Find companies:
Sentara Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
169 reviews

Sentara Health Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working in the BCC office the hours are perfect
Patient Account Representative,Billing (Current Employee), Chesapeake VASeptember 8, 2014
Sentara is a great company to work for. I like the hours and pay most of all there is room for advancing and education to advance..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
robots
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 7, 2014
corporation that controls salary for nurses in the hampton roads area due to majority of the hospitals being Sentara. overworked, underpaid (besides the ceo,s) no compassion for employees with medical conditions. nurses are expected to cover up for company but the company itself doesnt have its employees back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is awful
staff (Former Employee), barco ncAugust 29, 2014
Pros: i like the shift i work
Cons: nothing
The lack of employees and bad management is effecting the well fair of the residents. The upper management needs to lead by example. Not enough staff is the hardest part of my job, its a daily challenge – more... even going into the facility. I love the residents and enjoy taking care of them. While working there I've learned nothing from the managers, but I have learned there is no teamwork, nor is there respect amongst the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very little raises
n/a (Current Employee), Woodbridge VAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short lunches, unable to take days off
Run the other way poor management, unprofessional. No advancements, no room for growth. Your not heard. Overall your not appreciated at all. Very little pay, bonuses(if any), raises. Conveniently close to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for Sentara
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 11, 2014
I love working for Sentara. I am currently looking for a permanent Administrative position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dietary Aide
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Norfolk VirginiaAugust 9, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: over worked and expected to do extra
Very Fast Pace always on yoyr feet barely get ant breaks because team leads, supervisors or managers never want to help well that's how to they do at Sentera Leigh Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Registered Nurse-Special Care Nursery (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: rewarding
Cons: long hours
As secretary on unit is fun, able to interact with parents coming to visit infant in unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awefull!
PACE (Former Employee), VA BeachJuly 26, 2014
Pros: love working with the elderly
Cons: management is the worse i have ever seen!
Terrible place to work! Turnover is extremely high amongst the staff of the interdisciplinary team:3 site managers, 3 directors of social work, 2 directors of activities and 2 nurses in less than 1 yr. – more... Entire social work department changed over 3 times in past yr. Management sets workers up to fail through lack of adequate training and insufficient staff and then retaliates against staff for failure to follow policy/ procedure and time frames for service delivery. Communication is extremely POOR, mostly due to inadequate staff. Lack of support amongst coworkers, Some undermining amongst coworkers mostly by one person. Bottom of the barrel morale amongst employees. Questionable ethics from management. If your standards are high you will not be comfortable here. Work environment continues to deteriorate. Anyone who can is looking to get out! Due to management style, day is crisis oriented in work production. Work salary staff to death. Plan to work 60+ hours per work week to meet management’s expectations and to keep from drowning in the overload of work due to inadequate staff. Why hire adequate staff if you can bully your workers into doing it without pay? Management turnover has left center in constant chaos as new hires reinterpret policy and procedures and redirect staff, who are often left undoing/redoing same tasks at direction of site manager. The only enjoyable part of the job is the participants. Of course when you are dealing with the public expect that some clientele are manipulative and not entirely honest. Know that management will not back you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company to Work for
CT Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Lake Ridge, VAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: low weekend and night shift defferentials
I work in Sentara's first Northern Virginia free standing ER. It is by far the best group of people I have ever worked with. The team work is exceptional. It is high quality medical care, with great customer – more... service. I have the best manager ever. She really cares about us and gives 110% at all times. I would give a 5 star for benifits except the weekend and nights shift defferentials are vey low. Staffing could be better, but that seems to be the norm in healthcare. I am proud to work for Sentara. In a day when other companies are sending employees home early and getting rid of long term employees, Sentara gives us a full work week. They have done wonders in turning around a hospital with a very poor reputation. They have got rid of physicans and employees who were bullies and not with great customer service. I think Sentara will make a positve mark everwhere they go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Patient Account Representative-Medicaid/SLH (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: helped one another
Cons: none to mention
loved the staff, management encouraged education; family oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have grown professionally with this current position
System Wide Resource Pool RN (Current Employee), Southside Hampton Roads, Internal TravelerJuly 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this job. The only reason I am leaving is the position will now require extensive travel to Northern Va. I have a family with children and do not want to be out of town on long assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice cafeteria - some coworkers were nice - good pay
no (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: enjoyed my work
Cons: mgmt lets employees bully other employees
mgmt terrible - played favorites
some coworkers can't mind their own job and keep their nose out of other people's jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse place to work
Catering Associate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 7, 2014
Created new processes and systems for increasing customer service satisfaction. Worked as a team member performing cashier duties, product assistance, and cleaning. Expressed appreciation and invited customers – more... to return to the store. Managed quality communication, customer support and product representation for each client. Worked under strict deadlines and responded to service requests and emergency call outs. Guaranteed positive customer experiences and resolved all customer complaints. Stocked and rotated inventory regularly. Replenished merchandise shelves with items from the stock room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workpalce to do what I love to do which is cook
Sentara Nursing Facility (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VAJuly 4, 2014
On a typical work day I prepare meals that the dietitian have planned for the day. My co-workers are very easy to get along with and work together as a team to make our day run smooth. The most enjoyable thing I love about my job is to do what I have a passion for doing is that is cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT TEAM WORK, BUILT WONDERFUL REALTIONSHIPS GREAT JOB ENVIROMENT
CMA (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJune 27, 2014
Pros: gained experience
Cons: wish we could do lab work in the office
BUILT ON MY SKILLS, GREAT DOCTORS AND MA'S
RUNNING PATIENTS STEADY PACE
MANAGEMENT WAS NEUTRAL
AWESOME TEAMWORK
HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS SEEING PEOPLE SUFFERING
MOST ENJOYABLE WAS HELPING A PATIENT CONTROL THEIR DISEASE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Senior Patient Account Representative (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJune 26, 2014
It had a great work environment to kept you happy as an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee's treated unfairly
Electrician (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 23, 2014
Working at Sentara Health Service, I feel that management don't share in an active role when it comes to problem resolutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Certified Nurse Aide (Former Employee), VAJune 22, 2014
Everything was done like clockwork. Fun people that work along side you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sentara Hospitals-an outstanding place to work
Front Desk Coordinator (Former Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaJune 21, 2014
Pros: growth opportunities, tuition assistance, variety
Cons: short lunches
I really enjoyed my time with Sentara; I would have continued to work there indefinitely had my husband not been transferred to Richmond.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Lacking in Management
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Barco, NCJune 11, 2014
Pros: loved working witht he elderly
Cons: management
Loved my job did not like management, didn't seem like you had anyone to back you up, there was no hard part of this job, loved my co-workers.

About Sentara Health

Health care's a beach for Sentara Healthcare. The not-for-profit organization operates a network of hospitals and other health – Read more

Sentara Health Salaries

Registered Nurse
$50,000 per year
Administrative Associate
$31,000 per year
Licensed Practical Nurse
$45,000 per year
Patient Accounts Representative
$28,000 per year
$13.96 per hour

Sentara Health Photos

Fun place to work!