Find companies:
Senior Lifestyle Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Senior Lifestyle Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Deceiving!!
Dining Room (Former Employee), northeast, wiAugust 6, 2014
Cons: kitchen employees dont wear gloves, dont like the people that run the place, boss is not friendly
Worked here for only a couple of months as I realized how management was horrible (everyone talks behind each others backs)/looks like a great place to work but it isn't. I am a person who does not deal with that and feel bad for those residents that put their money down for such a deceiving place they don't even know about. Would never recommend my – more... family members to ever live there. Stuck up people need to grow up and take care of those residents. Sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Server Assistant (Current Employee), Webster, NYJuly 26, 2014
Pros: getting requested time off when needed.
Cons: short breaks and always on your feet.
I enjoy my work helping the elderly residents at the senior living community and it is a friendly place to be around. Although it is an independent living community, some assistance is required by me. A simple 'hello' to an elderly person, makes their day. My job as server could be a bit fast-paced, but it makes the work day go by quicker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Program Director (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXJuly 22, 2014
Salaries are not up with industry standards. A lot of corporate involvement which sometimes is hindering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most racist company in Texas in my opinion
executive director (Former Employee), texasJuly 16, 2014
Cons: the company as a whole
In my opinion, this company does not hide the fact that they will not allow minorities to work in its senior management positions. They claim it is not the culture of the owners. I have even seen them hire unqualified directors over minorities. They talk down to lower level staff and offer the lowest wages in the industry. If your current management – more... company is not doing well you will soon be taken over by SLC because they are known for cutting wages, budgets and firing staff who have been in their jobs for a long time. The regional staff are very unprofessional. They don't care about the residents and serve low quality food to the elderly. Your parent can be sick and they will try as long as they can to keep the resident in the community to keep their money. Don't work here and don't bring your family here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago Heights, ILJuly 12, 2014
Pros: residents
Cons: pay
Loved working with the residents as I worked closely with Activity Director created and implemented programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So not what they portray to the outside world!
Memory Care (Former Employee), Colorado SpringsJuly 11, 2014
Pros: residents
Cons: everything else
Prior to applying, I thought all of these reviews were just disgruntled employees. Suffice it to say, I was wrong! I echo the sentiment that this company is all about the bottom line. It is appalling to me the amount of money these residents pay, privately mind you, NO insurance accepted, the corners that are cut. For the several thousands of dollars – more... paid per month, these families could hire one on one, full time help at home. I agree with the reviewer who said if you truly love seniors, you can't feel good about working for this corporation. I could go on and on, but believe me, the residents best interests are NOT at heart by this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of resources & micromanagement
Server (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 6, 2014
Ageing facility where resources are seemingly scarce for the amount of money that residents pay to be there. Certain foodstuffs would always run out, leaving residents aggravated & putting pressure on staff to shoulder the blame. Management is in dictatorship-regime form where nepotism is rampant and micromanagement of staff lacks. Communication between – more... staff and management was awful. Overall lack of coordination and privileged management structure leads to an alienating worker experience. Lack of resources would be blamed on staff in management-resident meetings. Fraternization occurred between chefs & other staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company with high level of INTEGRITY
Director (Current Employee), McHenry, ILMay 2, 2014
SLC has solid protocols and procedures and an incredibly supportive and responsive Corporate Team. SLC is constantly trying to create innovative new programming ideas in senior care. It is a true honor and pleasure to be a part of this team, this culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Managment from CEO to VPO's to ED
Royal Estates of San Angelo (Former Employee), San Anglo, TexasMarch 31, 2014
Pros: the residents, $2.00 lunches
Cons: upper managment, corp managment, bonuses, turnover
The company at a local level is a revolving door for both management and hourly employees. You ARE expendable and they let that be known frequently. No matter how diligent and dependable of a worker you are means nothing to the higher ups. The corporate office could care less for the residents (the people you actually work for). It is ALL about bottom – more... dollar. So if sweet Mrs. Jane Doe shower quit working properly and you are going to go over budget repairing her shower you had better not repair her shower. The Corporate office cares less about the residents and even less about its employees.

