Find companies:
Sentry Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Sentry Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work place
Custom Service Representative (Current Employee), Freeport, ILJune 24, 2014
Good place to work, great training and bonus program. Taking calls in an inbound call center with questions on car insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed work environment with great managers
Material Damage Specialist (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WIMay 15, 2014
Pros: cafeteria on site, get employees involved out side of work like parties and gatherings
Cons: having to sit in a chair all day, hard to get up and move around due to work load
Daily task management, calling claimants to settle claims, taking new assignments, Managing current assignments, answering calls when claimants have questions, managing emails, and helping others when needed.
I have learned so much on the insurance side of the claims, dispute resolution, better at negotiating, and how to process a total loss claim.
The – more... hardest part of my job is inspecting vehicles through photos. It can be difficult to determine the extent of the damages.
I enjoy the little bit of the investigative side. Ilike digging in to find out what really happened.
I really like my manager, we have alot of the same views on the repair process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most heinnous work experience you may ever edure . .
claim rep (Former Employee), rvaMay 1, 2014
Pros: its a paying job ad not a jail sentence
Cons: its a miserable place
There are a lot of reviews of the offices in WI, AZ, and NC, and those offices may deserve good reviews but thr RVA office is certain to disappoint. The stress level is unbelievable. The managment team is a group of the most miserable people you'll ever meet and MISERY LOVES COMPANY. You've got to do what got to do to pay bills but Sentry is not where – more... you'll want to plant your roots. If you just need a job take it and keep looking - get out quick before you're sucked into the culture of work place drinking and anti-depressants. P.S. the job description is a joke. The environment is so far from what they describe its like there trying to be funny. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General
New Business Processor (Former Employee), Freeport, ILMay 1, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: only worked as a temp
I enjoyed learning about new things in the insurance world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Mail Clerk (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WIMarch 17, 2014
Always look forward to going to work. Can always move up through the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work independently
Claims Coverage Verification Technician (Former Employee), Freeport, ILFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: able to work independently . little supervision
Cons: when applying for better positon in company, decision made according how much person is liked and not according to senority or skill sets
Overall very satisfying job environment, fast paced, able to be part of management and claims managers. Confirmation of coverage's for claims.. Worked in compliance regarding state statutes for each state and laws that apply regarding eligibility for cancellation and non renewals. Great team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this company
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Denver, Colorado & Irvine, CaliforniaFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: room to advance, great benefits
Cons: poor management
Reviewed claims and spoke with claimants and our insureds. This was a very fast paced atmosphere, which I excelled at. Management in most locations was great, however, the location that I worked at had untrained managers and made the job a bit challenging. The benefits and the training provided were phenomenal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working for this company
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Westford, MAJanuary 27, 2014
This was my first full time job out of high school. I worked with alot of nice people. My boss was wonderful. The company had a lot of good benefits. Co-workers were really nice and helpful. I learned alot about auto insurance for MA, VT, ME, CT and NH.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Insurance Adjuster (Former Employee), Westford, MAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: small office
Cons: high stress
micro managers. they are more concerned with adjusters completing administrative screens than settling cases. EXTREMELY high stress. pay is terrible. they are based in WI and think everyone should be paid based on WI standard of living.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and office politics!
CLAIMS ADJUSTER (Former Employee), SALEM OREGONJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management
The only thing that will keep you sane working for sentry, are your co-workers!
This place is the bottom of the barrel for insurance companies. You have to be okay with being micro managed, put down, over worked, under paid, and stealing and lying to your insured's to make the company a penny. The management, especially at the Salem oregon office is – more... completely inept! Management targets employees, especially if they are deemed a threat to their own advancement, there is racism that goes unchecked all over the office and management spends more time gossiping about the employees than working. Your co-worked will be more knowledgable than your managers, and you will be expected to work weekends, and sometimes well into the night for a "closing party" to close as many claims as possible at the end of each month. This place was so stressful, my hair was falling out! You're better off applying to kemper claims, sentry is a JOKE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Customer Service Rep I (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCJanuary 7, 2014
It was ok.I really have nothing to say about this job. It paid bills. Not your average call center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pending and constant emails of some list you are on.
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZNovember 21, 2013
Pros: nice co workers
Cons: no support from management
The culture and ever changing systems used in claims make it hard to keep up and surprisingly enough I was only there a year and was the second most senior employee for my department. This being my first claims job not able to compare it to any thing else but I never worked harder for a company and still was let go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job that keeps you motivated.
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCNovember 20, 2013
I was able to work with a great team and provide exceptional call center customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced 24 Hour Claim handling
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 30, 2013
A typical day at work would be dealing with various clients insureds and not claimants making sure the best customer services is given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work/Life Balance
Workers Compensation Claim Adjuster (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 21, 2013
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: management / company as a whole
Company isn't employee friendly, micromanaged from Stevens Point, WI

All about numbers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CANCELLATION CLERK PROCESS TRANSACTIONS ON RUSH BASIS
Cancellation Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 16, 2013
My job was a fast paced and timely when transactions were needed as a rush; Management was great with training and accomplishing cancellations when premiums were not paid. If work loads were heavy and help was needed co-workers assisted to get the transactions completed or issued. The hardest part of the job were complicated accounts that needed a helpdesk – more... ticket. The most enjoyable part of the job was great reviews and promotions for jobs well done. The rating great show five stars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contradiction
Support Technician (Former Employee), Stevens Point, WISeptember 13, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: not enough work to do; inconsistencies
Thought I made a good career choice, and enjoyed my time for the most part. My supervisor was okay, but the others would not give you the time of day and seemed elitest. Can be very cliquey, and the people who should have been reprimanded for behavior or attutdes had seniority or were tenured. I was blindsided, let go for being "underqualified", yet – more... was never given a chance to become qualified. Kept someone who had no experience (just had a better college degree) over myself with experience in the area. Think long and hard about going here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Goldsboro NCAugust 26, 2013
It was a great place to work, a typical work day was full of excitement, I enjoyed learning from my coworkers and management. the hardest part of my job was when I was unable to please a customer or meet an immediate need due to company policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong values
Product Support Clerk (Former Employee), Stevens Point, WIAugust 13, 2013
Sentry believes in making the employees life easier they offer banking car care, medical care, and fitness all on campus. The management works in levels so you may be in constant contact with your leads and supervisors you are not likely to have much contact with your department managers. I dealt mostly with employees indirectly helping customers and – more... mailing, but there were plenty of opportunities for me to be able to take classes for other departments. Moving up was not always easy to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A warm and friendly environment.
Claims Technician (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCAugust 12, 2013
Pros: company morale.
Cons: health benefits for lt20 employees.
I will inbound calls from the insureds, other individuals, medical providers, or attorneys involved reporting a claim or seeking claim information. The hardest part of this job is not having the asking that follow the initial claim reporting for the customers and for myself. The enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people. Do not get a chance to – more... socialize much with the co-workers as I would like. Management is great. The managers do take the time to address concerns, answer questions, and assist when needed. – less

1 2 3

About Sentry Insurance

Founded in 1904, Sentry Insurance is one of the largest and strongest mutual insurance companies in America. Sentry is one – Read more

Sentry Insurance Photos