SGS Petroleum Service Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 98 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad job
Dock operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJune 14, 2017
managers bad job bad bad bad bad just a bad place to work manager care about themselves not employees. do not want you to take time off get upset when you take vacation.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under paid
Loader (Former Employee) –  Taft, LAJune 12, 2017
No matter what you do for this company they will stab you in the back and all you are is a number to them and they don't care about your family all they care about is you coming to work You can make good money but you there everyday
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and family like environment
Rail Loader (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAJune 3, 2017
She OSC is an excellent company with great benefits to suit new workers and experienced workers. There is always work needed to be done. Managment is always willing to give a helping hand when need be.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized company to a certain extent.
Liquid Loader (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAMay 28, 2017
Very good company to work for. like every company it has its draw backs. They have a few things to work on but as far as i'm comcerned, if the money was where it should be for the work we do, i'd make a career out of SGS.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's close to home.
Wash Rack Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAMay 23, 2017
Typical day at work includes auditing in-bound trains that come in Dow Chemical.
Filling out spread sheets
answering emails through out the day.
I an learning how to implement OTMA's process
Good place to work. work with good people
The hardest thing about my job is keeping all the rail cars in line, witch consist of getting all the cars washed and repaired in a timely matter.
The most enjoyable thing about my job is when I get off work I don't have to fight the traffic getting home.
Pros
I live very close to work.
Cons
Pay is fair but i would like to make more money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Safety Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXMarch 21, 2017
Safety culture is the among the best in the industry. Small family feel type organization. A good fit for any hard working person. You will be tested in a good way day in and day out.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loader
Safety & Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  West VirginiaFebruary 20, 2017
Excellent company to work for that promotes from within to grow the organizational footprint. Excellent benefits and time off for family. Company allows you the opportunity to grow and thrive.
Pros
Excellent benefits and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Loader Operator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 17, 2017
Great company just no room for advancement or raise. Learn a lot about the industry and have great coworkers and boss. No room for advancement or pay raises
Pros
Company
Cons
Money and raises
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job/good pay, but rough when understaffed.
Lead-man Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Norco, LAFebruary 12, 2017
I truly enjoyed working as a dock operator/lead-man. Job was rewarding and gave plenty of opportunity to rise in position. Unfortunately we went through a period of being shorthanded and had trouble retaining people. Was 12-hr swing shifts (day/night) and often had to be called in on days off. Problem was a hard one to fix due to training time and workers getting frustrated covering the shifts while waiting on the new employees to be trained. This caused issues balancing life and work. I believe management did best they could given the nature of the work. Loved the workplace and enjoyed working/coordinating with multiple companies. The hardest part and my most enjoyable part were both handling unforeseen issues that would arise and working them out. I learned a great deal about how refineries worked, different types of product produced, and and basic physics which pushed me to pursue an engineering degree.
Pros
Good pay/benefits, rewarding experience
Cons
12-hr swing shift
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily duties
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 5, 2017
Process billing for plant work, submit invoices for payment with approval, cut payables weekly, date entry, GL coding, customer service
Pros
wonderful company
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Dock Operator (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 4, 2017
This is a company that will hire someone who doesn't know a thing about a thing and give them a chance, You will be surrounded by some folks who think that they know what they are doing and people who actually know what they are doing. If you decide to apply make sure you surround yourself with military veterans, everyone else are knuckleheads that desperately need a daily throat-punch.
Pros
The experienced guys are very willing to teach you if you are willing to learn
Cons
Douchebaggery
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work/ small window for advancement opportunities
Tankerman (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXDecember 30, 2016
Good friend and environment!! I love working as a tankerman because you have to be very honest and focused on the work you do on a daily basis..
Pros
Compensation and benefits
Cons
On call schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Sgs Saint CharlesNovember 26, 2016
Very Poor management and staff . The work load is just to the roof in a very high risk environment where what they pay you for isn't worth it.
Arss kissers to the hosting plants or refineries.they will sacrifice the employee for no reason just to please someone.
Bottom line it's totally garbage!.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and Good benefits
Barge Operator (Current Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXNovember 16, 2016
Good pay and Benefits, job site changes d.aily with different tasks and refineries. Hard to balance family life with a schedule that on call
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
the on call schedule, hard to balance life and work
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
loader/ pumper (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXNovember 2, 2016
low pay, bad management, aleasy short workers...place sucked all around..i would never recommend anyone to ever work for this company.....................................................
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the pay
Loader (Former Employee) –  Seadrift, TXSeptember 23, 2016
Bad communication and lack of training. A lot of lazy people, always leaving work for the next guy. Constantly set up for failure. The pay is not worth the risk.
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace to work for
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 8, 2016
We work 12-hour shifts and I learnt a lot of things forklift driving the Box line how to load a railroad carts.. it was a great place to work at it was a great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loading cargo ships
Marine Dock operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJuly 30, 2016
On call schedule for going to different chemical plants/terminals to load or discharge cargo ships. You hook up boats with heavy large hoses either by crane and wait all day for transfer. Ship team man helps you with the transfer making sure no leaks occur. All i can say this is not chemical plant job and its not for everyone. Pay is good and you need a thick skin to work with these people. I quit one month, did not like traveling places around town at anytime. There is a huge responsibly in this job, easy to get fired if you don't know what you doing. Good paying job although, $17.5 with overtime. You are in a different crew every time and loading different chemicals. You have to bring your provided equipment from your car to the docks every time which is annoying. LIfe vest must be work through out most of the shift at most docks. This job was not for me at all, did it for plant work to go in to be an operator, wrong step. Job culture is definitely a negative some of these guys you trained were down on rude.
Pros
Pay, experience
Cons
wearing PPE, co-workers/bosses/, training
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for somebody thats single with not a lot of family.
Railcar Technician/Crude Oil Railcar Operator (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJuly 15, 2016
You are told during the hiring process that you will be on a 12 hour rotating day and night shift but the day you start thats not the case. You will be working on call shifts 3-4 days a week, the unit trains that come in are never on time or are not on a schedule so you can expect a train to be there any time during the day and anytime during the night. You get a call saying the trains there at 2:30AM you have to get out of bed and go! Sometimes you have to work 16 hour shifts to catch up on your hours depending on when the trains come to just make 40 hours. You get overtime maybe once a month, very low paying job for what you're doing. You never know what you'll be working because the Crude Oil Unit train schedule gets changed daily, and you can't plan anything because you never know when or what time you'll have to work. You work with a bunch of very disrespectful people that are always negitive. This is an alright job for somebody who is single and doesn't have much family.
Pros
Hour paid lunches.
Cons
The whole workplace to be honest.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4Report
Official response from SGS Petroleum Service Corporation
July 20, 2016