Within a little over a year of working there I watched them fire then hire a BOM, Fire 2 Executive directors and hire in a third, Fire 2 sales and marketing directors hire 2 to replace them and then fire those 2 at different times, Fire an Activities director (who did an amazing job with residents), Fire 1 Assisted Living Director hire another then within months she too was fired. Then I was let go only so that they may try part time hourly instead of full time salary for a property that has over 140 rooms to be maintained along with grounds. That idea failed miserably and the facility and grounds show it. I also run into residents all the time in our small town, they either complain of the service more so or don't know any longer as they couldn't take the constant changes and decided to move to another assisted living community.

Please keep in mind this turnaround was management and in a 12-15 month period, hourly employee turn around was much worse.

To Note: The residents were AMAZING to work with on a daily basis. You get 100 good mornings and 100 good days. The residents were what motivated me to ALWAYS do my best and they cared genuinely for me there for I took an extra sense of pride in my job for their sake. Though corporate may not care for the residents, myself and many of the directors did truly care for them. More than likely why none of us are there any longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cook (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 16, 2013
Pros: i have flexibility on menu modifications.
Cons: the menu is limited to company specifications and does not contain anything special
Senior Lifestyle corporation is a great place to work for. Their values are Caring, Honesty, Appreciation, Respect, and Teamwork. Everyone works together to make these things happen on a daily basis.
I work the grill and sandwich a la carte station, the salad station and a set service hot line. I assist with prep for future menus and catering events. – more... I love my co-workers. I try my best to tolerate all the several personalities found at my job. This would probably be the hardest part of my job. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my boss. He was a student of "THE" master Chef. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numbers first, Residents Last
Executive Director (Former Employee), USSeptember 25, 2013
I was with SLC for Four years. I was an Executive Director of a fairly large property.

I witnessed almost on a daily basis the unethical treatment of residents, and visitors.
As an Executive director the final go ahead for a new move in is your decision. The decision should be based on a few key factors:
1. Is this guest appropriate for the level of – more... care your building is licensed for?
2. WIll admission of this guest have a direct impact on their life, IE, will this move benefit them, or will they have to move agin in 1.5 years as they decline.

Well in this company the pushy sales people over ride every one. As long as the sales person gets a move in that is all that matters. No matter how much strain it puts on staff, or on the resident.

If the ED says no, a call gets placed to the pushy regional sales people, then the fight against morals, vs move ins begin.

After the ED wins the first battle, then the VP of operations for that region calls the ED and regardless of the facts, the guest is moved in.

Its all about the CENSUS, the COMMISSION, The End of month growth for the VP. Trust me once you stand up for yourself and the resident, YOUR OUT.

And the people at the top in Chicage turn a blind eye. I tried many times to alert them and they just hit the delete button. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst run business ever
Sales/marketing (Former Employee), NortheastSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: not much
Cons: everything
Bad all around. If you truly love seniors, you cannot work for this company and be witness to the madness and still be sane.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Problems
management (Former Employee), TennesseeAugust 16, 2013
Cons: management problems
I re-signed from The Pointe At Kirby Gate, Memphis, Tn. by choice not that I was force out or giving the choice of leaving or getting fired. My understanding that what happen to the ED now at the Pointe, when she was working at another assisted living before coming there. I refused to do the things that she wanted me to do such as: allowing residents – more... in without the proper paper work( TB skin test, POA, Dr. orders, Medical history etc.) The only thing she cared about was getting a body in not the residents. She only wants to get 100% capacity for a bonus. It was all about the money. You have A memory Care department that have a no experience Director running that department. I felt so sorry for the memory care residents because they are just wasting their life in memory care. I refused to treat the staff like slaves and that is my understanding what going on now. My understanding there is a couple of EEOC complaints going on now. ( Why would a ED tell her staff not to be friends with a former employee? ) She should be more concern with Points not a former employees. Yet, she can call her former employees ( where she use to work) and asks them to come work with her and call former residents family and get them to bring their family members over to the Pointe by lying to them making it hard for the staff. Telling the family member certain things she can provide for their family which is not part of assisted living. There is a lot of things that is wrong at the Pointe such as ( staffing, charge card being max out, proper paper work, Tb skin tests on employees and residents, ) My understanding a husband cared his wife home and The Pointe called the police to the man house. There is no POA on file for this person. So, what will make the Points call the police to this man house. ( trying to keep 100% capacity) Also why would a mandatory chest x-ray be required to all employees. They are to get a PPD every year. Why is it a chest x-ray mandatory? This is something the employees are asking. Why not a PPD? If you really care about your love one visit as much as possible. There is a lot of things going on that the company knows about and have not done a thing about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive, un-accountable staff and unresponsive management staff
Management (Former Employee), United StatesJuly 26, 2013
Cons: poor care of residents, poor quality of food and selection, dirty facility
I have NEVER had more complaints from concerned residents and their children in any other job I have worked. I would not put my dog in a place managed by these people.

