Find companies:
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Seyfarth Shaw LLP Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In general, a good place for junior- and mid-level associates.
Senior Associate, Gen Lit and L&E (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Pros: calm environment.
Cons: no accrued vacation time; highly cost-conscious clients.
Overall, a pleasant work environment. Nice colleagues and staff. Advancement is not robust, due to the prevailing legal market and contraction of outside counsel work in general. This is one of the more challenging aspects of the big picture -- the long-term prospects of certain practice areas in certain areas of the country where the firm has offices. – more... Still, overall, a good place to work, with some bright minds and hard workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Environment
Labor and Employment Attorney (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 9, 2014
Attorneys and staff are highly professional and efficient in their daily tasks. The environment promotes hard work and excellence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting department is a royal mess
billing coordinator (Current Employee), chicagoMay 21, 2014
Pros: reasonably easy commute; nice building (though the firm is inexplicably moving in 2016, after only 7 years at 131 s. dearborn)
Cons: unrealistic workloads, due to attrition; extremely excessive department turnover/unstable department management, going back at least 4 years
I was a contractor who went in-house, and am regretting my decision. The onboarding process was embarrassingly inept, the training was amateurish and poorly executed, and the turnover in the accounting department is jaw-dropping. The billing department has been without a manager - oops! make that "National Billing Director" (they are big on grandiose – more... titles here) - since the first week in April (she was abruptly fired with no explanation), with no one in sight as a replacement. People randomly leave without notice weekly; the remaining billing department personnel are aggressively unfriendly and cliqueish. Poorly conceived processes; for a firm that prides itself on being tech-savvy, the billing here is stll done almost exactly the way it was done 20 years ago, with hard copy paper drafts being submitted to the attorneys for review and revision by hand. NO ONE DOES THAT ANYMORE, SEYFARTH. They do pay reasonably well, and the benefits are OK, but you are on your own in procuring most of them - no one is there to provide information. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Legal Secretary (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 2, 2014
Pros: large company
Cons: nothing really
Thoroughly enjoyed the 13 years I worked at this Firm. The environment was very warm and it felt like a big family. Staff helped me develop my skills and truly appreciated any input I gave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall work experience
Records Clerk (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Overall good work experience. The staff and the attorneys are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced environment
Legal Secretary/Assistant (Current Employee), Downtown Houston, TXDecember 25, 2013
Pros: able to talk to people you work with
Cons: none to think of
Review of incoming e-mails and take appropriate actions; draft requested documents; file incoming documents on-line

Co-workers and Management are very considerate

The hardest part is to stay one step ahead of attorneys

The job gives you the satisfaction that you accomplish something
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 9, 2013
Pros: great people
worked in a mailroom /copyroom setting.worked with a good friend, and for a great Law Firm, with wonderful people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people,good benefits, good compensation
Employee Benefits Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 30, 2013
Pros: lots of philanthropic activity
Cons: job was in new york city, commute too long and not enough work to stay busy.
We came as a group from another law firm and the people were terrific, however there was not not enough work for our entire group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management in Atlanta office
Records Management Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: friday breakfast
Cons: management
Support staff isn't valued in the Atlanta office of Seyfarth. The firm it self is a great operation. The Atlanta office poorly run mainly due the the hiring of under qualified management (Mostly friends of the Managing parnter or the Office administrator). The office administrator can be very cold toward any employee she doesn't care for! Also if you're – more... looking to grow and advance, well keep looking you'll never advance here!!! They will promise yout he world, but when you ask them to make good on them they pretend the conversation never took place! Not to mentiont he 2% annual increase they give every year witht he same reasons!! However the inner circle receives increases of 5% or better. I guess if my friends were employed by me I'd give them the same. Also, be aware of the differnent rules for different folks policy that the offic administrator uses when she feels your not doing what she feels you should be doing even if there is no written policy or rules against is. She'll make 1 up just for you! I ONLY GAVE A RATING OF 1 BECAUSE ZERO ISN'T AN OPTION!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not value staff
Staff (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2013
Pros: nice location
Cons: no work life balance
Staff is not view as a valued asset. I was always told if you do not have anything nice to say don't say anything at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Temporary Employee (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 8, 2013
It was a decent experience. I felt I was let go prematurely due to reasons beyond my control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful group of attorneys.
Director of Communications (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: deep and thoughtful roster of successful attorneys.
Cons: unreliable cmo
An invigorating, challenging environment which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work - healthy and fun!
Library (Former Employee), IllinoisMay 17, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: seriously, nothing.
What a great work environment; quality people, up-to-date equipment, great culture! Sorry I ever left Seyfarth
Shaw LLP...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great firm to work for.
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 10, 2012
Pros: plenty of room to grow within the company.
Cons: i really have none.
I highly recommend this firm. I have learned quite a bit and you can grow within the company. The people are friendly. The firm has its good and bad just like any company. I would definitely work there again if I had not moved to TX. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the attorneys who were very demanding. No matter what you did or – more... how hard you worked, you can never please him/her. Management was fair. They tried very hard to please their employees. – less

About Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Every day is labor day at law firm Seyfarth Shaw, which specializes in handling employment-related matters for its clients. The – Read more