Severstal North America Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unique place to work
HR - Labor Relations Representative (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIAugust 28, 2014
not too many steel mills in the area can be great place to work...will get a little dirty and must pay attention to things all around you for your personal safety
Pros
24/7 operation
Cons
dangerious environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lean and efficient operation
Quality and Product Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  Dearborn, MIAugust 26, 2014
We are not an overstaffed company but everyone is utilized to their max potential. Great work environment with even greater managers. I am in charge over interfacing with OEMs to determine which grades we are developing would be most beneficial to them. After the grade is developed, I am in charge of the commercializtion of that grade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical Place
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIJuly 9, 2014
The unethical culture here runs deep, don't expect to move up in the company unless you are willing to circumvent policy. In addition, those who do not conform to this style of practice will be pushed out the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Shipping Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbus, MSMay 13, 2014
The work is swing shift, four on, four off, and 12 hour shifts, with mandatory overtime. I normally wrap the coils when they come off the production line. The management is not as involved as they need to be. My co- workers are great. The hardest part of the job is working night shift and leaving my family at home. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with great people, who are fun to work with.
Pros
Great co- workers, benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory Engineer
Laboratory Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MINovember 18, 2013
A typical day at work was just running samples in a tensile robot and milling the sample own to spec size. Charting SPC and running R&R test.

Enjoyable part of my job was being apart of the day to day operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay, and great benefits but stressful workload
Crane Operator, Company Name (Current Employee) –  dearborn, michiganApril 9, 2013
very good job security, pay and benefits are great but the work is stressful to the mind and body and often the work environment is dirty and dangerous, so pretty balanced based on your preference
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
dirty, dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy but fun environment
Burner Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIApril 3, 2013
In today’s economy, there’s no time to waste on workers who lack the necessary skills and motivation. I started off as a bander and withing 6 weeks I was operating several types of cranes in the Hot Strip and Cold Mill.

My previous experience working as an Overhead Crane Operator for Severstal North America taught me the ins and outs of a heavy industrial environment

It is a very busy environment but fun and fast paced which made the days go buy fast. However their is very little job security there as I learned that fast and I am now out of a job, searching for something similiar to Severstal
Pros
lots of overtime and friendly co workers
Cons
very little job security
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company filed for bankruptcy protection
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 31, 2013
Formally Bethlehem Steel, Sold to ISG Corporation, Then sold to Severstal Corporation and then sold to RG Steel LLC
Pros
good pay and benifits
Cons
dangerous, financially unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting place to work. Everyday brings new challenging elements.
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Dearborn, MIOctober 30, 2012
Severstal Dearborn is a great facility to work at. Everyday I see new challenges that have helped me develop valuable experience that will help the growth of my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report

Want to know more about Severstal North America?

Ask a question

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Severstal North America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
3.3
Culture
2.9

Severstal North America Reviews by Location