Seton Family of Hospitals Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Happy Place To Work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  SMCAJanuary 16, 2018
No complaints only good things to say but I am tired of working the night shifts have worked the nightshift since 2004 and I am ready to give it up for day's with shorter hours so looing for a day job Monday to Friday's.
Pros
bonous if we are short
Cons
can not accumilate PTO'S
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 12, 2018
Great team work! Team members always worked together for the best benefits of all the patients. Nursing staff is phenomenal! Doctors are easy to deal with and talk to!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was great until hospital outsourced it.
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 5, 2018
Seton WAS a wonderful place to work until the parent company, Ascension, started outsourcing pretty much everything but nursing. All revenue cycle was outsourced to a company with a very dubious record (and which has already changed it's name since taking over Seton's revenue cycle). In the last few years, Seton became very top heavy....lots of high paid administrators while entire departments were sourced out to independent companies with lower wages and poor quality benefits.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits, great co-workers
Cons
Outsourcing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA job
PCT/CNA (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 28, 2017
Worked in float pool while in nursing school, very flexible and understanding with staffing. Not a ton of feedback from the float pool manager so sometimes education and new policies were not communicated quickly
Pros
flexible
Cons
hard to get advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you need experience starting out.
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TXDecember 20, 2017
I wouldn't recommend working here in Imaging.

Cliquish work environment and no team players.

Imaging is understaffed to the point where you want to cry because you're getting called from 3 different places all wanting stat imaging and 1-2 of you have to rush between places to appease the doctors.

Management is VERY lacking in terms of support and helping out other staffers on high work load day. Coworkers that have been there about a year or more will slack off of work, take hour lunches, and the new hires or hard workers end up with the lazy one's work.

Also, if you're new its a sink or swim environment. Moreover, don't expect help from coworkers if its their time to leave in 30 mins (they wont stay over to help if it's swamped).

Plus, the pay doesn't match the amount of work you'll do (usually the job of 2+ people). You'll leave drained and you'll walk an avg. of 5 miles a day.
Pros
Job security, decent cafeteria, and good if you need experience starting out.
Cons
Cliques, lack of help, over worked, low pay, and stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience!
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 18, 2017
The pay is not appropriate for the amount of work you are expected to do. Management makes decisions based on numbers instead of what is in the best interest of the patient. Ever since the Ascension takeover our staffing, bonuses, and raises have been cut.
Pros
experience, great coworkers
Cons
pay, work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Review
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 18, 2017
Had an opportunity to work with indigent population. Make referral for patients services. Very busy work environment. Hardest part of job was accessing resources for indigent patients.
Pros
Good work hours
Cons
Short-staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
EVS DIRECTOR Sr. General Manager (Current Employee) –  Daly City, CADecember 18, 2017
Great people and great place to work at. Easy access from freeway and Bart transportation. Very good Salary pay. Very flexible hours to work during the day or night.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Very Old Facility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night shift nursing poorly staffed, no teamwork
Registered Nurse; Full Time Employee (Former Employee) –  Harker Heights, TXDecember 16, 2017
Shifts are poorly staffed
NO teamwork at all, you have to ask anytime you need any help and the other nurses are not gracious about it at all
The nurses do the bare minimum
Management seemed distant and uninformed
Pros
Pay
Cons
Poor work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it seems, beware
Check In Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 12, 2017
Job title and what I did did not match. I did my job title one day a week and I know they had to do it to justify my lower pay for the title I was given, but asked to do work I should get paid more for. Lessen i learned and here is the warning, do not do a lot of work not in your description or apply for that possistion in the company. Get it in on paper and do not deviate.
Pros
Position hired for was good, but not what I did...
Cons
Different manager every month it seemed...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the job
Emergency Room Nurse -Seton Premiere Staffing (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 11, 2017
It was nice to work for them. working for them helped me advance in my knowledge as a nurse and as a collague. I would definatly work there again. I left to be able to work from home more often.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unrealistic expectations
Registered Nurse - Emergency Department (Former Employee) –  Harker Heights, TXDecember 10, 2017
This hospital seemed very good at first with good pay and great benefits. As it turns out the hospital is a terrible place for long term employment. There is too much hostility and the nurses in charge will let patients treat their nurses however they please as long as the patient does not leave.
Pros
good pay, hours, and benefits
Cons
short breaks, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration makes it dangerous
PATIENT ACCESS REP II/CLINICAL ASSISTANT III (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 5, 2017
Not adequate staffing to handle the acuity of mentally ill patients treated in the facility. Staff are often alone with dangerous patients. Lots of injuries to staff due to poor training and not enough staff. Used to love this job, then the administration changed, the staffing ratios changed and suddenly it became a dangerous place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress/high pay
Cardiac Monitor Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 5, 2017
provides training to employees, you are able to advance, good benefits, work environment high stress, team players, pay is over all high compare to other hospitals. You are able to learn and see so much. Great for anyone who wants the full hospital experience.
Pros
high pay compare to others
Cons
high stress leveal due to type of patients you see. demanding of your time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved their mssion
Coding Abstract Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 29, 2017
I loved working at xxxxxx Hospital. The workplace culture was fast paced, but easy, and focused on human growth. The company believed investment of people was its greatest asset.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Workplae culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees were great to work with
staff RN and admission nurse on unit (Former Employee) –  Burnet, TXNovember 14, 2017
enjoyed the working environment, the employees were great to work with. Management was always there for you, and listened to suggestions to make the workplace a better place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/an/a
Unit clerk (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 10, 2017
N/a no comments

Great place to begin . Always busy and full of challenges . Never a boring day at SNW. It is definitely a place full of knowledgeable people who will assure your best care possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff nurses and House Supervisors were awesome, as were techs and registration, managers very punitive and vindictive.
RN, BSN (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 9, 2017
Management continues to use the outdated, punitive, hierarchy of dunces techniques, making up their own rules as they go along. The doctors and line staff are being overrun by a nurse management bully culture led by the my-way-or-the-highway mentality of the narrow visioned director of nursing. SSC would never meet the Magnet Standards for excellence in nursing recognized by the Joint Commission as the gold standard for hospitals.
Pros
Upper Management will have turnover eventually, and good people will run SSC again.
Cons
Management is a gossipy rumor mill, corrupt and intimidating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to get great work experience
General and OB/GYN (Former Employee) –  Kyle, TXNovember 6, 2017
I assisted the Radiologist in Ultrasound guided invasive procedures such as paracentesis, thoracentesis, percutaneous cholecystostomy, liver and thyroid biopsies.
Experience working in the emergency department.
Measured anatomy accurately and documented pathology seen.
Performed complete and limited abdominal exams
Performed detailed sonographic evaluations of the thyroid, Pelvic, and Obstetrics (first & second trimester) exams.
Responsible for performing quality sonographic studies by following established procedures, protocols & physician's orders.
Great place to learn a variety of skills and techniques. Perfected my skills here at Seton Medical Center. I enjoyed my work experience there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Diagnostic Medical Sonographer Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 3, 2017
Welcoming, fun, supportive, yet challenging environment. I enjoyed my time with them and the team of people I worked with. I would recommend working at Seton Medical Center.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Seton Family of Hospitals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 352 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7