SGS NORTH AMERICA INC Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bartlesville, OKDecember 10, 2015
Enjoyed the team th1at I worked with daily, loved my job working with our affiliates in all countries, working with inspectors and managing porjects
Pros
Very Flexible
Cons
At times felt like you could never get away from work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Data Entry/File Clerk (Current Employee) –  Deer ParkAugust 17, 2015
The environment at SGS has very nice people.They work as a team to help SGS become better. They make sure they have meetings to take action in full affect.
Pros
Very respectful and nice environment to work at
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sgs
HRIS Manager (Current Employee) –  Rutherford, NJJuly 16, 2015
Interesting place to work. I love my manager. You must love your work to be an employee at SGS. Everyone is deeply committed to doing a good job. I love the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty decent place to work
Coal Sampler/Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVJuly 3, 2015
The benefits were good they offered 401k health and life insurance. I learned a lot on how to run analysis on clean coal and sampling points in the plant. I ran analysis on coal being loaded into train cars.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Petroleum Inspector (Current Employee) –  Bridgeview, ILJune 13, 2015
Job made for a single life style on call 7/24 not a job you can make plans for but can make a good living at. Working in hot danderous climates,climing high towers
Pros
BENIFITS
Cons
DONT MAKE NO PLANS
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Coordination (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX.April 28, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is having great coworkers. The down side is the lack of upward movement. Typical days cover 8 to 9 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company with high standards
Test Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSMay 14, 2014
Good company that stands for high quality in objective testing of many products
Pros
sound performance orented
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Invoicing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXApril 30, 2014
Ive learned data entry and i am able to type faster now. Im learning the oil gas and chemical side of plants and businesses. My co-workers are great actually. We are a really good team.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Petroleum Inspector (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAApril 20, 2014
Oncall
Good co-woker
A lot of overtime
24Hrs a day 7days a week
Pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant thinking which makes life at work interesting.
Field Services Inspection Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Faifrield, New JerseyFebruary 2, 2014
One of the best company to work for. Colleagues are highly competitive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Petroleum Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2014
worked long hours.
everybody got along.
i enjoyed this job very much
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready to move onward and upward
Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXNovember 16, 2013
Been with the company for 5 years and they just are not respectful to their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Atmosphere but the benefits aren't great
Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXSeptember 20, 2013
I used to enjoy coming to work everyday! I have a great group of girls that I work with but, we are not being compensated for our efforts. A typical day at work for me is speaking with the clients on issues with billing and following up on unanswered emails/phone calls. I also work in conjunction with intracompany personnel, on a daily basis, to better understand the jobs that have taken place.
Our billing group has undergone some major changes and this has hindered them on accuracy. Thus our collection group getting slammed with more and more disputed invoices. I have learnt allot in the last four years of employment with my company. I have a better knowledge of how to communicate with people to get resolution and answers. I have also learnt how to deal with those uncooperative customers that everyone else tries to avoid! Bottom line is I have learnt how to be more persistent and get the results I want in the end. I believe that the management I was under, until here recently, was one of the reasons I learnt all that I did. We had a great relationship and the advice I received has helped me gain allot of knowledge and improve my work ethics.
The only downfall is, I would like to broaden my opportunities and I do not see any room for advancement in this company.
Pros
great atmosphere, comfortable, travel time, management, flexible schedule
Cons
pay rate, high premiums, no bonuses or incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated to customer satisfaction
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXApril 27, 2013
A typical day at work is usually busy and so much to learn about the job, good management team.
Good co-workers and very dedicated.
Pros
customer satisfaction guaranteed
Cons
safety & health
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience working with such company.
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  99 Castle Coakley Christiansted 00820September 16, 2012
It was a very interesting job, I enjoyed doing my job. I enjoyed working with our Clients and taking care of their problems. I learned how important it is to get the job done right the first time around, because of the industry I was in. Management was kind of layed back because the job was getting done. I had approximately 11 employes working under my supervision and they were all easy to work with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was staying up all night to make sure the jobs go as planned and no problem existed. The most enjoyable part of the job was when a job is completed and the Clients are satisfied.
Pros
i got to work flexible hours
Cons
being on call all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great people to work for
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXFebruary 24, 2012
Great Company to work for, They do have over time available, but it is sometimes unexpected. Could be a 12 hours shift could be a 17hours shift, you dont know until you get there. But over all a great place to work.
Pros
good pay, over time
Cons
unexpected long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for the most part friendly environment
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  RutherfordJanuary 10, 2012
It was a challenging and rewarding job. It is unfortunate that for the most part it is who you know in the corporate world.
Pros
work from home when required
Cons
job security and health benefits premium
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SGS NORTH AMERICA INC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7