We are sorry to hear that your experience working for our company was not more positive. Our business is a 24/7 operation, with work schedules at many of our sites revolving around changing customer demands, fluctuating market conditions, and unpredictable shipping schedules. We can certainly appreciate that an on-call work schedule is not a good fit for everyone. That is why our recruiters and supervisors spend a good bit of time discussing the work schedule during the interviewing and selection process.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company will stick you any chance they get
Liquid Loader (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 13, 2016
SGS at ExxonMobil will screw your over any chance they get. They expect you to learn and know everything about loading and unloading rail cars in about three weeks time. They give you test to qualify you on and the rest is things you haven't seen or were shown about. Supervisors leave the plant early then they are supposed too and if something happens it's always your fault and you get written up. Co workers talk behind your back and set you up for failure and will do anything to make themselves look good. The upper management will shake your hand and smile in your face but will stab you in the back in a second. Things brought up in safety meetings aren't acknowledged or taken care of so if something breaks or messes up your at fault automatically. They preach safety and work stop authority if you don't feel safe stop working and don't do it. Your supervisors will make you do it anyway and if something goes wrong you are to blame. All these positive reviews are from supervisors or upper management. If you don't suck up to upper management or supervisors they ride you constantly.
Pros
Meal tickets at safety meetings
Cons
Supervisors upper management make you work unsafe even if you point out unsafe conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes44No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SGS Petroleum Service Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 98 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

Joel Dickerson
67%
28 ratings
Add your rating

SGS Petroleum Service Corporation Reviews by Location