Find companies:
SERVICEMASTER
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
173 reviews

SERVICEMASTER Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have you ever read the book 1984?
door to door (Former Employee), hudson, flAugust 13, 2013
Pros: nothing really to pro here, the paycheck is nice, but not at 60 hours a week... go ahead break it down $500 before taxes, $401.68 after taxes divided by 60 hours... you do the math, and tell me if it's worth it?
Cons: 60 hours a week, knocking in the blistering hot sun, or knocking in a lightly moderate rain? and your not aloud to leave until it is dark outside!, if you had some random stranger knocking on your door at 8:25pm at night? would you open the door?
a typical day as an outside sales rep for TruGreen goes like this, 11am you get to the shop, you get your route and are on the road by 12pm, eat some lunch and by 1pm your knocking your first door, by 330 or 4 o'clock you're taking a break and if you finished your route and haven't made any sales you get to re-knock all those door of the people that – more... weren't home and just got home from work to bug the S*** out of them while they're trying to relax and spend time with their families. oh and your day doesn't end until atleast 830pm or 9pm at night....but, the ServiceMaster corp. is a decent company to work for, the weekly base pay as a door to door sales rep of $500 was decent for TruGreen and $401.68 after taxes, the mileage compensation could have been a lot better then $.20 a mile and they could have given a little more effort forth into getting the mileage on your check each week... but to say the least at almost 60 hours a week and a $401.68 paycheck after taxes wasn't all that great... you're out in the hot sun, or walking in the rain (nothing to heavy, but if it's a light moderate shower you still get to knock) ... and after 3weeks of actual training you get to start doing it yourself, you get to shadow someone for a day and then you're on your own... they train you on how to be a pretty decent sales rep with their cheesy kind of lines of " I just had to stop by and ask, what are you doing for your lawn this year" and " Is that what you did last year too?" pretty easy stuff you think in training, then once you're out there sweating your peanuts off in 90 degree heat all day long going door to door, being tracked down every second of every minute on an Iphone... it's not really worth it, I got let go from failure to advance (in making Sales) so if you go 1 week without a sale, you can just go ahead and start looking for another job... the exercise was nice tho, getting to walk around all day drinking tons of water and hoping you don't pass out from heat exhaustion is a sure winner in my book! and as far as management goes... I was told to call one person from another form of management, to call another person who is too busy to answer, and when you finally get ahold of someone it's atleast 1hour later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 2, 2013
I LIKE WORKING SERVICEMASTER BECAUSE WE WERE ABLE TO WORK AT OWN PACE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic and easy to do
Janitorial Supervisor (Former Employee), Wahpeton, NDJuly 30, 2013
Pros: driving a van
Cons: not enough hours low pay and not scheduled many days
Went to construction clean up jobs lead the team and cleaned up basic to do job I learned some leading skills the co-workers were nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: independent work
Cons: too far to travel to locations
Nothing bad to say about this company. I needed my own vehicle to travel to sites and my car could not go the distance required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours and not much work/life balance.
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Londonderry, NHJuly 24, 2013
Pros: working outside (when the weather is nice)
Cons: only having one day off a week, low pay, bad management
Pay seems good in the beginning, until you are required to work overtime. They pay you a weekly salary plus commission. I worked an average of 54 hours per week and received a base pay of 500 per week. When you consider all the overtime they have you work (which you are not compensated for) the hourly pay breaks down to around 9.25 an hour. Commission – more... structure is not competive at all and is for the most part sub-standard. So much more I could say but I don't want to rant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has tendency to allow to set own hours to a point
Janitorial Worker (Current Employee), Bismarck, NDJuly 18, 2013
Pros: freedom to set hours around my other job
Cons: no benefits
A usual day at work involves collecting garbage, cleaning, disinfecting and sanitizing bathrooms; vacumming carpeted areas and dusting hard surfaces. As long as there are no complaints, Management is pretty lenient in allowing personal discretion in cleaning, setting own hours up to a point and quick to respond to requests. I work alone so I have no – more... co-workers, which I tend to like most of the time. If there is something too heavy for me to lift, though, there's no one around to help. I do like the fact that I can sort of set my own hours and have the freedom to make most decisions on my own. I have all weekends and most holidays off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great core values and company
Office Manager/CE Trainer/Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Rome, GAJuly 17, 2013
This is one of the greatest companies I worked with. I learned so much and found that all are great people. They stand behind their company core values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in the industry
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 1, 2013
Pros: working as a team
Cons: nop
At ServiceMaster, our mission is to simplify and improve the quality of our customers’ lives. It just makes sense: Our company’s success begins and ends with the customer experience. Providing world-class service that gets people talking about our brands means focusing on every aspect of the customer experience – from the first sales call, to the first – more... time we show up at a customer’s home, to the billing process, to the follow-up call or visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and Work Enviroment
Certified Water and Fire Technician (Former Employee), Benton, KYJune 27, 2013
great learning expiercence
certified wrt and asd while employed
great workers
poor office managing
most enjoyable part is helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terminix-Tampa's Net Park
Customer Svc. Supervisor (Former Employee), Tampa, FlJune 27, 2013
Cons: leaving this pit of hell
The recruiter sells you one thing, but on your first day you are told to watch your back because the training class has already locked out the trainer from the classroom and that anyone who tells management who the responsible parties are, "you might get shanked in the parking lot".
