Services For The Underserved Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 24, 2017
I was excited to work at this place at first but it's a really toxic work environment where they expect you to go far beyond your job description and pressure you to be a workaholic. Employees drop off like flies, if they're not fired, and the management doesn't care about the employees or clients.
Pros
The leadership at the highest levels seems ethical and like they really care
Cons
lower level management is borderline abusive of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The consumers are the only good reasons to work there.
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  NYFebruary 4, 2017
When you work for this company, prepare to lose your voice; your voice gets silenced if they feel threatened. HR is afraid to fire people so they shift bad staff around to different facilities no matter if they're a threat to consumers. They don't care about your wellbeing as long as the work gets done. They're too interested in getting their name spread out and not satisfying the facilities they already have. Work culture is poor.
Cons
Poor compensation for quality work, denied time off, no teamwork perks.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunities for advancement in this organization
Wellness Coach (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 6, 2017
The particular site I was employed at had a high volume of paperwork and caseloads, In-house and scattersite. (Not all sites have the same amount of caseloads). The work life balance, bringing work home and staying late to complete the paperwork. It's great if your'e a workaholic with no personal life. This is not all sites, just the one I've worked at. Regardless of experience, it's entry-level pay for Wellness Coaches. The organization is great for those who have graduated and need to aquire the experience to move up or move on.
Pros
Great Healthcare and Correspondence with different departments within the agency, depending on the need.
Cons
Salary does not commensurate with experience for Wellness Coaches
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Porter/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 20, 2016
Management seems not to be for the employees, everyone is always talking behind each others back, pay does not compliment the work
Pros
None
Cons
Employees are not recognized for thier work
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 15, 2016
One of the best jobs I had just it was a temp position learned independence and office management. Is where I found my strengths in running an office.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They dont help anyone
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 5, 2016
Work place bullying. Hr does not help. Ptsd. I was threatened and i got terminated for speaking up. The individuals are abused constantly. They allow abusers to continue working
Pros
The worst
Cons
The worst
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family vibe
Program director (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 28, 2016
Currently employed here, its a great place to grow. Really enjoy going to work daily. There are plenty of opportunities to grow as this agency grows.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growth in company
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 26, 2016
Good Company to grow with and get excellent job experience from . Excellent work environment . Managers are always there to answer all concerns about work matters
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good agency
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 23, 2016
i been with SUS since 2012. they are okay. they are willing to move you up with in the agency and its also good to have a degree to back you up as well.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tension work for little/no pay
Pogram Specialist (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 19, 2016
The individuals in our care are great to work with. They themselves make the job enjoyable. However, management is atrocious, sometimes HR does nothing to address your concerns and issues, and the type of work we do does not match how much we get paid. It is very unfair that we work harder than a nurse sometimes but get paid less than a sales associate at a retail chain.
Pros
Consumers are fun; opportunities for overtime; ok benefits package
Cons
Inadequate pay; atrocious manegerial practices; heavy levels of favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Family Mental Health Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 10, 2016
I can honestly say I have no complaints. The team I worked with were helpful, kind and efficient. The administrator was stern, and caring. The company as a whole was a joyous experience.
Pros
no micro management
Cons
no complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes2No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwhelming
Care Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 14, 2016
not organized, can be confusing at the times, no support from supervisors, no flexible hours, , had to figure out the job duties pretty much alone
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working type of environment
Housing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Amityville, NYMarch 28, 2016
The most enjoyable aspect of the job is having made an enormous impact on the Veteran Homelessness epidemic. Everyday I am able to change the lives of Veteran families for the better in a big way.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close knit friendly organization
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  675 Classen AveMarch 21, 2016
Travel to consumers home and performed minor repairs and installations such as air conditioners, smoke detectors, shades, washers, purchase materials and tools I may need for the job. Write work orders.
Pros
I controled my schedule
Cons
Parking when I visit consumers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , fun , learn something new daily
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 27, 2016
Reviewing all data's being input by all staff.
I learn how to be very organized, patient, willing.
I am the supervisor at night, management is very caring.
My co-workers are like family.
Hardest part of my job is to write a staff up.
Most enjoyable part of the job is being with all my consumers and taking them out shopping, sports, basketball games, broadway shows.
Pros
free lunches and dinner
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
wellness coach (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 16, 2015
Working hands on with clients in a mental health Supportive housing setting.
Service plans update quarterly on 20+ residents
Enjoyable part of the job is providing a service to people who need my help.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Wellness Coach/Care Coordinator/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2015
Stressful environment, not adequately compensated, no upper management job security or assistance.

Good coworker relationships, but overall agency management is not supportive to staff.
Pros
having an income opposed to unemployment
Cons
infrequent lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a better place to work if you hire directors that are supportive to staff
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2015
In the beginning I enjoyed helping others. My job was very important to me and loved working everyday. It was time to move on so no hard feelings. I think the main office has no idea what goes on with the other organizations such as Davidson Transitional.
Pros
None
Cons
Sight should be gutted out and started from scratch
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Assist in daily living routines (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 29, 2015
excellent company, busy work days, excellent individuals, too much turnover with employees direct staff anyway. I have learned a substantial amount through various interactions and experiences.
Pros
excellent health care benefits
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes25No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I trulu enjoyed serving my clients under my care
Respite Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 23, 2015
A great place to work with the underserved populations of NYC, There was a high turn over rate with Management. My Co workers came from diverse backgrounds. The hardest part of the job was the attending the staff meetings on my days off. I loved helping my Clients and co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Services For The Underserved. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

68%
16 ratings
Add your rating

Services For The Underserved Reviews by Location