Severn Trent Services

Severn Trent Services Employee Reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better management
Senior utility tech (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXMarch 16, 2017
Good company but the management is not so good. Don't have the parts that we need all the time. Worried about us working over time for a sewer and water company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn a vast set of skills IF you want too
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 13, 2017
We would work all over the Houston and surrounding areas. I loved my job so didn't find it difficult. We did work with waste pumps so stay away if you have no stomach for it.
Pros
Saftey if key and your are givin proper ppe
Cons
sometimes you get helpers that are just their for a check
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a very difficult company to work for.
Dispatch Supervisor / Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 8, 2017
Severn Trent
does not value hard working employees. The company the Texas location only promotes the relatives of the managers and executives. There is a lot of corruption within the Texas locations.
Cons
no appreciation for hard working employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Severn Trent
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 1, 2017
I really enjoyed the time I worked with this company. Many of the people working there try to make this a family environment and really care for their employees.
They also really care a lot about safety.
Pros
I think they treat the employees fairly
Cons
rediculous hard hat policy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Plant Manager (Current Employee) –  Lewes, DEFebruary 13, 2017
Stimulating learning corporate styles compared to municipal work. Prepared safety evaluations; employee evaluations. Hardest part of job was client communication. Client was very closed vested
Pros
Working with DNREC
Cons
Extremely paperwork generated
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work environment
Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator II (Former Employee) –  Forney, TXFebruary 3, 2017
Great job, but if you are a people person and like to be around people this wouldn't be a good fit for those kind of people. the best part is the schedule where its 2-2-3.
Pros
Get two or three days off in row
Cons
No Break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work environment
Operator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 1, 2017
Good company to work for with full benefits. ST is very involved with employee safety and continued training.Work culture is respectful and pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXJanuary 15, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of changing out water meters over 1 million gallons. Fixing water leaks on district side of water meter. Creating work orders for construction crew to fix problems in field. Assist plant operators in daily tasks. Inform customers of work to be completed and time of completion.
Pros
Company vehicle, cell phone, and tools. Benefts
Cons
Short breaks. No socialization with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, rewarding, enjoyable
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Marathon, FLDecember 28, 2016
A typical day would include maintenance on numerous pumps on wastewater plants. Very rewarding to fix equipment and get the plant up and running back to normal.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company management needs improvement
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXDecember 8, 2016
7:30am to 4:00pm, typical day starts with tailgate meetings then proceedings to daily task at hand. Great work environment, learn about water and wastewater treatment process, get paid holidays and vacation.
Pros
work environment, wage
Cons
chaotic management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about Severn Trent Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very company friendly
Maintenance Technician/Operator (Former Employee) –  Forney, TXDecember 8, 2016
This company is very people friendly and like to accommodate the customer. and they give good customer service they all about in house promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Inspector II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 4, 2016
My job was exciting everyday dealing with different people and I enjoyed doing what I was doing inspections. This was a good job to have for the number of years that I had it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time working for them. The money was not very good though
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLNovember 28, 2016
Learned alot. I really enjoyed working with them. The work was fun and the boss was a great guy to work for. I think that I knew more than most of the guys that I worked with.
Pros
enjoyable work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Operations Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2016
My boss could be hard on me but all and all he left me to do my job. He trusted me and gave me a lot of responsibilities. I enjoyed my coworkers and the challenges of each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Poor Management
Crew Chief / Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXNovember 14, 2016
I was only there for two years and witnessed approximately 33 employees come in and out! Terrible turnover ratio. Would not recommend working at the Kingwood location. Great company!
Pros
none
Cons
Don't know where to start
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Senior Graphic Designer/Art Director (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 1, 2016
STS is a great company that takes care of it's employees. They believe in hard work and rewarding their employees. The most enjoyable part of the job is that they believe in employee outings to get to know one another.
Pros
Takes care of employees
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 28, 2016
I love my experienced working at Severn Trent. Salary is fair, and co workers were nice and they will help the new worker to get the job well done.
Pros
Everyday is a learning experience
Cons
Sometimes hard to find the meters
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no incentives
Wastewater Operator (Former Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMJuly 8, 2016
I learned alot and found I really enjoyed what I did. The company was contracted from out of state so didn't really get to know the company.
Pros
Helped with certifications
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with a wonderful crew of people
Maintenance Technician 2 (Current Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLJune 17, 2016
I do many tasks at my job. My title is maintenance tech so I do work in the field but I also am in charge of doing all the billing and take care of any needs that the client may have. I work on lift stations,repair leaks ,do locates amongst other field work. And also make sure that all paperwork is in on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in confined spaces on water lines and sewer lines.
utility technician (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAJune 3, 2016
Get up 6:30am, be at work at 7:30am and work till 4. Help the operator dig a hole cause I was his eyes on the ground. Fix water and sewer leaks, make water taps, run water lines and sewer lines, fix customer water leaks, direct traffic if possible.
Pros
Loved the work, most of the people, Made descent money, being called in
Cons
Managment was garbage, being lied on, not being heard
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Severn Trent Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 88 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3
77%

CEO Approval

Based on 27 ratings
Add your rating