The management team, barely, are the most unprofessional, disorganized, – more... group of idiots I have ever seen in a management position.
Don't waste your time with this company. Lies & more lies. This company is the tail wagging the dog. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end job with no chance of a raise
Janitorial Technician (Former Employee), Eugene, ORJune 26, 2013
Cons: low pay, late hours
disliked job
cleaned the same spaces everyday so it was boring
lots of bending and twisting so it is a strain on the lower back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hard working atmosphere.
Fire & Water Restoration/Mitigation Technician (Current Employee), Chambersburg, PAJune 16, 2013
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: training
Working in groups of two at fire and water losses. Setting up equipment,fan,and dehumidifiers,taking before and after pictures as proof of damage for the insurance companies. Paper work,moisture readings,sketches,measurements,of course customer service and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware Beware Beware
Outside Sales Rep (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJune 15, 2013
Pros: co workers
Cons: no leadership values, lack of morals, no family life
They will tell you you will get great sales leads, then when your hired your sales leads are every door is a lead (100% Cold Calling). Money Driven Management, No Morals or Ethics. Spend your days fixing easy problems management has created for the customer, the other half knocking doors looking for sales to keep your job, your expected sales revenue – more... does not go down after the season is over (like now June) Very HIGH TURNOVER, all I can say if it looks to good it is, BEWARE OF THE FALSE PROMISES, no one even close to 30k much less the 65k advertised. If you are married with a family you will not be for very long if you work here, no time for any sort of outside life, 12 hours a day 6 days a week no exceptions.Beware Beware Beware! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lockbox
Trugreen-Accounts Receivable Specialist III (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 12, 2013
Pros: team building activities
Cons: high healthcare
productive place to work with diverse co-worker environment. learned to manage various duties within the workday. the hardest part of the day is the also the challenge of the job which is to figure out where the payment should be applied and how. the most enjoyable part of day for me is finding out how much work i have for the day and to organize it – more... from important to least important. at the end i can see what i accomplished. this is most satisfying to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning local businesses on a daily basis
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Salem, NHJune 10, 2013
Maintaining customer satisfaction on a daily basis. Respect for other peoples belongings. I managed 15 people on a nightly basis. Inspecting buildings to maintain that the quality of work is done with satisfaction for approval from the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic fast pace environment
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Deerfield, ILMay 29, 2013
Pros: working with entrpeneurs and seeing them succeed
Cons: when working out of the home there were times when you feel isolated from your co-workers
I worked from home so my day started early and ended late.I traveled quite a bit so when I was at home I spent the vast majority of my time on the phone working with franchises and following up on commitments I had made or that franchises had made to me. When I was on the road I spent 10 to 12 hour a days working with franchise owners and that their – more... staff on process improvement, financials and marketing and advertising.
I learned a great deal about the franchises business in general and what it takes to be successful in the franchise business. Most importantly I found that I have a natural ability to build relationships with small business people and that without their trust you will never successful.
I had a great relationship with my co-workers. All of them were dedicated to the company and to seeing that every franchise was successful. We often helped each other with issues involving a franchise and there was an atmosphere of whatever it takes within the group which made it an enjoyable place to work.
The most difficult thing I had to deal with was telling a franchise that perhaps they were cut out to be an owner. While I never enjoyed this, I also felt that in those instances where it had to be done that it was the right thing to do. What I really enjoyed was seeing a franchise succeed and build a business or helping a franchise turn around a struggling business. dayThis was fantastic and it was the driving force in how approached each and every – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Service member (Former Employee), Paris, TNMay 29, 2013
Pros: breaks as needed
I enjoyed working with the team, and the places we went to. I really enjoyed going to different places, it wasn't the same place everynight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will learn a lot...
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 15, 2013
Pros: flex schedule and ability to learn
Cons: very demanding hours
A typical day at work revolves around extensive use of advanced Excel (Access and SQL are also used in some cases) query and programming techniques where accuracy and hard work are paramount. Your ability to learn is seemingly limitless as long as one is willing to put in the work. Upper management at the writing of this is in a bit of flux. The hardest – more... part of the job is less than desirable amount of direction in general and a lack of appropriate compensation in some cases. The most enjoyable part of the job is the atmosphere and how rewarding the work can be when difficult tasks are accomplished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service rep productive proffesional positive enegry
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 18, 2013
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: the distances
made sure the customer was pleasant satisfied reliable had positive energy was very concerned whether they was happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees to work with
Front off (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 15, 2013
Your day is busy from start to finish. You will learn how to multi task even if you never thought you could.

About SERVICEMASTER

ServiceMaster merrily mows, scrubs, sprays, and trims. A giant in its industry, the company serves millions of commercial and – Read more