Job well done! The fairness was awesome and never a complaint filed. The hardest part of the job was seeing the client suffer with the present condition that pledges the loneliness the families had to endure for the most part. The life change that took a hold on their love one was no longer able to communicate with the families. The most enjoyable part about working with this company was meeting the people living with dementia and realizing, all hope weren't gone but these people can still live a normal life. Senior Care made families feel more at ease in their decision of letting outside sources feel the gap of caring for their love one. This company i would recommend to anyone looking for caring Caregivers to supply the needs of their love ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Community Development Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: friendly work enviroment
Cons: managers weak
Moved to another city and could not transfer with this company or I would have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Ungrateful!!!
Case Manager (Former Employee), Mandeville,LaSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed my co-workers.
Cons: everything else
Very ungrateful for everything you do. I was there 2 years and most of the time didn't have another nurse in the office because they would fire the director if they felt they were not making the company enough money or if the wrong person didn't like them because it's all about who's butt you kiss!! I did everything and never got any appreciation from – more... anyone I guess they think paying me was enough. Never met anyone from corporate because they probably didn't even know we existed unless we were not making them enough money. It's all about the money not about the patients. Then the kicker at the end was when I resigned the person that was hired to take my spot that I trained starting off making more than I did and wasn't a nurse as long as I was...WOW – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Caregiver (non-medical) (Former Employee), Raymond, NHSeptember 19, 2013
I liked this job because I was able to make a difference in people's lives, by helping where needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorginized company
Caregiver (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAJuly 2, 2013
Enjoyed meeting the patients needs and companionship. management very unorganized,did not compensate for all hours worked!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nightmare
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Pensacola, FloridaJune 18, 2013
Cons: embarrassing to say you work there
I worked for this company for more than 5 years. In the beginning it was a great place to work, but when management changed so did the environment we worked in. It became more and more like working for a retail office, constantly being pushed to raise our census, keep patients even though their goals for discharge were met and admit any referral whether – more... they met home health criteria or not. We worked long hours in the field traveling bizarre amounts of miles to see patients, covering vast amount of territory,. No organization and no one working there is happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience to work for SHC.
Doc Analyst, DOCS, DO, and Clinic Resource Mgr. (Current Employee), New Port Richey, FLJune 13, 2013
Pros: many positive things
Cons: lack of effective communciation between coprporate and the branches
Review POC's, review OASIS Assessments, review schedules, supervise clinicians, participate in the ADR/RAC process, responsible for PI/QA and educating to improve Outcomes and Process Measures. As Director of Operations oversaw and managed an annual budget of over 2 million dollars, with end of episode HHRG score average of $3200+.The learning occurred – more... was priceless- Corporate sponsored OASIS and Coding Conferences with on-going training, opportunity for growth with 2 promotions that included the responsibility of managing 30+ plus clinicians with over a 2 million dollar annual budget, learning to look at all facts, situations, and the "bigger picture" before making a decision. With HCS-D certification, it allowed me the opportunity to have a hands on influence over revenue, and one of my passions is the ability to share the knowledge I have of the Medi-Care regs, OASIS guidelines, and coding tips. The hardest/most uncomfortable part of any job is terminating an employee. I enjoyed the majority of my co-workers and making an office run by focusing on the contributions we each made. The majority of Corporate management just want to educate/share the knowledge they possess to help provide the best quality care to our patients and their significant people. I worked under one director, who at the closing of every morning meeting wanted each staff member to share anything they were grateful for, casual Friday's, and homemade Friday morning breakfasts! Achieving Employee of the Year 2010 was an honor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is being sold - many changes
Regional (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLMay 15, 2013
Sales rules the company, operational managment is secondary. Patient care is being affected.

