Find companies:
Severn Trent Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Severn Trent Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed many different Management Skill along with Business Development and Client Relations.
Senior Area Manager (Former Employee), Kansas, OK, LouisaniaOctober 13, 2014
I was able to develop my skills as a Manager, having 11 direct reports and 100+ employees, I was also able to hone my business development skill along with customer relations skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Fort Washington, PASeptember 8, 2014
Not a company I would recommend, poorly managed and ambiguous direction. Products and services are average but above average pricing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Regional Safety Advisor (Current Employee), Loveland, OHAugust 31, 2014
Very good at the business of operating water and wastewater treatment plants with s strong emphasis on employee safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly professional staff of dedicated water professionals!
Area Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 14, 2014
The staff was very knowledgeable, highly dedicated professionals that cared about providing the best services to the waster and wastewater customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers
Lead Operator, (Supervisor) (Former Employee), Mahopac, N.Y. and Brewster N.Y.July 12, 2014
Pros: good co workers
Cons: not enough pay, and working every saturday
Attend to jobs in the plant and check on other substations.
Work in 2 differnt WWTPs and check pumping stations, take readings and adjust chemical dosages as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job ended
Customer Service/Dispatch (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 30, 2014
Temporary position ended. I worked in the customer service department during the week and dispatch during the weekend, I dispatched technicians, printed new bills, entered data entry for the water company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the way down
Electrical/Mechanical Technician (Former Employee), Colmar, PAJune 25, 2014
The end is near. Might be to late for changes to help keep this business afloat much longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Good Place To Work
Senior Field Technican (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXJune 6, 2014
I Have Enjoyed Working With All My Customers In The Service Business It's A Good Feeling When You See A Customer Very Happy After A Job Is Complete
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Stimulating work enviorment
Billing/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 16337 Park Row Houston, TX 77084May 8, 2014
Pros: management would celebrate monthly birthdays, and encoraged departmental pot lucks are so much fun, and a great stress relief.
Cons: turning off delinquent customers, having irriate customer in your face.
My typical work day consisted of replying to interoffice and external emails, processing reports managers and board meetings, process bill statements for water/sewer customers. Fielding phone calls from managers and customers, processing delinquent and nsf notices to customers as well as process turn offs for non payment of delinquent/nsf customers. – more... In my 16 years I with my previous employer the opportunity for cross training in multiple departments, management was very supportive of employees learning different aspects of the company by being a team player and assisting other departments with daily or periodic support. Over time I have met and worked with a great number of people in office as well as outside of my office location, working with such a vast spectrum of different people gave me the ability to have a divers experience beyond my office setting. The hardest aspect of my job was having to disconnect customers utility service but understanding that it was park of my job responsibility. I really enjoyed the people I worked with and the customers I was able to help when possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for!
Lead Operator (Current Employee), Port Of The Islands - Naples, FLApril 23, 2014
The work environment is good, and the benefits are also fine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strictly work environment
District Recording Secretary (Former Employee), Coral Springs, FLMarch 29, 2014
Pros: close to home, good hours, received compensation for safey practices
Cons: no breaks and no bonuses for a job well done
I enjoyed the interaction with district managers throughout the state of Florida. I learned alot about managing HOAs and communities. Hardest part of the job was that there were not enough hours in the day to get everything done. Enjoyed working with my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Water Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Bell Gardens, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: i get to work alone
Cons: not enough hands on work. i'm on call 6 days a week.
meter reading, valve excercising. Doing shut offs is the hardest part of the job. learning how to do repairs is the best part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company to work for
operator (Current Employee), USAJanuary 12, 2014
The job itself is not bad but it is one of the lowest paid jobs I have seen in years. People basically due what they want with no guidance. And managers seem to be nothing more than glorified baby sitters. The benefit package is bad and there is definitely no way to move up the ladder in this company. If you have any type of bills credit cards, car – more... payments etc... you could not make it on the wages with this company. It feels like they look for someone just to feel the seat and do not care about your experience that you bring to the company. – less

