Find companies:
Sentara Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

Sentara Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Payroll Representative (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 27, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: facalities are close together but they have diffirent pay practices
Review the task for the day a set the plan of action. Complete API adjustments, process PAR employee record changes, set up garnishments, child support orders, tax levy's and student loans. Provide customer service to employees and respond to daily emails. Training classes and assist with cross training of other employees. I enjoy having a flexible – more... work schedule. The team I am a part of works well together because of the standards set by the management team. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the different pay practices for the facilities that we service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okkay
CNA (Former Employee), virginia beach vaJune 24, 2013
sentara great benefits but poor staff poor hours good place nice people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for advancement!
Patient Care Representative (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 19, 2013
Provides lots of room for advancement. Plenty of positions available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical billing department with minimal fun and conversation, very busy work place.
Externship Student (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJune 11, 2013
Patient accounts, posting payments, customer service, copying, faxing, outbound calls to insurance for authorization, mail room, medical records filing and correspondence are all the different areas I experienced. A very pleasant work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Community based not-for-profit health partner (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 25, 2013
very good place
nice place to work
good people
great boss
very good place
nice place to work
good people
great boss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as an EMT
Emergency Medical Technician -Basic (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 21, 2013
Pros: being in the street on the truck
Cons: weather
A typical day was transporting patients to and from dialysis and E.R. some scheduled and some urgent. The highlight was my coworker coming together as a team. The hardest part was the bariatric lift assist but I still love all the patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Licensed Practical Nurse/Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 4, 2013
Nice place to work.
Excellent co-workers
Great learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage the Payroll department and oversee all process are completed in a timely manner.
Communicate and coach staff (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 3, 2013
I learned many things over the years. I worked my way up from the bottom to supervisor. I supervised 7 employees and we have a great working relationship. Everyone worked together to complete the processes. Customer Service was the top priority for our department. It is always at the highest levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Volunteer (Current Employee), VirginiaMay 2, 2013
Pros: volunteering gives you opportunities for employment.
Cons: n/a
Volunteering is giving me great work experience. You meet a variety of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow!
Registered Vascular Technologist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 29, 2013
Sentara is a good healthcare system to work for. Customer services is number 1 at all times. There are too many employees to one manager and you get lost in the herd. I enjoy being an employee of Sentara and they do compensate very well. There are a lot of hours required and sometimes it feels as if there is no life other than work. However, I am very – more... grateful to work for a great company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fast Paced Work
Clinical (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 24, 2013
Great organization to be employed with. Provided flexibility with family and work life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace
Administrative Assistant/Preceptor (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 24, 2013
A typical workday when I start my shift. Check patients in, do their follow up, collect copays, answer telephones.

I learned how to verify insurance.

Management is very stern.

My co worker and I work as a team.

The hardest part of the job is when we have multiple traumas.

The most ebjoyable part of the job is help those that are sick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Administrative Associate (Current Employee), Woodbridge, VaApril 19, 2013
It's a a great and Productive place to work. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to provide great patient care and knowledge of my job skills is highly recommended. Patient care and committment are a priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very unprofessional, orientation unorganized, HR not helpful
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Princess Anne HospitalApril 19, 2013
Pros: professional ed
Cons: too many to list
The Sentara Princess Anne Imaging Department has very unprofessional management team. Orientation in this department is very unorganized and often chaotic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor Like to Micro-Manage her Employees
Patient Account Representative/Follow-Up (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 5, 2013
Pros: had lots of overtime
Cons: supervisor was unprofessional
Review patients accounts for (five) hospitals identifying the problems and performing the necessary follow-up and collection activities to get prompt payments. The hardest part of my job was when i had to turn some of the accounts over to collections especially when the patient was elderly. And the rewarding part was when I could help those patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cRaZy hOuSe
Management (Current Employee), Sentara Service CenterApril 2, 2013
Cons: management
Leadership stinks, management asks for ideas and uses the complete opposite of what was suggested. Management has favorites so unless you are willing to brown nose you will go no where in this company. Human Resources are just as bad and do not listen to your complaint and make sure they tell management that you have an issue with them so when you come – more... into work your manager has an attitude with you and gives you h - e - double hockey sticks. Work you over 130 hours in a 2 week period, Do Not Care about their employees, talk to them like they are sub human and only care about how much money they can make. Decide on a daily basis on coming in to work DIFFERENT times every day like none of us has a life. When you need help and ask your manager if he can switch your days off he says HA HA HA make sure you are here or I will write you up. I think if the CEO took a look at his staff and saw how his management team runs things and talks to employees he would be shocked. Poor leadership is very unproductive for employees, especially if you see your manager with his feet kicked up watching tv while you try to do your job. Or find your manager sleeping on the job. Or see the other manager taking a mis - delivery from Fed - x and keeping the package which was some Timberlands. Or the other manager who urinates out back by the trucks because he is too lazy to walk up front. Or the manager who sells pallets and keeps some of the money, all the managers need to work at McDonalds because they are all clowns and have no idea how important it is to be a good manager. The best part of the day was going home. Hate coming into work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
material handler is a terrible job
material handler (Current Employee), chesapeake, vaMarch 27, 2013
Cons: insanely under paid, poor management
Material handling is a terrible job, you get overworked and underpaid buy a huge margin. warehouse management is the worst I've ever seen. i have seen managers single out employees, pick on them and even set them up to get fired. HR just covers it up and then find someone else to bully.

EEEE – April 22, 2013

very true underpaid and takes forever to get a raise.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to work without supervision.
Accounts Payable Representative (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: team functions, and awards.
Cons: no room for advancement.
A typical day at work consisted of processing a high volume of invoices received from local and national vendors. These were matched against purchase orders that were in the system for the particular vendor. If the invoice didn't match the purchase order, I had to find the discrepancy, whether it was a quantity, amount agreed upon when the purchase – more... was generated, or charges for product that was not received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private insurance company (Optima)
Admin Clerk/Data Entry (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 11, 2013
If my husband didn't get a job transfer I would still be working there even though I am retired. Loved working for this company, they had great benefits and very friendly people. I did a lot of data entry and was their number one clerk in the referral dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping patients with end of life healthcare decisions
Hospice Home Care, R.N. (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: good environment
Cons: short staffed
Visiting hospice patients, usually 4-5 patients a day. Ordering medications, providing wound care. Assessing comfort level.

About Sentara Health

Health care's a beach for Sentara Healthcare. The not-for-profit organization operates a network of hospitals and other health – Read more