June 17, 2013

Who is buying? Haven't heard anything in the Jax area.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hardest Part of the Job
CNA (Former Employee), St.Louis, Mo.April 25, 2013
Pros: one on one care
Cons: must meet family members expectations within the home setting.
The hardest part of the job was bad wheather. Traveling on snow covered roads. Knowing you have a client that rely on you to be on time for work. It was a position that i can ove in the Summer Months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work , very clean, great people to work with.
CNA (Former Employee), Oxford, MIApril 8, 2013
Pros: everyone was great to work with
I took care of my residents, from bathing to dressing to giveing meds , range of motion ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management/Leadership
CRM (Former Employee), FloridaFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: avp always bought lunch on thursday's
Cons: poor management, lack of leadership and employees without formal educations, making decisions that they have no business in doing...
This homecare agency is a joke. The computers they provide employees to perform their job duties are old junky refurbished computers and monitors that malfunction at any time. The office environment. The Branch I worked at, the Director allowed 3 employees run the operations and these 3 women, lack a formal education in Nursing, in Business Management – more... and because of poor management, excellent staff have resigned or just left because the Director allows the Billing Coordinator who walks around the office bossing other staff members in a Management Position.

Now, I was a Director at another home care agency, so I know exactly how the home care business is operated. Can I say this Director, highly intimidated by my personal appearance, my knowledge and fearful that I would take her job, becuase of her poor job performance as a Director.

I would encourage any RN, PT, OT not to apply to any of their positions. Senior Home Care doesn't care about patient's and they definitely do not care about the employee, unless you are best friends, like this Director was the best friend of the Billing Coordinator, so naturally they gossiped on the job about who they liked and who they didn't like. The Billing Coordinator is the BIG TROUBLE MAKER in this group.

Also, I was demoted and defamation of my professional nursing character was shamed in front of the entire office staff by this Director. I would not hire this RN as a Director or even a RN at a hospital. She can't even remember the taks and emails she has sent to you for explanation about a patient or clinician situation.

And the Process Measure/Outcomes for this agency that are publicly reported are very poor. The office work environment, ladies without education who are lazy pass the work onto another person. A sick sick sick unhealthy environment and all of this was caused by ths Director who will hire those that aren't very bright, so she can shine, but when you have a Nurse like me show up on the scene, ready and prepared to Audit charts as if I was a State Health Inspector for homecare in the state of Florida, I know my Medicare Regulations and of course, naturally I was ignored because that would make me shine and the company administration eventually would have recognized it because all the data of my Auditing an Oasis is definitely accurate and follows all CMS guidelines, ICD-9 Coding guidelines, as well as Oasis C guidelines. Yet this Director did not appreciate that I came to the table with a goal in mind to improve the agencies outcomes.

Well that just goes to show you, you don't have to have experience to be hired on as a Director, what you need is just to know someone in the company so, word of mouth can get you the job, even though you are not qualified to perform such job duties.

So, no I would highly recommend to stay away fro Senior Home Care. – less

June 13, 2013

I HAVE BEEN DOING HOME CARE FOR MANY YEARS, AND SENIOR HOME CARE IN JAX HAS TO BE MOST POORLY MANAGED COMPANY I HAVE WORKED FOR. THE DIRECTOR HAS NO COMPASSION FOR HER EMPLOYEES, VERY JUDGEMENTAL, AND VERY BIAS. SHE IS READY TO FIRE ANYONE WITHOUT WARNING AND MANY MANY EMPLOYEES HAVE JUST WALKED OUT ON HER. THE DIRECTOR IS NOT APPROACHABLE AND WHEN YOU DO COME TO HER WITH A CONCERN VIA EMAIL OR PHONE CALL SHE IGNORES YOU. SHE PICKS AND CHOOSES WHAT BENEFITS HER AND HER POSITION. SHE OVER WORKS HER EMPLOYEES AND VERY SNEAKY BY NOT TELLING HER EMPLOYEES WHAT THERE RIGHTS ARE WHEN THEY ARE ON CALL. IM ASHAMED THE UPPER MGMT IN CORPORATE OFFICE HAS NOT CAUGHT ON TO WHAT IS GOING ON IN THAT OFFICE. OH THE BEST PART SHE CHANGES RULES BY THE SEAT OF HER PANTS TO BENEFIT HER. THAT OFFICE HAS A HORRIBLE REPUTATION FOR HOME CARE IN JAX . SHE ALSO HIRES OFFICE STAFF THAT HAS NO QUALIFICATIONS , WHICH MAKES FIELD STAFF JOB IMPOSSIBLE TO FLOW SMOOTHLY. DIRECTOR AND BILLING COORDINATOR ARE 2 PEAS IN A POD STAY AWAY FROM THIS AGENCY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
Rn (Former Employee), Hammond laFebruary 7, 2013
Cons: multiple
The worst experience in a 17 yr career , currently involved in class action law suit because they pay what sounds like a reasonable per visit fee however they are free to send you on 2 hr round trip visits to a chaotic home environment that required a 2 hr visit and you end up not only breaking even but paying for the visit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work experience..poor management. no support, complete disorganization. the worst home health company EVER!! THE WORST JOB EVER!! BAD BAD
NURSE (Former Employee), FLORIDAJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: zero!!!!
THE WORST HOME HEALTH COMPANY EVER! CLUELESS, INCOMPETENT..WILL WORK YOU TO DEATH WHILE OFFICE STAFF DO NOTHING! WORK 7 DAYS A WEEK 14 HOURS A DAY..NO OVERTIME! CURRENTLY IN LEGAL BATTLE RE WAGE AND LABOR VIOLATION! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE..YOU WILL BE FORCED TO LIE ON DOCUMENTATION. PER PATIENT CARE. HORRIBLE STAFF!! BAD BAD BAD...AVOID!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time.
Patient Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Spring Hill, FLJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: was paid for over time since over loaded
Cons: management is a joke . clueless!!!!!
Management was changed and they are clueless . Regular office staff ran circles around management Management is a big joke Just a warm body for State to see if they walk in. . Profit is the main concern . Top priority is not the client it is profit. They over load all staff office / filed staff. RN staff is always changing revolving door.If you done – more... a favor once whether office staff /field staff then you owned it . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time office staff or feild staff
Patient Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Spring Hill, FLJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: was paid for lunch since i was overloaded with work
Cons: more work same pay no appreciation
Working for this company I have seen and heard alot . Main things they keep people who dont do there job correctly,and fly by the seat of their pants,and lie like no other and the staff in office and in feild who work hard just get more of a work load . Patients are the top priority NOT true Profit is there Top priority.They limit vs for nursing so – more... profit is made . .The less work you do and not be a team player you are the apple in there eye even if you sleep at your desk . What a joke . Turn over is HUGHE. They take cases they can not even staff . RN 's come and go revolving door Not good for patients Dr 's give commercail ins to this agency and medicare pt to the other agencies .What a joke.SMH . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly company and very understanding of life outside of work.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLDecember 7, 2012
Pros: family oriented company, one hour lunches, great people to work with.
Cons: uncontrollable patient census makes working with a home health agency very scary.
My day consisted of following up on all outstanding orders, filing, data entry, and answering the phones. I learned how to take on many tasks and adapted to several system changes and relocation. Management and co-workers were great to work with. The hardest part of my job was knowing that the fluctuation of the patient census was a determining factor – more... to keeping the office fully staffed. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be when outstanding orders were received in from our physicians. It was always a good feeling to see our outstanding orders list go down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
HHA (Former Employee), Sarasota,FLNovember 19, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: they never have work.
These people are a joke. First of all, they do not keep you busy and on top of all of that. They play favorite, unfair and rude. I did not like the company nor the people that worked there. You stay for hours doing paperwork and at the end. They do not bother calling you for work. The worst people I have met, unprofessional and could care or less about – more... employees. – less