Find companies:
Service Corporation International
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

Service Corporation International Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhead project manager
PROJECT MANAGER, Overhead Budget (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 2, 2014
project manager
operating expenses
meeting with department heads
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could Have Been Worse
Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Wheat Ridge, COMarch 17, 2014
Pros: amazing co-workers and rewarding work
Cons: management uses guilt, learning disabilities are punnished
Stay away! Management lies and lies and lies. They are a bunch of promises and no action. I was told by a manager to make a family feel guilty about not spending more money!!! This is a company that only cares about dollar signs, not the family.
Our office manager made a horrible mistake and blamed it on someone else! Of course the other person was – more... terminated because upper management is protected. After that I was scared I would be next.
Our general manager makes promises, but refuses to put anything in writing that way he can go back on his word. He promised me raise after raise and never delivered. When I would ask about it he would call me a liar. Flat out.
Since leaving SCI, I have found is impossible to gain employment in the industry. There is another manager (whom I never worked with and was NOT my manager) who is telling jobs that I am incapable of learning. I contacted SCI about this and again was called a liar. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling position but sales intensive
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 9, 2014
Very sales intensive environment that depends on the death of people or the fear of death to drive sales. Company strongly stresses service and compassion for families and it is genuine. At the same time SCI is very sales oriented. If you don't sell you are out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mediocre work environment
Licensed Funeral Director/Embalmer (Former Employee), Tamarac, FLMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
This was an okay place to work. I worked well with my co-workers. I believe that a more effective management team would have been beneficial to the betterment of this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from corporate funeral homes.
Former Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: they pay well
Cons: no security, memorizing scripts, pushing products no one wants
Public owned funeral homes have to increase profits year after year to satisfy stockholders. The only way this can be done is to raise prices until they just can't go up anymore.. And when that happens, start cutting costs until all senior employees are gone and they're been replaced with unqualified junior level employees.. And when it all falls.. – more... Sell the locations off to the next corporate consolidator and the bar gets reset and it starts over again. Don't do it. You will regret it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong corporate organization but very solid
Office Manager (Former Employee), Bremerton, WA, Seattle, WA, Portland, MEFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: strong teamwork
Enjoyed my job completely. Opportunity for advancement was truly a plus. Community involvement was encouraged and esprit d'corps between coworkers and departments was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't wish on my worse enemy. Use privately owned funeral homes
Customer Service (Current Employee), Charlotte NCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free food at some of the funerals
Cons: deceased serviced by a corporate impersonal assembly line
Ask the funeral home if they are privately owned or owned by SCI. shop around there are huge differences in pricing, quality and detail.
They go through employs like @%*@ through a goose.
Company does not back employs & slow to address customer issues.
All deceased go to one facility for embalming,dressing etc lined up like cattle then delivered to – more... the funeral homes.
Boiling black cremation smoke across cemetery during outside funerals.
SCI owns different locations in all cities and towns all have different pricing depending what side of town you go to.
Learned how low they go to hit you at a bad time and take all the money they can from the family while their in shock.
Hardest part of the job was not being able to tell families when they were being taken to the cleaners.
Witnessed severe integrity issues to clients and fellow employs . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading National Death-care Provider
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 14, 2014
Administration and contract processing. Working with professional managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, but exhausting work environment.
Family Service Counselor (Former Employee), Midwest AreaJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: rewarding to work with families.
Cons: long work hours, corporate owned, not much sales support and high pressure sales.
Rewarding way to serve families and meet great people/families, but very emotionally draining. It was a high pressure sales environment, which is tough when you are dealing with grieving families on top of things. Hard to sell in such a competitive and saturated market. We had to price match often. The majority of management did not take responsibility – more... for their mistakes, including customer and pricing issues. Poor training and support, at least at local level. A lot of busy work that could have been taken care of by admin or someone not on commission. An attitude of, "not my job" oriented office environment. Worked on draw/commission. Felt that if you were not a top writer, you were just a number. The co-workers were great... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation and benefits are the only reason to work for this company.
Location Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: compensation and benefits.
Cons: stress levels.
A typical day at work is stressful due to lack of personnel to meet workload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place if you are a Permanent employee
payroll (Former Employee), HoustonDecember 9, 2013
Pros: everyone is pretty nice
Cons: they keep you as contract forever
Do not accept a contract to hire position with this company unless it states in writing when they will make you permanent! I have been working here 6 months and have no idea if or when they will be hiring me on. In the meanwhile they just hired a full-time permanent employee and so I am wondering why I was looked over. I am not disgruntled just being – more... honest. Otherwise it is a good company, Large, and from what I hear have good benefits, and perks, but I wouldn't know about any of that... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 6, 2013
Pros: wonderful work enviroment
Cons: distance from home
Working in the funeral business is both rewarding and emotionally draining. I processed funeral contracts, did accounting functions, answered the switchboard, helped funeral directors with paperwork, and processed death certificates. Attention to detail and accuracy was crucial. My fellow office workers were all very mature and loved doing their jobs – more... which made mine easier. The hardest part was dealing with the sadness and loss experienced by families. But being able to help the families through this difficult process also made this the most enjoyable part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales (Current Employee), VirginiaNovember 19, 2013
Sales industry that is focused on the activities needed for a result.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MANY LUNCHES AND DINNER OUTINGS WHEN QUOTA MET
OFFICE MANAGER (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 12, 2013
Pros: my knowledge of job
Cons: dealing with all situations in time of death
EXCELLENT OPPORTUNITY TO INTERACT WITH PEOPLE IN SUCH A DEVASTATING TIME. DEALING WITH PEOPLE AT A TIME OF DEATH CAN BE REWARDING WHEN OFFERING COMFORT AND SECURITY. COMPASSION IS ONE OF MY STRONG SUITS SO I FELT A SINCE OF JOY DOING A JOB I ENJOYED AS WELL AS HELPING OTHERS IN THEIR TIME OF NEED. I ALSO FELT HONORED TO BE DEPENDED UPON FROM MY STAFF, – more... AS I ASSISTED IN ALL ASPECTS OF THE JOB. THIS PROVIDED MY STAFF THE KNOWLEDGE TO DO THEIR JOB AS WELL. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for a satisfying career
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 2, 2013
SCI, provides employees that opportunity to assist families in the one thing we all dread and try to avoid, but we all must face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
Universal Funeral Arranger/Director (Former Employee), San Diego, CaOctober 18, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: really none
overall great company to work for and very rewarding careers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring place to work with grieving families.
Office Manager - Sparkman Funeral Home (Current Employee), Sparkman Funeral Home - Richardson, TXOctober 4, 2013
The staff I work with here is very helpful and very caring.
I deal with many aspects of funeral service, from first meeting families at the front door to helping them by processing paperwork through the end of the process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding place to work, great trips
Cemetery and Funeral Specalist/Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 3, 2013
Extremely diverse in serving the community. Great ongoing training, trips etc. The job is very intense and requires work long hours. It is very rewarding being able to inform, educate and protect families through seminars as well as one on one meetings. The passion behind what we do makes this job rewarding. Need for more diversity in management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job duties
Coordinator/Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 27, 2013
• Perform routine skin puncture and venous blood samples
• Prepare patient specimen for testing
• Deliver blood samples to various departments as required
• Perform laboratory computer operations
• Carefully follow all safety procedures during phlebotomy work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work
Manager (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no ethics
My family owner was sold to SCI. Everything changed. Management was horrid. They placed me in unreasonable situations several times. Their work ethic rated a -0- ! Employees left often.

1 2 3

About Service Corporation International

About Service Corporation International Service Corporation International (SCI) is to death what H&R Block is to taxes. SCI, – Read more