Although Senior Lifestyles claims to be a "family owned business they do not own these properties. They are only a management company catering to the "bottom line of investors interests", – more... not to the care of the people that live in one of their facilities.

The management staff overall is completely unresponsive to any concerns in relation to the safety and/or quality of service provided to its residents in the supposedly upscale Assisted Living provider. If you voice concerns you are labeled as a complainer and fired.

Word of advice always research any facility with the Agency for Healthcare Administration in your state. If they have any complaints within the last year go somewhere else that has a clean record.

Also, meet PRIVATELY with the folks that live in the facility and their children. An unscheduled drop by visit is usually the best way to check out a community. Insist upon meeting with multiple families that you select without being escorted by the sales person to get a fair sampling.

Lastly have a meal in the dining room multiple times, insist upon looking at the kitchen and, all corners of the facility off of the beaten "tour path". Be prepared to be shocked.

Always error on the side of caution when picking a facility. A poor choice can cost you at least thousands of dollars, and in a worst case your life or that of a loved one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall need new management
Nurse (Former Employee), Webster nyJuly 17, 2013
Pros: like the residents
Cons: bad benifits poor and shady management dont ca
Poor and shady management if u dont like ur job theres the door attitude . All they care about is filling beds with residents that dont fit the required assisted living standards . Not enough staff and staff is talked down on by director which is why they can keep employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company's Upper Management was Awful
Director of Sales & Marketing (Former Employee), Dallas, txJuly 7, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits competitive
Cons: awful vps and poor leadership at the regional level as well
I haven't worked there for four years, but at the time, the folks in the corporate office were amazingly rude and offensive. They were also seemingly under-qualified and lacked relevant experience. My entire career had been in senior housing, so it was difficult to pretend the upper management had any insight or intelligence. I will say that the family – more... that "owned" the company seemed very genuine. Sadly, they were being led by the blind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor values
Management (Former Employee), SoutheastJuly 1, 2013
Cons: everything
The company does not appreciate or value the employees. They are quick to judge and fire. They do not portray the CHART philosophy they think they do. There is a reason they have one of the highest employee turnover rates in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees all fear losing the job
Exec director (Former Employee), North EatJune 29, 2013
Pros: the mission
Cons: management does not respect that muission
This company is not well mangaed. All staff live in fear of losing their job. That threat and abuse provides poor NOI results and poor resident satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical Management
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), McHenry, ILMay 30, 2013
I worked at the Mchenry, IL location for just under a year as a staff nurse. During that time we had an outbreak of norovirus. Management violated their own posted internal policies with regards to how long EE's needed to be symptom free before returning to work. As one example, I witnessed an EE vomit in a trash can, PERSONALLY assessed them and found – more... them to have a fever and be symptomatic and I sent them home. Director of nursing chastised me and demanded I call them back to complete their shift. I refused. I tried to address all of this with management and they cut my hours and relegated me to working doubles every weekend. I also witnessed unsafe nursing practices and when I took them to management was told, "sometimes we just have to look the other way". Seems to be the motto for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demoralizing...
grunt (Former Employee), webster nyMay 26, 2013
Pros: residents
Cons: deceptive practices from management/hr
Morally and ethically bankrupt company. Shady Directors. Zero resident contact from management. Families complain phone calls from management are never returned. Major staffing issues. Filthy common areas. Incompetent concierge(s) evenings/weekends. No maintenance staff evenings/weekends. Inappropriately placed residents. Directors beat down staff with – more... constant criticism, negative energy, intimidation, if you don't like it leave mentality. – less

About Senior Lifestyle Corporation

Senior Lifestyle Corporation, founded in 1985, is a privately held owner, operator and developer of seniors housing communities. – Read more