February 9, 2014

Just got hired by there competitor company . Better benefits and they pay almost $20,000 more a year than Severn Trent . There is something really wrong when Severn Trent tosses out 10 to 20 cent raises a year there way behind there competitor company but they like to post how well there stocks are going up and how happy there share holders are. There is something really wrong with this picture.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt management and chaos at every turn.
Activities Director (Former Employee), Port Charlotte, FlJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: pretty grounds.
Cons: expletives, bullying, irresponsible accounting, management non existent.
I had a negative experience at Severn Trent Services. I reported
accounting activity that was suspicious, health code violations,
and bullying in the work place. Management could care less. It is an uneducated bunch that will do anything to make money. The worker bees are scared of losing their jobs, dislike the management
and overlook corruption to – more... hold on to a salary. I wish I could think of pleasant aspects of this job, but there were none. I was yelled at, heard daily cursing from the staff, and given no job description. Don't even consider working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here
Writer/Editor (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 17, 2013
Pros: travel, good co-workers, flex schedule
Cons: pay and benefits
My experience at Severn Trent was good. I had a great manager and worked with a team of good people. My manager allowed me to travel to trade shows and to different plants around the country, which was a great experience for me.

THEY OFFER 9/80 FLEX SCHEDULE (for some departments). Nothing like being off every other Friday.

The only reason I left – more... was because the pay was terrible. I couldn't survive off of what I was being paid and I didn't see any room for advancement.

I did enjoy my job though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Inventory Control Manager (Current Employee), Brookshire, TXOctober 3, 2013
a large environmental company which provides service on waste water and drinking water.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Administrative Assistant (Deed Restriction) (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 3, 2013
A typical day as a Administrative Assistant at Severn Trent incuded answering phones, making copies, sending letters out to residents, dealing with angry residents all mean while keeping a very positive and upbeat attitude.

I have learned how to let things go rather than holding on to them and allowing the previous problem to spill over into the next – more... situation.

My coworkers are my family away from home!

The hardest part of my job trying to be sure to leave work at work. Even away from work I am always trying to figure out how to make something better.

The most enjoyable part of my job is learning new things and meeting all kinds of different people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally poor place to work
HR Administrator (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: paid decent
Cons: bad management, old building, poor execution of policies/procedures
Overall a toxic workplace. Old, dilapidated building housing old, tired, management. Generally outdated technology, bizarre policies, improper procedures. No new ideas, very little room for corporate advancement. New talent is not embraced, conform or get out. Employees spread too thin, worked too hard, with very, very little to show. I wouldn't recommend – more... this employer. – less

June 13, 2013

how much did they pay per hour

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management corrupt like any person with power over people
Field Technician II (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: a lot of overtime
Cons: poor management, not good pay
Management won't hesitate to throw employees under bus to keep their job , they pick on the little man
Not a team atmosphere in the whole company
People will lie about performance so they could look better than you
Employees will take good credit from other employees good performance

February 26, 2013

OMG! You are so right! Worked there for 90 days and that is the same thing happened to me!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extemely busy utility office
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Kissimmee, FLJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: having a potluck just because. supervisor is caring.
Cons: not enough people.
Answer phones set up accounts final accounts take credit card payments get paper work ready for next day.
Each call that is taken maybe similar to the last one but is very different because it is someone new on the phone.

Everyone of my co workers has different strengths and weaknesses. We are all there to do a job and we all work in the areas where – more... we are able to produce the best in all the fields of customer service.

Being overwhelmed by so many different tasks that need to be done when it is extremely busy. Some days it seems you cannot even take a breath between calls.

Being able to help someone. Walking them thru a process to determine if they have a leak. Knowing that someone does care. – less

June 13, 2013

what are some your strengths and weakness as far as working there goes?

About Severn Trent Services

Severn Trent Services is intent on providing cleaner water for consumers around the globe. The company, a subsidiary of UK-based – Read more