Sephora Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and fun
Senior Store Creative (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 19, 2017
A typical starts with reading several emails. Then meeting with people. I've learned that being friendly and open to change has truly helped me excel.
Pros
fun to test makeup. lots of samples
Cons
tough work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Sephora
Light Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 18, 2017
My experience at Sephora was exceptionally spectacular and I would definitely be likely to recommend anyone interested in investing into their future to visit a Sephora location.
Pros
Beautiful People
Cons
Nonexistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better have thick skin!
Product Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington StateSeptember 18, 2017
This is a very cutthroat business. You have to be very competitive and outgoing. You learn a lot about the products and also the way thing are run in the store. The hardest part is not being recognized for your hard work and constantly being criticized even when you do really really well at sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING and Generous company
Makeup Artist/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZSeptember 17, 2017
The company is all about education and being a team. When I worked there the store felt like a family. There was no competition only positive vibes and encouragement between the staff. The company is extremely generous, it pays for Sephora training, where you learn in depth about skincare, makeup artistry and fragrance. They pride themselves by having excellent client service and train through role plays and scenarios on how to overcome your insecurities. They are generous in their discounts and the mass amounts of free product. I can not say enough good things about this company.
Pros
free stuff. generous company. education. great health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends What location you're at
Product Consultant (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WISeptember 15, 2017
My first manager at sephora was great, but her replacement is what to me leaving. Obviously thats just one location, so it depends on whos in charge. If you have i good manager who is respectful and understands work-life balance and is motivating like my first beauty manager, Sephora is an AMAZING place to work at. You just have to understand that its not just "playing with makeup" as some people who applied thought. Its retail, so its stressful at times and you have a million questions thrown at you in a second, but with the training that sephora provides, you can handle it.
Pros
gratis, discounts, fun environment
Cons
inconsistent hours, can't accept tips for services, can't freelance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work with Perks
USA - CLIENT SERVICES SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 15, 2017
Love that they offer Educational courses for their FTEs and also love the perks of beauty products. The culture is fun, dynamic, and the business is super innovative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was okay, a little competitive
Makeup Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 14, 2017
it was okay working it, a lot of the members seemed snobby and always were on you for doing anything. Management was nice, expect for some they were rude at times.
Pros
discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sephora Culture
Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYSeptember 14, 2017
This is a fantastic company to work at if you love different makeup brands and like to keep up with trends. This company allows you to express your creativity and individuality in terms of artistry and make-overs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at sephora
Color Consultant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 13, 2017
Its an amazing place to work, but there is a lot of favoritism, the sephora values are amazing if they actually lived by them. The schedules are okay since it is retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZSeptember 13, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping clients who had never been in a Sephora before figure this overwhelming store out. It always made me smile seeing their A-ha moment.
Pros
Discounts, positive vibes.
Cons
Not enough available hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and professional environment
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bonita, CASeptember 13, 2017
Great client, co-worker, and management relations. Quick-paced and balanced work environment. Welcoming management and helpful Hunan resource staff. Fun yet professional.
Pros
25% discount
Cons
Small working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place 4 growth with the right management
Recovery Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2017
lack of communication,most managers need to be trained for there position, but it is a place of opportunity and growth with the right management .It is a fun place to work at , you meet a lot of new people every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Color Lead - Assistant Manager
customer service (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 11, 2017
The company is driven to grow leadership and cast. They invest a lot into growth, education, elevation and training. This is not your typical retail establishment. Some processes are antiquated but they are continually evolving to grow and better there company structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love/Hate
Artist (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COSeptember 11, 2017
Loved the cast members and gratis. Loved the clients. Management was rude, inflexible for students, and catty. Wish I could've stayed, but management essentially ousted me with the hours they kept giving me and refusing to listen to my concerns, even though I had been working there far longer than they had.
Pros
Food, gratis, supportive coworkers, clients.
Cons
Management, wages, no room to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little to Offer
Product Consultant (Current Employee) –  Newport News, VASeptember 9, 2017
Although Sephora boasts itself as one of the 'best' in the industry, management is inconsistent, passive aggressive, and leaves no room for growth. The management I have experienced has been lethargic, bitter, and frustrate. Communication is constantly a problem and it is clear that the current manager does not take pride in her job, her company, or her team.
Pros
flexible hours, gratis, fun work environment
Cons
not enough hours, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Sephora inside JCP
Product Consultant and Make-up Artist (Current Employee) –  Temecula, CASeptember 8, 2017
Sephora inside JCP was a fun place to work for the first 3 years of being there. I enjoyed making connections with clients and learning the new seasonal and on trend makeup and skincare. However, management changed very recently and people became less motivated to work there due to poor management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but low pay
MANAGER - EDUCATION LEAD (Former Employee) –  NYSeptember 8, 2017
If you are starting out in the cosmetics industry, Sephora is a great start. But prepare to start with the lowest pay in the cosmetics industry. Which is why many people leave after they get the experience.
The management needs work. They work you to the point of exhaustion and you don't have a great work/life balance. They can sometimes be a bit unfair in the way they make schedules for employees. Very hard to request a day off.
I loved the culture, it was very inspiring but that flame quickly died when you go back to the sales floor and get mistreated by management. Not all but some management was bad.
Discount was low but the gratis you get was amazing which compensated for the low discount.
Pros
fun, great education, advancement, gratis
Cons
work/life balance, management, discount, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A multimillion dollar company
Fragrance Expert /Cashier / Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COSeptember 6, 2017
Each day was different at Sephora; some days were busy, usually weekends are very fast-paced. The education that this company provides is beyond excellent - each day you're required to watch an educational video and brand reps teach you about new products. The gratis is amazing as well as the discount you get on products. Overall working at Sephora was enjoyable. You get to meet a lot of different people and learn a lot about beauty products. It's wonderful being able to change people's lives. Cast becomes almost like a second family.
Pros
Gratis, discount, education, great co-workers
Cons
Poor management, retail hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Product Consultant (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDSeptember 6, 2017
It hasn't been long since i started but since ive been here ive enjoyed it. looking forward to seeing where i can go in the company. The future looks bright.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Skincae Specialist (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCSeptember 6, 2017
I would recommend Sephora for employment without hesitation. The company takes care of their associates and there are great benefits and rewards for working for Sephora.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport