Find companies:
SERVICEMASTER
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
193 reviews

SERVICEMASTER Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday Was A Good Day.
Cleaner (Former Employee), Diboll, TXOctober 7, 2013
Pros: free lunch, shower, pool, etc
Cons: keep us healthy
The day was always a challenge for us, we never knew what we were getting into, Everyday was a knew day, but we always got the job done.
How to put a smile on people.
Our boss was amazing, everyday we came across something knew, but he knew how too handle it.
My team was at it's max, we stayed strong even when we were beat.
See all the destruction we – more... came across.
See all the people happy after our days of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ServiceMaster
Account Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 2, 2013
Pros: good compensation and benefits.
Cons: no work life balance.
Develop and grow business within identified commercial and residential accounts for a major pest elimination company in the tri-state area.
Successfully sell and leverage new products and services to generate incremental revenue within existing account base and new accounts.
Attained or exceeded goals in each period, significantly increasing overall – more... sales over prior year by over 30 percent.
Perform market research surveys amongst client base to seek feedback on sales techniques, follow-up methods and quality of after sales service.
Conduct interior and exterior structural and sanitation inspections of properties.
Research, compile, and analyze data to address challenges and customer service issues; conduct client customer reviews that lead to increased revenue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company years ago didn't care much for safety of employees
pest and termite sales and service (Former Employee), wheeling wvOctober 1, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: safety was a big problem with this branch
When working for this company years ago, our pest control tanks would leak, and they didn't fix them. Sales was all most managers cared about. Overall all my time spent with this company was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is good to be able to work with customers
sales (Current Employee), memphisSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: customers, great benifits, supervisor is motivating.
Cons: conversions are being stressed more then sales, unprofessional environment, team jokes more then work.
The company has several motivating supervisors to talk to. I like the challenge of gaining customers, and being able to connect with them. It sucks they're always hiring that's lesser calls to takes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive in cleaning services
Cleaning Service (Current Employee), Petal, MSSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: 30-minute break
Cons: healthcare
I work Mondays thru Fridays, from 4pm to 1am. I have learned that they are a lot to do with cleaning. My co-workers are very great to work with. We work together if one of them is behind on the work. The hardest part of the job and trying to get everything done within the time it has to be done. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know – more... everyone and doing my job correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced environment with various opportunities to learn
Sales Representative/ Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Savannah, GASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: ability to meet wide variety of people/job independence
Cons: long hours with no breaks in between
I would open the office at 7:45 every morning. Check messages on voicemail and make any changes to cleaners schedule. I would check the computers to make sure Right Now and CIS (Customer Information Systems were working properly. I would get any linens out of the dryer and sort them out for ladies to put in their cleaning bags. The cleaners would begin – more... to arrive around 8 a.m. Offered explanations of any special instructions/directions to arrive the ladies safe and prompt arrival at customer's home at the time of arrival specified to customer. Conducted 5 minute safety/daily meeting every morning. Once ladies left office to begin their day then I would begin to put my appointments together, confirm my consultation appointments, and head out of the office. In between my consultations quality control checks and cleaner supervision was provided to assure positive customer retention. I managed office for 5 months until candidate for Branch Manager was chosen. Trained new manager on the daily operations and customer based information.

The hardest part of the day was making sure everything was done effectively since there were so many tasks, but I loved my customer's and had given them my word that I would take care of them/their homes. I built a very strong customer rapport with my customer's, and although not with the company anymore: I still talk to the customer on a regular basis. They have become more than customers they are now considered as my extended family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Accounting (Former Employee), Acworth gaSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: management
Bad company with no benefits and unprofessional staff and management team. The staff would cuss you out and talk any old way to and around their employees. Uncomfortable and unprofessional atmosphere. The upper management staff would promise things on salary that they couldn't provide once they hire you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Office Manager/Customer Service (Former Employee), London, KYSeptember 17, 2013
Good company to work for. First shift hours. work with clients and insurance customers to meet their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 16, 2013
the job was great just answered calls an helped customers with there insurance benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Yellow Pages Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: hours
Cons: healthcare
Learned several aspects of the company; great co-workers; worked well with the franchisees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is very nice and reasonable to work with.
Day Porter (Current Employee), Roanoke, VASeptember 12, 2013
A typical day at work I daily duties and special duties that are done everyday or every week. I enjoy my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the standards for this client were high due to its Military standards, but the people themselves were a joy to work for .
Janitorial/Cleaner (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 27, 2013
Cons: short breaks, no lunch area if military staff lunchroom closed
Vacuum all floors,Clean Staff offices, clean restrooms, pull trash, clean desks, phones, windows ,shades and dust, sweep and mop stairwells. I learned to be flexible and manage my time. Supervisor was strict but fair. Co-workers were nice. When a co-work called off as no on-call person to fill in. so All the Staff joined in force to pick up the other – more... assigned area. and then picked our assigned area. when day was done and job was well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Hungry
Mitigation Manager (Former Employee), LaGrange, GAAugust 26, 2013
Pros: meet knew people
Cons: managment is terrible
Tough too get a raise and even tougher to get any bonuses owed to you, They always found away to get out of paying bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Water Restoration Technician
Water Restoration Technician (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 25, 2013
Evaluated extent of home damage and corrected deficiencies
Resolved outstanding issues and exceeded customers’ expectations
High attention to detail and excellent customer service skills
Dealt directly with insurance companies to ensure customers coverage was in accordance with policies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, plenty of space to grow with the company
Commercial Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 14, 2013
Pros: the type of customer that i worked with
Cons: managing expectations
Report to the branch office.
Do paperwork and submit the paperwork to the branch manager.
Take care of your messages.
Plan your day out.
Out of the office by 9:30 every morning.
70% of my calls and my sales were from prospecting.
I would set up inspections for major accounts
Put major proposals together and make the presentations
THE HARDEST PART OF – more... MY JOB was the turn around time for companies to change over to our services.
THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF MY JOB was the satisfaction that our customers had with us on each service call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, low pay
National Sales Trainer/Local Sales Manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXAugust 14, 2013
Solid company... Job security is truly there if you are willing to work hard. However, there is no other reward for hard work other than security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have you ever read the book 1984?
door to door (Former Employee), hudson, flAugust 13, 2013
Pros: nothing really to pro here, the paycheck is nice, but not at 60 hours a week... go ahead break it down $500 before taxes, $401.68 after taxes divided by 60 hours... you do the math, and tell me if it's worth it?
Cons: 60 hours a week, knocking in the blistering hot sun, or knocking in a lightly moderate rain? and your not aloud to leave until it is dark outside!, if you had some random stranger knocking on your door at 8:25pm at night? would you open the door?
a typical day as an outside sales rep for TruGreen goes like this, 11am you get to the shop, you get your route and are on the road by 12pm, eat some lunch and by 1pm your knocking your first door, by 330 or 4 o'clock you're taking a break and if you finished your route and haven't made any sales you get to re-knock all those door of the people that – more... weren't home and just got home from work to bug the S*** out of them while they're trying to relax and spend time with their families. oh and your day doesn't end until atleast 830pm or 9pm at night....but, the ServiceMaster corp. is a decent company to work for, the weekly base pay as a door to door sales rep of $500 was decent for TruGreen and $401.68 after taxes, the mileage compensation could have been a lot better then $.20 a mile and they could have given a little more effort forth into getting the mileage on your check each week... but to say the least at almost 60 hours a week and a $401.68 paycheck after taxes wasn't all that great... you're out in the hot sun, or walking in the rain (nothing to heavy, but if it's a light moderate shower you still get to knock) ... and after 3weeks of actual training you get to start doing it yourself, you get to shadow someone for a day and then you're on your own... they train you on how to be a pretty decent sales rep with their cheesy kind of lines of " I just had to stop by and ask, what are you doing for your lawn this year" and " Is that what you did last year too?" pretty easy stuff you think in training, then once you're out there sweating your peanuts off in 90 degree heat all day long going door to door, being tracked down every second of every minute on an Iphone... it's not really worth it, I got let go from failure to advance (in making Sales) so if you go 1 week without a sale, you can just go ahead and start looking for another job... the exercise was nice tho, getting to walk around all day drinking tons of water and hoping you don't pass out from heat exhaustion is a sure winner in my book! and as far as management goes... I was told to call one person from another form of management, to call another person who is too busy to answer, and when you finally get ahold of someone it's atleast 1hour later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 2, 2013
I LIKE WORKING SERVICEMASTER BECAUSE WE WERE ABLE TO WORK AT OWN PACE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic and easy to do
Janitorial Supervisor (Former Employee), Wahpeton, NDJuly 30, 2013
Pros: driving a van
Cons: not enough hours low pay and not scheduled many days
Went to construction clean up jobs lead the team and cleaned up basic to do job I learned some leading skills the co-workers were nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: independent work
Cons: too far to travel to locations
Nothing bad to say about this company. I needed my own vehicle to travel to sites and my car could not go the distance required.

About SERVICEMASTER

ServiceMaster merrily mows, scrubs, sprays, and trims. A giant in its industry, the company serves millions of commercial and – Read more