Find companies:
Service Corporation International
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Service Corporation International Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 16, 2014
Interesting work with dealing with families and local organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishonest description of job
Outside Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 14, 2014
What was explained to me in the interview process is not at all what I found once hired on. The manager that I had knew nothing about the contracts and how to write them. He spent 2 hours in the office on a good day, and the whole time he was there he just played on the internet. If you have a large network of people that could use these services you – more... could do very well. The commissions are very good, but if you hae no funnel to get leads from it is a very hard and stressful job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJuly 4, 2014
Pros: good 401 k match if you make any money.
1. You are expected to work 7 days a week, to include conference calls after 8:00 pm.
2. I have learned that if there are 47 ratings on a company and they are all bad you should most likely pass on the job offer.
3. As a manager I have learned that they hire anyone, the more uneducated the better so your expectations are low.
4. Average tenure is 6 – more... months. If you are struggling the managers are told to concentrate on the people who are selling. This is no place for beginners.
5. The hardest part of the job is no personal time.
6. Job compensations expectations do no line up with reality! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling pre-need arrangment/people do not want to believe they are going to die.
Community Service Counselor (Former Employee), Riverdale, GAJune 26, 2014
Pros: pre-arrangement save money
Cons: resistance from those who did not believe they needed the service
I learned that it is so important to make your arrangements before you die. By doing so, your family can mourn your pasing so much better. I enjoyed working with families to secure that they would know where they ere going to be laid to rest and have their loved ones near them if desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Service Counselor
Family Service Counselor (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJune 23, 2014
Dealing with families that have lost loved ones. Helping them prepare their final wishes on the funeral side and cemetery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large, well managed company- serves funeral industry well
Southwestern Regional Trainer (Texas) (Current Employee), Dallas, TxJune 17, 2014
Pros: large, well developed computer programs to work with.
Cons: they should have compared our talent to what they had.
associated due to merger.The two largest companies in U.S. merged. SCI being the larger, already had personnel in place that did our jobs. Therefore we were phased out in merger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 5, 2014
Great place to work at, the people here are great, and we are always motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for corporate office Houston
Payroll Tax & Compliance Analyst III (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch. some salaries are great.
Cons: no training. insurance does not cover well. management does not care about employees.
Company not employee friendly. No structure. Some of the managers need management training and how to treat employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here due to Merger
IS PROCUREMENT - ASSET MANAGEMENT COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Jefferson, LA 70121May 21, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, great people
Cons: my time was too short to gage
Only with SCI for 6 months, had the great people and management team seems to really care about the business and their employees. They offered an excellent serverance package and have great company benefits! Wish I could have stayed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable Company and Honorable Profession for Sales
Preneed Planning Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 9, 2014
Pros: top company in the industry, flexible hours
Cons: poor training curriculum and staff
As a Pre Planning Advisor you spend 90% of your time prospecting and the remaining 10% presenting to families and writing contracts. The sales aspect is like any other, make your numbers or you will not get paid or guidance from management. The opportunity to help families is awesome, but unless your in a funeral home all day your focus is only on sales. – more... The initial training and thereafter is well below the standard of any other corporate organization and the old school methods from the training staff do not prepare a person for success. They barely teach you the industry which knowing your product is essential, yet instead they focus on reciting a script that has little value to the full sales process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You Can Do Better
FSC (Former Employee), WhittierApril 14, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: everything else
Recent example - last month SCI location Rose Hills in Whittier, California sent a message to all of their Park Services employees which said, in essence - "Mandatory meeting, now!" When they showed up they were informed that they were all fired and were being replaced by a contracted company (no need to provide benefits; fewer personnel on site to – more... help families). They each received about 3 weeks severance pay and that was that. Some of these people had worked there for many years. One of them, a friend of mine, is devastated. No warning, no notice. But no one familiar with the company is surprised; standard operating procedure. The biggest number in this review if ZERO, as in job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informational funeral director.
Funeral Director (Former Employee), Houston, TexasApril 10, 2014
Assisted families in the most volnurable time of need. Assisted making arrangements, arranging clergy, assisted family service with the cemetery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhead project manager
PROJECT MANAGER, Overhead Budget (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 2, 2014
project manager
operating expenses
meeting with department heads
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could Have Been Worse
Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Wheat Ridge, COMarch 17, 2014
Pros: amazing co-workers and rewarding work
Cons: management uses guilt, learning disabilities are punnished
Stay away! Management lies and lies and lies. They are a bunch of promises and no action. I was told by a manager to make a family feel guilty about not spending more money!!! This is a company that only cares about dollar signs, not the family.
Our office manager made a horrible mistake and blamed it on someone else! Of course the other person was – more... terminated because upper management is protected. After that I was scared I would be next.
Our general manager makes promises, but refuses to put anything in writing that way he can go back on his word. He promised me raise after raise and never delivered. When I would ask about it he would call me a liar. Flat out.
Since leaving SCI, I have found is impossible to gain employment in the industry. There is another manager (whom I never worked with and was NOT my manager) who is telling jobs that I am incapable of learning. I contacted SCI about this and again was called a liar. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling position but sales intensive
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 9, 2014
Very sales intensive environment that depends on the death of people or the fear of death to drive sales. Company strongly stresses service and compassion for families and it is genuine. At the same time SCI is very sales oriented. If you don't sell you are out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mediocre work environment
Licensed Funeral Director/Embalmer (Former Employee), Tamarac, FLMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
This was an okay place to work. I worked well with my co-workers. I believe that a more effective management team would have been beneficial to the betterment of this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from corporate funeral homes.
Former Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: they pay well
Cons: no security, memorizing scripts, pushing products no one wants
Public owned funeral homes have to increase profits year after year to satisfy stockholders. The only way this can be done is to raise prices until they just can't go up anymore.. And when that happens, start cutting costs until all senior employees are gone and they're been replaced with unqualified junior level employees.. And when it all falls.. – more... Sell the locations off to the next corporate consolidator and the bar gets reset and it starts over again. Don't do it. You will regret it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong corporate organization but very solid
Office Manager (Former Employee), Bremerton, WA, Seattle, WA, Portland, MEFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: strong teamwork
Enjoyed my job completely. Opportunity for advancement was truly a plus. Community involvement was encouraged and esprit d'corps between coworkers and departments was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't wish on my worse enemy. Use privately owned funeral homes
Customer Service (Current Employee), Charlotte NCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free food at some of the funerals
Cons: deceased serviced by a corporate impersonal assembly line
Ask the funeral home if they are privately owned or owned by SCI. shop around there are huge differences in pricing, quality and detail.
They go through employs like @%*@ through a goose.
Company does not back employs & slow to address customer issues.
All deceased go to one facility for embalming,dressing etc lined up like cattle then delivered to – more... the funeral homes.
Boiling black cremation smoke across cemetery during outside funerals.
SCI owns different locations in all cities and towns all have different pricing depending what side of town you go to.
Learned how low they go to hit you at a bad time and take all the money they can from the family while their in shock.
Hardest part of the job was not being able to tell families when they were being taken to the cleaners.
Witnessed severe integrity issues to clients and fellow employs . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading National Death-care Provider
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 14, 2014
Administration and contract processing. Working with professional managers.

1 2 3 4

About Service Corporation International

About Service Corporation International Service Corporation International (SCI) is to death what H&R Block is to taxes. SCI, – Read more

Service Corporation International Photos