SGS Petroleum Service Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Dock Operator (Current Employee) –  Garyville, LAOctober 5, 2017
the job is a great job , meet different people all the time which is a great thing , and the people you work with are great to , but pay could be a little better for what you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom line
Washrack, Switchman, Trackmobile driver (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXSeptember 19, 2017
All SGS cares about in plant A freeport tx is the bottom line of washing railcars. Pay is low and training is hard to pick up because of needing to do so many hopper cars in a 12 hour shift. And that 12 is usally a 14 to 16 hour day.
Pros
its a job
Cons
they dont care about the people just the bottom line
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Chemical railcar loading operator (Current Employee) –  Geismar, LASeptember 6, 2017
Seems like a good place for advancement.
Family environment helps for daily work.
You will get help if workload is too heavy.
Daytime shift schedule is nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Tankerman (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TX 77505September 4, 2017
very well rounded place to work people are treated as fairly as possible and management are at their best benefits are great raises come very often through out the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Contractor operator (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAAugust 25, 2017
sgs is an overall well rounded company to work for they take good care of there employees any thing you need they will do there best to get what you need or come very close to what you need
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Solids Handling Technician (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 24, 2017
The people on the job become your family. Everyone is there for each other. The amount of personalities you meet on a regular basis keeps you alert and morale strong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goal of 100% safety makes your life safe at home and at work.
Loader/Dock Operator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 23, 2017
commited to safety every day on all platforms. In all locations, night or day. They are always read to help you as an employee and as a person. Swing shift can be tricky at times but its also worth the free time during the week days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Warehouse Packaging operator (Former Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAAugust 19, 2017
quick paced and can be stressful at times.
hot warehouse
dusty product
Learned a lot of technical skilla to build resume
Hardest part of the job was working for 12 hours. Sometimes it felt like it would never end.

Not a bad job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Loader (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LA 70802August 3, 2017
never got a lunch break and worked my butt off just to be fired. I was always on time and did my job in a timely manner. management never helped me when I needed help and the work environment was very hard to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high demanding and over worked
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2017
very unorganized no type of guidelines just a lot of work. The supervisors are not aware on the work ethics they just expect things to be done timely manner
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report

Want to know more about SGS Petroleum Service Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay to work for
Petroleum cargo inspector (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXJuly 29, 2017
Climbed shore tanks, loaded barges, sampled, gauged, temped product inside tanks, completed paperwork. Learned how to work a barge. Climbing shore tanks was the hardest part of the job. Enjoyed riding on the boats to and from barge
Pros
Free Coffee, Free boat rides, Donuts on occasion
Cons
24 hr on call for 6 days in a row
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Dock Operator (Current Employee) –  Donaldsonville, LAJuly 22, 2017
Not a bad place to work. I enjoy the paid holidays and overtime. I wish they had more people that can take your place but it seems to me they can't hire people fast enough or they don't care to hire when we have too much work going on.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and still starve.
Loader (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAJune 27, 2017
SGS is not a bad company at all to work for. However, i don't recommend going to the shin tech plaquemine site. We work around some really dangerous chemicals and we work our butts off. We are not paid as much as deserved. It's sad when you work really hard and get all the overtime you can work but you still live paycheck to paycheck. It's sad.
Pros
Not a bad company
Cons
Horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as shore tankerman
Shore Tankerman (Former Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHJune 26, 2017
Recieve orders around 6-8pm for the next day, traveled to jobsite (dock) anywhere in Ohio, PA, KY, W. VA, IN, IL, TN to either Load or Offload Dangerous Liquids . Sign all the Documents that were needed for the Barge, then I would inspect the barge to ensure that it was able to pass inspection. I would then start the transfer until it was completed or until I was relieved by another Tankerman. After the transfer was complete I would secure the barge and head home.
The hardest part would be not able to spend quality time with the Family on a set schedule and dealing with unbearable weather both HOT and COLD.
The most enjoyable time is spending time on the water watching river traffic.
Pros
paid milage from home of record, never recieved orders consistency on timely manner
Cons
zero work/life balnace, lower wage for industry standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad job
Dock operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJune 14, 2017
managers bad job bad bad bad bad just a bad place to work manager care about themselves not employees. do not want you to take time off get upset when you take vacation.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under paid
Loader (Former Employee) –  Taft, LAJune 12, 2017
No matter what you do for this company they will stab you in the back and all you are is a number to them and they don't care about your family all they care about is you coming to work You can make good money but you there everyday
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and family like environment
Rail Loader (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAJune 3, 2017
She OSC is an excellent company with great benefits to suit new workers and experienced workers. There is always work needed to be done. Managment is always willing to give a helping hand when need be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized company to a certain extent.
Liquid Loader (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAMay 28, 2017
Very good company to work for. like every company it has its draw backs. They have a few things to work on but as far as i'm comcerned, if the money was where it should be for the work we do, i'd make a career out of SGS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's close to home.
Wash Rack Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAMay 23, 2017
Typical day at work includes auditing in-bound trains that come in Dow Chemical.
Filling out spread sheets
answering emails through out the day.
I an learning how to implement OTMA's process
Good place to work. work with good people
The hardest thing about my job is keeping all the rail cars in line, witch consist of getting all the cars washed and repaired in a timely matter.
The most enjoyable thing about my job is when I get off work I don't have to fight the traffic getting home.
Pros
I live very close to work.
Cons
Pay is fair but i would like to make more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Safety Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXMarch 21, 2017
Safety culture is the among the best in the industry. Small family feel type organization. A good fit for any hard working person. You will be tested in a good way day in and day out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SGS Petroleum Service Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4