Find companies:
Seton Family of Hospitals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

Seton Family of Hospitals Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, reliable work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 8, 2014
Pros: good salary compensation
Learned a great deal, obtained Medical-Surgical certification while employed on adult floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work in general
Clinical Assistant II (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 3, 2014
Pros: hard working team
Cons: clients can be tough to work with.
I like working here. It's a great place if you like healthcare, helping people and being a part of the hospital team. There is a strong team working relationship with everyone. Everyone pitches in, everyone has a voice. Most people work very hard and no one ever feels left alone to do a tough job. The management is patient but direct. They give you – more... opportunities to advance, better yourself, and to go to school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee), Burnet, TXNovember 6, 2014
Senior clinic lead, duties include providing patient care in a clinic setting; responsibilities include filing patient charts, looking up patient labs, X rays, calling in patient prescriptions. Filling out patient x-ray forms, lab forms, and other tests ordered by the doctor. Keeping track of drug counts, and maintaining clinic JACO ready.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had learned a lot about the medical feild as a Medical Assistant
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Troy, NYNovember 6, 2014
Pros: i learned a lot.
Cons: the hospital was in experience as to what a medical assistant position is.
I enjoyed all of my experience with this hospital. It was a temporary position where I got to get great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Training Consultant (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2014
Good place to work. Conservative environment. My experience with management was that they were positive and continuously providing feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seton Health
Registration Associate, Patient Registration (Former Employee), Troy, NYOctober 24, 2014
Pros: lunch is required, and flexibility is given for pending appointments
Cons: sometimes it gets very boring working alone
This hospital, Seton Health, St. Mary's Hospital has longevity of its employees. Lots of paperwork and appointments for outpatients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time flexiiblity
Admin Assistant, Design/Construction Office (Former Employee), Austin, TexasSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: flexibility, comfortable with design and construction
Cons: limiting, careerwise
My kids were very young, and they allowed me to go on all field trips and work part-time to leave to get my kids from school.

My detail oriented job included working with engineers and purchasers, as well as facility management. I also used a bugdeting and tracking system I had programmed several years earlier.

Advancement from that position was nil, – more... however, and when Austin Grad called I gave it a shot.

SETON was an amazing workplace, and my boss thought enough of me to let me sit in on the new hospital planning meetings. The only wisdom I may have contributed was that the sleep lab wall was shared with a day care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Patient Access Representative II (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great place to work for
Cons: changes
I love Seton because it is a great place to grow and learn new things. The best thing about my job is that I am always busy and doing new things. My co workers are my friends and I feel happy that I work here and we all get along and work well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Seton
cook (Former Employee), Burnet, TXJune 23, 2014
Pros: nice atomosphere
Cons: no room for advancement
I liked the job and was going to make it a career. but there was no place to advance to in the department.
I was responsible for cooking lunch and diner for the patients.
While I was employed we were voted #1 cafeteria in the Seton Hosp Network Austin, Williamson and Hays.
Also carried a 85% patient satisfaction rating
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provides stable work life
Patient Financial Services- Refund Representative (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 11, 2014
ready to change careers
I recently receive my certification in event planning so this is the career path I am interested in pursuing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New changes coming
EA (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 10, 2014
Pros: benefits, flex time
Cons: raises
Seton is undergoing a marketing overhaul as well as clinical integration roll out. Will be interesting to see what happens in a few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cardiac Cath Lab
Staff Nurse - Cardiac Cath Lab (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 2, 2014
Cons: call
We are a multi modality cath lab specializing in diagonistic and interventional cardiac care, electrophysiology and interventional radiology.
We typically do 5-6 cases per day in any or all of the above mentioned modalities. Our manager is great! She will always go to bat for us. the most enjoyable part of the job is the staff I work with. The least – more... enjoyable part of the job is getting called in the middle of the night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of true security.....
Non-Commission Security Officer (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 29, 2014
Pay is decent but Management has and supports the Good Ole Boy System.. They don't care what is ethically correct. Rather look out for there buddies... Better off finding another Hospital for Security if your looking. Lack of proper training between security staff and medical staff. Most of the Shift Leads lack any leadership skills. While i was working – more... with this company we had a security officer arrested outside of work for stealing. Manager wanted to keep him working security until the issue was resolved thru the legal system, even tho DPS PSB states other wise. Currently i know one security staff that was a ex Dallas police officer that plays security supervisor at one of the hospitals. Wont go into details on here but do your research before you apply to do security with this Hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for first Med-Surg Nursing Careet
Telemetry Nurse (Current Employee), Austin, TexasApril 27, 2014
Pros: nursing congress
Cons: very busy hospital in general.
Typical day, Receive report and resume care on 4-5 patients. Most patients have multiple disease processes present. Cardio, DM, Renal, Dialysis, Infection, TB, Wounds. This the kind of floor where you need to prioritize efficiently. Hi level functioning required, staff/team supportive. The hardest part of the job is discharging homeless patients. This – more... unit/hospital serves the undomiciled population. Its also a Level One Trauma center.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the numerous learning opportunities that are available. It is a teaching hospital and the encouragement towards continuing education with nursing and med students is prevalent. There is a unit manager available 100% of the time days/nights, along with charge RN for unit. The unit is 42 beds, along with a 4 bed HD unit on the same floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work, and advance
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Troy, NYApril 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: healthcare
Working in this environment, was , a learning experience. Management was very helpful; as well as my co-workers. Leaving the jobs was hardest. My co-workers and clients were very enjoyable and pleasant to work with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5th Floor: Med/Surg Unit
Clinical Assistant II; Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 26, 2014
Pros: family atmosphere
Cons: changing to 12 hour shifts only
Seton has a great workplace environment. Their name is Seton Family of Hospitals, and it reflects the idea that the entire Unit works as a "family" to produce an effective, less stressful environment for patients and employees. The managers are more than happy to listen to concerns and issues and try to correct them best as possible (given the budget – more... and time). There was one year we did not get a bonus, but we managed to have a fun 'end-of-year' party where employees brought family and friends, danced, and ate from a catered buffet. All-together Seton is a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seton-Brackenridge is a very busy place to work. Salary and benefits are good. The salary I posted is 8 years old.
Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: case load
The hardest part of the job is working with "difficult" patients. Some of the patients are sociopaths. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you have done a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management dictatorship..stay away from the Austin area!!!
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 6, 2014
Cons: very inconsisstant in every facet of patient care.
I would not reccomend working for Seton. The respiratory department is short on staff... you earn holiday time but you are hard press to use it due to staff shortages. Then after 90 days they take it from you. No holiday time bank!!! Straight THEFT!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I began 29 years ago great place to work. Was very patient oriented and employee friendly.
Nutrition Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: had free lunch for 27 years and great health insurance plus good pto accumulation.
Cons: when i was terminated their was no consistant management to find out who to refer to with questions.
With all new management the loving caring environment has been lost. My co-workers were great. Enjoyed visiting patients and answering their questions regarding meal choices and questions regarding their diets. The most difficult part of the job was not being able to satisfy all patient requests and visiting very ill patients. I learned something new – more... every day whether new computer app or some other job skill plus new impact of diets on patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work for
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: growth opportunities
Cons: small offices
The management provides ample opportunites to grow within HHSC.

1 2 3

About Seton Family of Hospitals

A not-for-profit organization, the Seton Family is the leading provider of healthcare services in Central Texas, serving an 11-county – Read more

Seton Family of Hospitals Photos